We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Spent a delightful Easter break at the Golf View Hotel, Nairn with my partner. The staff were efficient, friendly and professional, our every need well catered for. Food was excellent, from the fantastic six course taster menus to the a la carte plus the wines were exemplary. The bedroom and en-suite were bigger than my flat, with a huge bed, ample storage and bath plus shower, it was totally faultless.

I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to all my friends.

Only tweaks needed was perhaps the addition of bathrobes and larger bath towels, and brighter lighting at the dressing table. Oh and a squirt of WD40 on the mirrored wardrobe doors!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your comments onto my maintenance man.
Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    363
    133
    76
    35
See reviews for
215
592
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Bit like Fawlty Towers. Booked in for the 'Delux Afternoon tea' a few days before. Arrived. Reception had no record of it then had to check if it was okay for us to have it. Waiter pleasant but didn't really know the menu. Not sure what was 'delux' about a rather average tea. Bread was very dry on one side. Ham in sandwiches was just cheap cooked supermarket ham. Banana loaf was good. I think they had missed the sugar out of the scones and there were not baked well - bit dense and doughy inside. But the view out to the Moray Firth was lovely, For a four star hotel this was a poor tea - more akin to what you might get in a garden centre chain...actually no, that might have been better. We were the only ones in having afternoon tea - guess that was our clue!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debsy42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review , very sorry to hear that you never enjoyed your afternoon tea with us, seems their was some confusion with your booking I do apologise that you never enjoyed your afternoon tea with, thank you again for your comments.

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Went for a wee 2-night rejuvenation spa break. The room was huge with a nice view even though we didn't pay for sea view. The breakfast was good with a nice selection of hot food (including veggie sausages!) although the continental food was running out towards the end on the second morning. The 6-course dinner was also included in our deal and it was tasty although on the first night it took 40 minutes to get a drink of water (the second night made up for this though - very good service and even got some extra tasters!). We got 3 spa treatments each and these were very relaxing. The pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and outside hot tub were also great and quiet! Very nice view from hot tub. There were lots of vouchers available on the Crerar website which were easy to use and made this a very good deal! Would highly recommend :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubaloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, you were upgraded to a sea view room complimentary and I'm glad you enjoyed the views they are fantastic, yes we got them in now vegetarian sausages all go, sorry to read service was slow on your first night but glad we got it right the 2nd night.
Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have stayed at this Hotel a number of time sin the last 6 months on Business and look forward to many more visits. Staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are excellent with the most fantastic views. Location is great and right on the fantastic front at Nairn. Food was also superb at breakfast. I stay away on business around 100 nights a year and a lot of the big chains could learn a lot from this hotel. Wish all my stays were like this. Excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, I'm glad your enjoying your stays with us and that my staff have been looking after you on each of your visits and you'll have many more. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alloa, scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Came here for a three night break last week and had a thoroughly good time. Staff were efficient and friendly and the room was spacious and clean. The only slight moan, and this is not only about this hotel but applies to nearly all that we have stayed in, is that if you are vegetarian then the restaurant table d'hôte menus tend to be really restrictive. Also vegetarian breakfasts tend to defeat most chef's planning e.g. no veggie sausages (it doesn't take much to keep a packet of Quorn sausages in the freezer!). That said it did not really detract from the stay as we have become used to it!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlloaWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, thank you for your lovely comments, my apologies that we didn't have any vegetarian sausages if I'd have known I would have gone to the local shops and purchased, we will have for your next visit. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My sister and I spent 3 nights in the Golff View which has the most amazing setting. The rooms were more than adequate and very clean. The staff were attentive and friendly HOWEVER and a big however the food was not up to the standard of a 4 star hotel. It was obvious most of the diners in the restaurant were complaining as we were. The meal they served in the evening was Fine Dining 6 course meal. This took 3 hours each evening to serve and when it eventually arrived at the table it was COLD. Clients were disgruntled at the lack of staff in the dining room and the feedback from the restaurant manager was that he apologised as they were working with agency chefs. No excuse these chefs should have been interviewed and made aware they were working in a 4 star hotel. Sad thing is the presentation was second to none but the proof is in the pudding if you pardon the pun. My sister absolutely does not enjoy this type of eating and would have liked to have the choice of pub grub without having to pay extra to enjoy this.
All in all the owners have to sit around the table or maybe sit in the dining area of an evening and just see what exactly is on. Quails eggs, duck in raspberry sauce and cold bread and butter pudding is not the order of the day for most of the clientelle. Such a shame as other than that no complaints apart from what drew us to this hotel was the spa and the hot tub outside overlooking the bay which while we were there was not available. I have stayed at sister hotel in Elgin and the menu there was the best. Oh did I mention that the breakfast was cold also. They did have a system that they only took 4 couples at a time into the resaurant with 15 minute in between serving so good idea but clearly not working Come on Golf View you have a great hotel there just need to get act together on the food side.

Room Tip: You do have to pay and extra £30 for sea view but we made the most of the lovely light conservatory...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosiegee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, we have recently had a change in both management and kitchen and can assure all our guests normal service has resumed and apologise for any shortcomings. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We paid extra for a sea view, and this really made the holiday for us. We were sorry that we had only booked two nights. The rooms were comfortably furnished and quiet, warm and very clean. The service was first-class, and the food was very adequate. We shall return again.

Room Tip: It is a good investment to pay extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, sea view rooms are definitely the way to go the view of the Moray Firth is a beautiful way to waken and at anytime. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing