We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work in Progress But A Noticeable Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

The Golf View has a wonderful location and we have visited it on many occasions over the years. However, when we visited earlier this year there was a notable deterioration in the quality of service and the whole place seemed to lack management and direction.

We have since returned and under the new management things are definitely improving. All the staff appeared much happier and this was reflected in the quality of service. The new manager, Donald Macleod had a visual presence both in reception and in the restaurant and this itself helps to improve staff motivation.

There are areas of the hotel which are a bit tired and in need of refurbishment. It is an old building which requires capital investment and hopefully Mr Crerar will provide the funding to restore the Golf View to its former glory.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, thank you for your kind comments and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on. Thanks again for your kind review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed here twice and will definitely be back. The rooms are very comfortable and the building is beautiful. The restaurant is old- world and the food is absolutely delicious whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Their pool is set looking out at the sea and they have an outdoor hot tub which was quite a novelty when it was snowing in December. The staff are always extremely friendly and helpful. One of my favorite hotels in Scotland.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMoriarty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Golf View, I'm glad everything thing went well with your stay even in the snowy weather the views are still stunning. Thank you again for all your lovely comments.

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last month and had a very nice time. The guest reception areas in the hotel are traditional and well maintained. Our room had a fantastic sea view, massive comfortable bed and lots of room. It could have done with some modernisation however - a lick of paint to brighten it up at least wouldn't go amiss. The spa area was good (poss in need of a refurb in a couple of years) - loved the outdoor hot tub. We were keen to stay another night however the hotel wouldn't negotiate a slight reduction for our 3rd night - so we moved to a small 4* independent hotel a few doors up for £70 less a night than we were paying at the Golf View.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carles25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View Hotel, sorry my reception staff wouldn't reduce the rate for the 3rd night maybe that was me. We normally have the decorators in twice yearly doing areas within the hotel and other than that our maintenance man keeps on top of everything else. Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Just back from a 3 night break, had a lovely time. Staff all very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. A lovely 6 course taster menu plenty to please everyone and lovely breakfasts. Had a fantastic room on the top floor, saw 5 dolphins swimming just off the beach. Pool, steam room, jacuzzi and hot tub (even although weather outside was overcast) were all great and included in the price.
This is the second time we have been at the Golf View and will certainly be back :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teuchter_Quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, thank you for your lovely comments, the dolphins have been playing in the bay now for the last 3 weeks lovely to watch. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We paid for an upgrade to a double room with Jacuzzi and a sea view however the room is dull and could do with a makeover, carpet wearing and the furniture needing some TLC. Both breakfast and dinner very nice with plenty of choice. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall the hotel is average in a excellent location with great views across the Moray Firth looking towards the Black Isle.

Room Tip: Room 10 is above the bar and noise could be heard into the early hours of the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Els1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, thank you for your lovely comments, my apologies that we that our outdoor hot-tub wasn't working while you were here. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We came here for our honeymoon only to be told our room had been double booked and they could not accomodate us, nor would they even let us use the spa facilities once we were settled into another hotel near by. It was even suggested we would have to pay a fee since they would be charged from Booking.Com for our booking which no longer existed!

We did not like the tired reception area and the smell of chlorine was too overwhelming. Will never again attempt to visit this hotel nor use Booking.Com to book any other holiday. The Newton along the road rescued our honeymoon and we would recommend their instead.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, we have recently had a change in both management and kitchen and can assure all our guests normal service has resumed and apologise for any shortcomings. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had booked a twin room for two nights as a treat for my girl friend. Our room overlooked the front of the hotel. It was a large airy twin room. The breakfast was excellent, much choice and lovely cooked full Scottish but no black pudding :( We used the swimming pool and spa which was very clean and a lovely place to relax by the pool. We were disappointed the hot tub outside wasn't working.Great location with the sea a small wander down the hotel gardens to the beach.Staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed a supper there on our last night.We sat in the conservatory overlooking the sea- fabulous view. There was an annoying situation when we were told we had to pay for food and drinks separately. This was very confusing for staff and ourselves and I'm not sure how we kept track of everything! Of course when you are eating you often want a drink/drinks to go with it- very strange and made it all seem a bit amateurish. However, this did not stop our enjoyment.Would stay again but they definitely need to get the payment routes for food and bar sorted out!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, we have recently had a change in both management and kitchen and can assure all our guests normal service has resumed and apologise for any shortcomings. Thanks again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,848 reviews
0.7 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
433 reviews
14.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: £55 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing