We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely break”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just back from a 3 night break, had a lovely time. Staff all very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. A lovely 6 course taster menu plenty to please everyone and lovely breakfasts. Had a fantastic room on the top floor, saw 5 dolphins swimming just off the beach. Pool, steam room, jacuzzi and hot tub (even although weather outside was overcast) were all great and included in the price.
This is the second time we have been at the Golf View and will certainly be back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teuchter_Quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, thank you for your lovely comments, the dolphins have been playing in the bay now for the last 3 weeks lovely to watch. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    371
    138
    76
    39
See reviews for
227
604
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We paid for an upgrade to a double room with Jacuzzi and a sea view however the room is dull and could do with a makeover, carpet wearing and the furniture needing some TLC. Both breakfast and dinner very nice with plenty of choice. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall the hotel is average in a excellent location with great views across the Moray Firth looking towards the Black Isle.

Room Tip: Room 10 is above the bar and noise could be heard into the early hours of the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Els1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, thank you for your lovely comments, my apologies that we that our outdoor hot-tub wasn't working while you were here. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We came here for our honeymoon only to be told our room had been double booked and they could not accomodate us, nor would they even let us use the spa facilities once we were settled into another hotel near by. It was even suggested we would have to pay a fee since they would be charged from Booking.Com for our booking which no longer existed!

We did not like the tired reception area and the smell of chlorine was too overwhelming. Will never again attempt to visit this hotel nor use Booking.Com to book any other holiday. The Newton along the road rescued our honeymoon and we would recommend their instead.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, we have recently had a change in both management and kitchen and can assure all our guests normal service has resumed and apologise for any shortcomings. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I had booked a twin room for two nights as a treat for my girl friend. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel. It was a large airy twin room. The breakfast was excellent, much choice and lovely cooked full Scottish but no black pudding :( We used the swimming pool and spa which was very clean and a lovely place to relax by the pool. We were disappointed the hot tub outside wasn't working.Great location with the sea a small wander down the hotel gardens to the beach.Staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed a supper there on our last night.We sat in the conservatory overlooking the sea- fabulous view. There was an annoying situation when we were told we had to pay for food and drinks separately. This was very confusing for staff and ourselves and I'm not sure how we kept track of everything! Of course when you are eating you often want a drink/drinks to go with it- very strange and made it all seem a bit amateurish. However, this did not stop our enjoyment.Would stay again but they definitely need to get the payment routes for food and bar sorted out!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, we have recently had a change in both management and kitchen and can assure all our guests normal service has resumed and apologise for any shortcomings. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Basic room, noisy pipes at 2am, great breakfast - This hotel is in a great location and could be so good. It is however a little tired and could do with a renovation or at least a makeover. The room had everything I needed but without any wow factor. Also, was kept up all night by noisy water pipes.

The breakfast was the stand out part of my trip, it was fantastic.

I travel a lot with work so have seen the good, bad and the ugly, this hotel was neither good or bad or ugly....just average!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View. Sorry your stay with us was interrupted with the noise from our water pipes will certainly investigate this and see if theirs anything we can do. Glad you enjoyed your breakfast Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

You may have seen many negative reviews of this hotel and the regular response from the manager was largely that it's about the change of management in the kitchen and restaurant.

Certainly that was needed and it's not quite sorted yet, many people suggested buffet breakfast would be better as the service is quite slow, but food great. Why not have some buffet service and special orders available i.e. Eggs benedict etc. it's lovely to have these possibilities as most hotels don't offer this however for anything cooked we must wait until the staff take the order and that remains a bit slow on the three out of four mornings for us. This hotel has great potential. The staff are trying hard but just need a little bit more management.

I was there in a room for three and we paid for a sea view - the room was good if slightly dated, the shower was fantastic. The towels smelled strongly of smoke - either the cleaners or store room to blame. The mattress on the huge bed was seriously needing replacing - one side was totally bumpy and most uncomfortable.
I don't want to paint a negative picture however - the leisure facilities are really good and along with the location makes this a great place to stay. I would recommend it to all, and with the points above remedied it will be all the better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-potGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, we have been working very hard with all waiting staff to improve on our service and efficiency its not an overnight night fix but definitely going in the right direction, sorry you feel that breakfast service is still on the slow side it is a work in progress but buffet style wouldn't work for us. I will speak with my housekeeper regarding the towels as their delivered wrapped and should be fresh smelling Thanks again for your review


Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I just came here for afternoon tea, something I do at nice hotels in the Highlands quite often. The pluses for the Golf View, are unsurprisingly, the view - over the sea in comfortable, stylish surroundings. The minuses - well, the menu advertises "home made shortbread" - ooh lovely thinks me - and then two meagre, small, identical disks looking very much like they are from the local bakers, arrive on a large plate. Last time I was here for tea and the "clotted cream" advertised on the menu to go with the scones, was of the "squirty cream from a can" variety, so I can't say the shortbread inadquacy was a one off. I queried the "homemadeness" of the shortbread with the (young and probably not very well trained) waiter - a shrug of the shoulders and that's all we have was the response. I asked if the fire might be lit (on a chilly winter day) - he did go to ask, but the answer was no. I'm sure I remember the hotel having nice open fires in the past. Nevertheless I enjoyed a relaxing hour or so enjoying the free, current newspapers, my nice cup of tea and small portion of shoppy shortbread! The view is great, and this is a nice hotel, which could be great with a bit more attention to detail. I gave some fedback to the assistant manager and she was wonderful - genuinely interested in feedback and wanting to improve. I'll go again soon and see if they've raised their game. I think they have a real desire to improve.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myhighlands2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit to the hotel, the shortbread is home-made the chef has been working on his baking and knows the shortbread needs to be slightly bigger, on the other hand the scones do look better and no more squirty cream nice clotted cream now.

Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
646 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing