We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Wonderful Stay at The Braighe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Braighe Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Braighe Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 38 Nairn B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Stay at The Braighe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I recently returned from my third stay at the Braighe and it was delightful as usual. Marie and Blair are quintessential hosts. The Braighe is centrally located on a quiet residential street within easy walking distance to the beach and parks, the golf course and High Street in Nairn. The rooms are well appointed and beautifully decorated. Marie is a wonderful cook, knowledgeable about local attractions and made dinner reservations for us at the best restaurants in town. Lovely people, lovely B & B, lovely town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-nairn, Owner at The Braighe Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Susan and thank you for your excellent comments about us here at The Braighe and - my cooking!! I am a qualified Home Economist which helps with ideas and diets to suit our guests.
As you know we are back doing B&B having done it before for over 22 years, then gave up for a few years and are now on track again. Our news is that we are slowly going up the Trip Advisor rankings and are now number 8 instead of number 11 !! Yeah!!!
Keep in touch and hope to see you next year! The golf courses here are looking good -- interested?
Best Wishes
Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our stay at Am Braighe was such a great experience - one we won't forget! Marie, our host has gone that extra mile to ensure that guest's every need and whim is catered for - a veritable home from home. Our room was very tastefully decorated as well as being absolutely spotless, and we had a good night's sleep in the most comfy bed ever. The bathroom, with plenty hot water, had so many little extras - good thinking Marie! At breakfast, we felt like we were in a chateau - and the food equally good. Pancakes with fresh berries and crème fraiche (oh the waist-line!), and the hot servings tasty, wholesome, ample and delicious. Varied selection of teas and coffees. Marie is a superb host. It is rare to find such genuine caring and concern. Marie booked us in a The Classroom for dinner - good recommendation. Our one night stay was far too short - if only we had known before hand we would have stayed 3 nights in Nairn as it's so convenient to Cawdor, Culloden and Inverness. I highly recommend The Braighe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanzendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-nairn, Owner at The Braighe Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Morag and Claudia, thank you both for your very kind comments - it was a pleasure to meet you both here in The Braighe and I hope you will be able to come over again. Tell your friends about us and we are slowly going up the rankings here on TripAdvisor as we are now number 8 instead of number 11 -- hey ho!! A bientot j'espere!
Best Wishes
Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Bed and breakfast located just minutes from Inverness and Loch Ness. Beautiful home with extensive antiques, breakfast served with personal requests taken. Fresh homemade cakes and delicious french-press coffee. Rooms comfortable and quiet, bath lovely with provided soaps, shampoos and lotions. A real treat, and Marie is a lovely hostess.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-nairn, Owner at The Braighe Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Ray, thank you for your lovely comments and it was great to meet you both at The Braighe. We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay and please thank Rayleigh for her lovely note and card she posted!
Keep in touch and tell your friends about us too! Thanks,
Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a wonderful B & B on a quiet street. The gardens are beautiful and the owners a delight. Nairn is a great location to use as a base for touring the Scottish Highlands. And Marie had very good suggestions as to what we should see and to and especially how to get there. She also gave us great recommendations for restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-nairn, Owner at The Braighe Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Anne, thank you so much for this and it was a pleasure to have you both here. Keep in touch and hopefully we shall see you again at The Braighe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chanhassen, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I first stayed at The Braighe fifteen years ago, and have returned multiple times. Marie and Blair are gracious hosts and wonderful friends. The rooms are comfy and inviting, and the location is ideal for access to the town, golf and a scenic promenade along the beach. The breakfasts reveal Marie's expertise in the kitchen. Warm welcomes are standard here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-nairn, Owner at The Braighe Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hello David and thank you so much for all your lovely comments about us here at The Braighe - it was great to see you again so many times since the Walker Cup in 1999.
I know you love Nairn and our home and we look forward to seeing you all soon again. Safe flight home.
Best Wishes to all,
Blair and Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Marie Cruickshank has a lovely B&B situated in Nairn, convenient to everything! She is especially attentive to her guests and provides homemade jams at breakfast, as well as beautiful gardens in the front and her "secret garden" in the back! We enjoyed our wee dram there before her birthday as well! She is very delightfully Scottish! A great B&B to add to your list of favorites! Cheers! She is also the owner of Scotland Made Easy, which I am also giving very high marks!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-nairn, Owner at The Braighe Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much Ken for your wonderful feedback and hopefully we will see you all again at The Braighe in Nairn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Susanne M
We feel so luck to have been at this lovely property. After a long day we decided to stay in this seaside location only to find most of the B&B were full. We were told of The Braighe and Marie was outside waiting for us, what a find. You could not ask for anything more we had drinks in the lounge our dinner reservations booked and a hearty breakfast order taken for the morning. If looking for a true Scottish welcome you must stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie-nairn, Owner at The Braighe Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Susanne, thank you for your lovely comments and I hope you will be back again at The Braighe here in Nairn. Please tell your friends and colleagues about us too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.1 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairhaven B&B
Fairhaven B&B
#12 of 38 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Braighe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Braighe Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Braighe Bed and Breakfast
Address: Albert Street, Nairn IV12 4HQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to our cosy Victorian home filled with antique furniture and fresh flowers. We have only 2 double rooms to keep it intimate for guests who enjoy peace and tranquility. Guests have their own lounge which has a Nespresso coffee machine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Braighe Bed And Breakfast Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing