We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Me and.my hudband went for 2days it was really expencive. The food was great thow rude waitress called nicole my huaband didnt like the golf corse it hasent been looked after clean room nice beds. ........ ..... ....... ...... .... ....... ......

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaykite445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, thank you for your kind review and my apologies if any of my staff were rude to you during your stay with us.

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    361
    133
    76
    35
See reviews for
213
591
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Let me start by saying that this is a lovely, lovely location. Situated on the Moray firth and directly opposite the Cromarty Firth the views and the sunsets are stunning. Easy access to flat walks along the beach and beautiful sand make this a wonderful place to relax. The rooms on the sea-view side of the hotel present a great vista. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and equipped with kettle, tv, hairdryers etc. The food was nice too, but a little pricey. In general the staff are polite, helpful, but, being honest, not very well trained or managed it seems. On the first evening we were short of a towel in the room. this was provided on request. the following day, in accordance with instructions, we put only the towels we wanted changing in the bath (unfortunately the towel rail was not heating up). All of the bath and hand towels disappeared completely, even those not in the bath. We again rang reception later and got two bath towels back - a partial success. The following morning we put out the "room ready for service" sign - that disappeared. The next day, the "do not disturb" sign went. All a bit strange. The food situation was similar. My partner had porridge every day. First day a big bowl, then a tiny bowl, sometimes served with maple syrup, sometimes not, then an absolute bucket of the stuff! The waitress forgot the spoon several times. Toast was served immediately with coffee rather than with the hot breakfast or afterwards, so stone cold. My cokked breakfast arrived just after I put the first mouthful of cereal in my mouth. No apology given, just left next to my bowl! The restaurant wasn't ready to open for breakfast at 7.30am a few times.We were overlooked to order one day. Dinner was similarly weird, crumbs all over the seats every night where not wiped down, a different waiter/waitress for every course, no sugar with the coffee, waitress asked, never came back. Wine list was a bit dire and very expensive. Food portions are large but the oysters were not fresh and borderline to eat. The order in the lounge for pancakes was wrong, twice. Car parking was difficult with staff parking taking up many of the spaces that should have been available to guests. This all sounds terrible when strakly listed and that isnt really a very fair impression. It is more the case that the opportunity to be very special goes wasted and the lovely experince was thus slightly tainted, no more. My advice would be to visit and stay, you will love 90% of the experience. We will go back!!

Room Tip: It has to be a sea-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View.

Thank you for your mixed comments I am glad you enjoyed 90% of your stay with us and will try harder the next time you visit to achieve 100%, sorry to read that we weren't consistent enough with various things during your stay with us mainly with meals and portion sizes.

My apologies about your towels or lack of on some days, I will speak with my housekeeper to resolve this issues from arising again.

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days in July 2014, what a wonderful hotel for location especially on a lovely sunny day as they have great tennis courts and a large area leading to the beach. The staff are very friendly and attentive, the food in the restaurants is exceptional and the rooms are a very good size and a great spa with an outdoor hot tub. Loved it so we will certainly be returning very soon

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View.

Thank you for all your fantastic comments and I'll certainly pass onto all my staff.

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Picked hotel because it looked onto the beach across the Moray Firth to the Black Isle.... location did not disappoint and was amazing.

Hotel is classed as a 4 star but in need of a little TLC.... rooms were fine, littled bit dated and dark. Cleanliness of the shower was not up to standard and there was no information in the rooms with regard to options for dining or sample menu. Ended up in the conservatory which was fine and got a window seat with breathtaking views. Breakfast was okay - service was a little bit slow.

Overall the hotel was nice and staff were very friendly and with a few little tweaks could be an excellent hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View.

Thank you for all your kind comments and I'll certainly pass onto housekeeping staff about the shower not been as clean as it should have been

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray, Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday to have a spa day out with a group of friends. We each had full use of the leisure facilities and a half hour spa treatment, and high tea, for £40 each, it was great!

We arrived around 10am, we're warmly welcomed to the spa, everything was explained and off we went to get changed.

Spa treatments were amazing, pool and sauna were great, outdoor hot tub was a treat and the view is outstanding. A cover over the hot tub area might be good to stop pine needles ending up in the tub, but these are the small things.

We had a lovely afternoon tea around lunchtime, sandwiches, clotted cream, jam, scones, cakes, big pot of tea, some lovely prosecco ;)

Already planning an overnight return visit, I might take my husband, if he's lucky!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ayke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us at the Golf View.

Thank you for all your wonderful comments and I'll certainly pass your comments onto my leisure staff about the pine cones, I know its normally covered but with guests using all day this will happen from time to time

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We paid for the spa & hotel deal which included 3 half an hour spa treatments and dinner bed and breakfast for two nights for a total of £278. This is quite a good deal as spa treatment alone is meant to be £95 per person. The spa experience was amazing and would definitely recommend. There is also a lovely swimming pool complete with a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, not forgetting the amazing outdoor hot tub which overlooks the moray firth - so relaxing!! Towels are provided and changing rooms are spacious.


As far as the room went, we could not complain, the bathroom being especially spacious with a large power shower and separate bath, and a "heated" towel rail (which was never on and could not find a way of switching it on) - this was the only downfall as we struggled to dry out our swimming gear. The room was relatively spacious however compared to many of the rooms which we saw (doors left open by housekeeping etc) our room was very small compared to most and although no complaints, I feel it was slightly shy of the four stars that the hotel boasts, although in fairness this is probably reflective of the price we paid.

The restaurant was lovely with very attentive staff. Breakfast was wonderful with a large selection of cereals, cooked breakfasts and fruit, toast, croissants etc and the dining room had lovely comfortable chairs and was very pleasant to eat in.

This is very much a country break for people who are looking to relax, as this hotel is next to the sea around a mile or so from the town centre which is equipped with fast food and take away places and not much else.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaJayne7791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View Hotel.

Thank you for all your lovely comments I am happy you both enjoyed your spa break with us, sadly all our rooms are not the same size it would make my job all the easier

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I spent a night at The Golf View and we enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and comfortable with very good en suite facilities. It was very clean but the decor is beginning to look a bit jaded and would benefit from "freshening up". The staff were friendly and efficient; both on reception and in the restaurants.The conservatory restaurant has fantastic views over the Moray Firth providing an impressive back drop while dining. The standard of the food was very good. We would definitely return and would recommend the hotel to others visiting the area.

Room Tip: Would be worth trying to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View. Thank you for all your kind comments I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing