We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb / hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
South Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb / hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

This was my 2nd stay at the golf hotel and both times were superb. Rooms are extremley clean/ quite, morning breakfast is excellent, and diner remarkable for scotland, very good for eleswhere (trying to find good restaurants in scotland is like trying to find a drink in jeddah), you just have to keep looking. A must......play the golf course, one of the best links in the world. Late april / may the grouse is in bloom, fantastic. Great value.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnMurray, Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us here at the Golf View.
I am delighted that both of your stays with us have been enjoyable and I will pass on your comments regarding the food to our Head Chef who will be delighted to hear them. The golf courses we have in a close proximity are wonderful, a real test of golf and I would agree, a definate must!

Thank you once again for your kind words and I hope a third visit is on the cards and we can make that as enjoyable for you as your previous visits.

Kind regards
Robert McPhee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    361
    131
    76
    35
See reviews for
212
590
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

Firstly I will start with the good stuff- lovely view and great restaurant to have lunch- fish and chips were first class.
Room wasn't ready at 1.30 and we had lunch whilst we waited- during the time we waited my son became ill and we had to take him to the local hospital. We returned and decided not to stay the night but return home leaving at 5pm.
We spoke to the receptionist to find out if there could be a refund or at least partially a credit for another visit. Whilst discussing this a call was received from a family desparate for a room and the receptionst said they may have a room and would call back. I would have been prepared to accept a refund or partial refund if they were able to sell the room that night.

I was advised that the manager would call the next day to discuss but the receptionist called and said after speaking to the manager that there was no way they could make any gesture.

I understand that every hotel needs terms and conditions but I would have thought that management could have made some sort of gesture perhaps to revist the hotel or a partner hotel at a quietier time when the hotel was not as busy which would not have cost any money.

It was disappointing that the management did not discuss this personally with me and left it to someone less senior to break the bad news.

I was recommended to visit this hotel by a friend which I understand is the life blood of good hotels- which is the reason it is important to try and get recommendations and repeat customers- although in my case this looks unlikely.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidyule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnMurray, General Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2010
Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor.Please accept my apologises for being unable to speak directly with you at the time.I was away at a meeting and was not back in the hotel,until later that evening.
The hotel policy is that reservations that fail to arrive on the day,cancel after 2pm or check out early are charged for that evenings accommodation. Given the number and types of situations that arise at peak times with regard to early check out and cancellations on the day , we do strictly adhere to this policy.
I am sorry that on this ocassion, we could not offer a refund or partial credit to you.
We do sincerely hope that at some point in the future you will choose to make a return visit to the hotel.We do value your feedback, and pleased be assured that we will do our utmost to ensure any return visit by you,is made a special one.

Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

Beautiful setting. Met by a warm welcome from Receptionist. Room was luxurious and view onto beach. Treatments by Wilma, wonderful therapist. Staff throughout our 2 night stay were so friendly. Both breakfasts and evening meals were held in restaurant and were out of this world. Compliments to Manager he has everything to a high standard and should be so proud of staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelInverkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnMurray, Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2010
Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed our hospitality during your stay with us and Im sure Wilma and the rest of the team will be delighted to hear your positive feedback. We do have a wonderful setting overlooking the Moray Firth and the views from our front facing rooms are wonderful!

Once again thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Golf View in the future.

Kind regards
Robert McPhee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stumbled upon this hotel while visiting nairn as it was delightfully positioned overlooking the beach. We booked for one night but ended up staying two. We ate in the conservatory both nights and both the service and food were excellent. The hotel has a path down to the beach. Breakfast was also very tastly and freshly cooked (and not self- service as in many hotels these days) Computer was provided in reception area, internet was not fast but acceptable speed to allow me check emails and availability for other hotels on our trrip.

We enjoyed our visit and would certainly reccommend this this hotel to anyone visiting the area

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ireland76Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnMurray, Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here at the Golf View. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, so much so that you where able to stay a 2nd night. I will of course pass on your kind comments to our kitchen and front of house teams who will be delighted to hear them.

Thank you once again for the kind words and I hope you had a pleasant onward journey and that we can welcome you back to the Golf View in the future.

Kind regards
Robert McPhee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

The Golf Hotel is a magnificent Scottish hotel. His view on the sea is exceptional. The rooms in a modern British style make it an inviting base as a base to explore the valley of the Spey or the few castles in the region. A swimming pool and small spa complement the Printing rest and relaxation felt in this place. The negative points now all reside mainly in the restoration. Breakfast is a great mediocrity (canned fruit, breads low quality, like bacon or sausage.). But the worst is definitely what we were served a table which showed that there was a real problem in the kitchen. Meat tasteless, undercooked, inedible trimmings, devastating fish, desserts, whatever ... all accompanied by a service as young as he was not professional. An address for sleeping, prefer the 2nd floor rooms with views of the sea but where it absolutely must not eat. Prefer to have very good has cowdor 4 miles.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmond24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnMurray, Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us.
I am very disappointed that our food and service did not live up to your expectations on this occassion. We take great pride in our food and customer service and I will investigate this further with my Head of Departments to rectify the issues you have raised.
On a positive note Im glad you where able to take advantage of our facilities while you stayed with us and could take advantage of the wonderful views overlooking the Moray firth from your room.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Best wishes
Robert McPhee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

What a great find! Friendly staff, wonderful food, clean and well maintained. Request one of the seaview rooms. Spectacular View! We had dinner at the hotel all three nights it was so good, very fresh. Try the toffee pudding!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnie90_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnMurray, Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments in your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the toffee pudding gets your recommendation!! I will pass on your kind words to the staff who always like hearing good feedback, it is only with this that we can keep improving our service and standards.
Once again thank you and I hope to welcome you back to the Golf View in the future.

Best wishes
Robert McPhee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the hotel, and it was fab, we wnated a short break away to celebrate my "special birthday" and it was just the ticket! All staff were very helpful and friedly throughout the stay. We eat in the conservatory and the restaurant and both were very good. The breakfasts were excellent, and kept us going most of the day. I enjoyed a treatment at the spa which was very releaxing. We enjoyed the spa facilities as well. The weather was lovely, and we sat on the patio and watched the sun set which was amazing. We had a lovely room which looked out to the sea. Would defo recommend this hotel, to anyone who wants to get away from it all and be treated well by hotel staff!! Keep it up!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackayjuly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NairnMurray, Manager at Golf View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us for your birthday. I will ensure that your kind words are passed to both the front of house and kitchen staff who will be delighted to hear them. Im glad you where able to take advantage of our spa facilities also, and the sunsets are magical at this time of year, its ashame we take them for granted!
Thank you for your kind words and I hope that we can welcome you back to the Golf View in the near future.

Best wishes
Robert McPhee
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
20.5 mi away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
20.8 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ben Wyvis Hotel
Ben Wyvis Hotel
#4 of 7 in Strathpeffer
3.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf View Hotel & Spa

Property: Golf View Hotel & Spa
Address: 63 Seabank Road | The Seafront, Nairn IV12 4HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#3 Family Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Golf View Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning AA 4 star seaside hotel overlooking the Moray Firth and close to Inverness. The Golf View Hotel and Spa enjoys views over the Moray Firth to the Black Isle and has gardens leading down to the seashore which is just a few steps away. Many of the 42 bedrooms are sea-facing with traditional interiors that provide guests with an exceptionally comfortable and relaxing place in which to stay. With a variety of leisure facilities including heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and a Sonas Spa and beauty salon on-site, there's plenty available to ensure all guests make the most of their visit to the Golf View Hotel and Spa, Nairn. The hotel restaurant serves up fine dining and has just been awarded AA 1 Rosette status, which is presented by passionate chefs in a selection of the finest dishes. Furthermore, the Conservatory Restaurant enjoys beautiful vistas of the golden sands and Moray Firth coastline beyond. Golf View Hotel and Spa is also perfectly located for exploration of Inverness, capital of the Highlands, and the wider Highland region with the world famous Nairn golf courses sitting on the hotel doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golf View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golf View Hotel Nairn
Hotel View
Golf View Hotel & Spa Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing