We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check if there is a wedding on before you book!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Bonnyrigg Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Check if there is a wedding on before you book!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I were invited to a wedding this weekend and the reception was held in the Golf View. I don't know if we qualified for wedding guest discount, but we had to pay £90 each for a bed & breakfast deal, so this is not a cheap place to stay.

We did have a sea view room, which was perfectly OK but a bit expensive for what it was. We did report that a light bulb above the bed area required replacing and that the wash hand basin sink plug mechanism was faulty, and had to be removed in order to let the water drain away. Perhaps I am being pedantic, but if I am paying top whack for a room I expect everything to be perfect!

We had a bit of a problem booking in despite having had a forward booking made many weeks beforehand, and we had to be allocated an alternative room as the previous occupants had gone off with the key. (One would have thought that a hotel of this assumed quality and price structure would have had spare keys for all of their rooms).

We cannot comment on the quality of the food other than that the breakfast was very good and the service swift and courteous. The wedding reception meal was well cooked and served reasonably professionally except that it would have been a good idea to remove all of the dessert plates prior to laying the coffee cups on the table!

The wedding party thoroughly enjoyed themselves, but virtually took over the whole hotel including the bar and lounges. Had we booked for a quiet weekend and pampering, we
would not have been very happy, hence my suggestion that if you want a more relaxing weekend, you check as to whether or not the hotel is hosting a wedding reception before you book!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonythemonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View. We do normally pre warn guests if the hotel has a wedding on that weekend and again we normally allocate the rooms above the dance to wedding guests as not to keep our other guests up.

My apologies regards to your light bulb and sinking not working correctly when you arrived we do try our best to keep on top of all maintenance issues as they arise.

Thank you for your comments on the meals you received the only reason the sweet plates were still to be cleared was due to the wedding running over it's timing which the bride and groom were aware of.

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    377
    140
    79
    41
See reviews for
229
610
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Simply beautiful location. Room was cute .. Old but clean... i can see though, if you are in the wrong room, you wont enjoy this hotel and by that i mean.. View and noise levels from slamming doors.. Enjoyed the fascilities, pool and sauna and steam room, old, but yet nice and clean and well maintained. The spa treatments were fantastic. Heard some hammering while i had my treatments, but i guess it is an old hotel in need of maintanance- fantastic treatment makes you more forgiving afterall. Stayed on DBB basis.. Food was good, but not so good that i would actually pay the prices they charge on the menu, but the complete package value surpassed what was available in the area. Cant fault the hotel on our experience, but as i mentioned, ensure a decent room with a view and enjoy what is outside.

Room Tip: Room 12 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandatravels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View.

Thank you for all your kind comments I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the room you were allocated for your stay had the perfect view over the Moray Firth.

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Me and.my hudband went for 2days it was really expencive. The food was great thow rude waitress called nicole my huaband didnt like the golf corse it hasent been looked after clean room nice beds. ........ ..... ....... ...... .... ....... ......

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaykite445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View, thank you for your kind review and my apologies if any of my staff were rude to you during your stay with us.

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Let me start by saying that this is a lovely, lovely location. Situated on the Moray firth and directly opposite the Cromarty Firth the views and the sunsets are stunning. Easy access to flat walks along the beach and beautiful sand make this a wonderful place to relax. The rooms on the sea-view side of the hotel present a great vista. The rooms are nicely decorated, spacious and equipped with kettle, tv, hairdryers etc. The food was nice too, but a little pricey. In general the staff are polite, helpful, but, being honest, not very well trained or managed it seems. On the first evening we were short of a towel in the room. this was provided on request. the following day, in accordance with instructions, we put only the towels we wanted changing in the bath (unfortunately the towel rail was not heating up). All of the bath and hand towels disappeared completely, even those not in the bath. We again rang reception later and got two bath towels back - a partial success. The following morning we put out the "room ready for service" sign - that disappeared. The next day, the "do not disturb" sign went. All a bit strange. The food situation was similar. My partner had porridge every day. First day a big bowl, then a tiny bowl, sometimes served with maple syrup, sometimes not, then an absolute bucket of the stuff! The waitress forgot the spoon several times. Toast was served immediately with coffee rather than with the hot breakfast or afterwards, so stone cold. My cokked breakfast arrived just after I put the first mouthful of cereal in my mouth. No apology given, just left next to my bowl! The restaurant wasn't ready to open for breakfast at 7.30am a few times.We were overlooked to order one day. Dinner was similarly weird, crumbs all over the seats every night where not wiped down, a different waiter/waitress for every course, no sugar with the coffee, waitress asked, never came back. Wine list was a bit dire and very expensive. Food portions are large but the oysters were not fresh and borderline to eat. The order in the lounge for pancakes was wrong, twice. Car parking was difficult with staff parking taking up many of the spaces that should have been available to guests. This all sounds terrible when strakly listed and that isnt really a very fair impression. It is more the case that the opportunity to be very special goes wasted and the lovely experince was thus slightly tainted, no more. My advice would be to visit and stay, you will love 90% of the experience. We will go back!!

Room Tip: It has to be a sea-view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View.

Thank you for your mixed comments I am glad you enjoyed 90% of your stay with us and will try harder the next time you visit to achieve 100%, sorry to read that we weren't consistent enough with various things during your stay with us mainly with meals and portion sizes.

My apologies about your towels or lack of on some days, I will speak with my housekeeper to resolve this issues from arising again.

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days in July 2014, what a wonderful hotel for location especially on a lovely sunny day as they have great tennis courts and a large area leading to the beach. The staff are very friendly and attentive, the food in the restaurants is exceptional and the rooms are a very good size and a great spa with an outdoor hot tub. Loved it so we will certainly be returning very soon

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View.

Thank you for all your fantastic comments and I'll certainly pass onto all my staff.

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Picked hotel because it looked onto the beach across the Moray Firth to the Black Isle.... location did not disappoint and was amazing.

Hotel is classed as a 4 star but in need of a little TLC.... rooms were fine, littled bit dated and dark. Cleanliness of the shower was not up to standard and there was no information in the rooms with regard to options for dining or sample menu. Ended up in the conservatory which was fine and got a window seat with breathtaking views. Breakfast was okay - service was a little bit slow.

Overall the hotel was nice and staff were very friendly and with a few little tweaks could be an excellent hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Golf View.

Thank you for all your kind comments and I'll certainly pass onto housekeeping staff about the shower not been as clean as it should have been

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moray, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday to have a spa day out with a group of friends. We each had full use of the leisure facilities and a half hour spa treatment, and high tea, for £40 each, it was great!

We arrived around 10am, we're warmly welcomed to the spa, everything was explained and off we went to get changed.

Spa treatments were amazing, pool and sauna were great, outdoor hot tub was a treat and the view is outstanding. A cover over the hot tub area might be good to stop pine needles ending up in the tub, but these are the small things.

We had a lovely afternoon tea around lunchtime, sandwiches, clotted cream, jam, scones, cakes, big pot of tea, some lovely prosecco ;)

Already planning an overnight return visit, I might take my husband, if he's lucky!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ayke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald1897, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us at the Golf View.

Thank you for all your wonderful comments and I'll certainly pass your comments onto my leisure staff about the pine cones, I know its normally covered but with guests using all day this will happen from time to time

Thank you again for your review

Regards
Donald Macleod
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
571 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing