We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hogmany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clubhouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Hogmany”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I had a lovely time at Hogmany this year! We decided to try something different, me and my friends ditched the Husbands and had a girls night away! We had a lovely meal followed by great entertainment. All the staff were amazing and the atmosphere was great. It was the best New year I have had in a long time!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    70
    25
    12
    13
See reviews for
54
161
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Lovely hotel, very clean and modern with bright furnishings. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Beds very comfy and room nice and dark with blackout blinds plus curtains. Breakfasts were lovely for two out of our 3. It would seem there is a change of staff on a Sunday and the service and food was not as good as our other 2. All in all though a very pleasant stay. Got a bargain on hotels.com and only paid £120 for 3 nights B&B (normally £300).

Room Tip: Room 7 was a suite with a separate living and bedroom. Very nice! Sign up for hotels.com alerts to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genieward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonhill, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at the Clubhouse last weekend and were allocated a luxury double rooom in the Garden Wing. The room had recently been refurbished to a very high standard was spotlessly clean and had an extremely comfortable bed and sofa and a huge wall mounted TV. We have been in lots of rooms where the hairdryer is either underpowered or located away from the dressing table or a suitable mirror, so my wife was delighted to see that there was a power point right beside the dressing table mirror with a good quality hairdryer provided.

There was plenty of choice for hot drinks with tea, coffee, decaf coffee and hot chocolate provided. Our room also had an iron and ironing board. The towels in the bathroom were were thick and fluffy. The only drawback we found (as is the same with most over bath showers) was that the floor ended up soaked after a shower but a bathmat is provided so it's not a huge issue.

There was lots of choice available at breakfast. You can select what you want for cooked breakfast from an extensive list of ingredients.

All of the staff we met were very friendly and courteous, the free WiFi was an added bonus and we'd have no hesitation in returning to or recommending the Clubhouse.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My father purchased a Hogmanay evening for myself and my wife. We had come 'home' for Christmas and New year from China and he wanted to offer my wife her first experience of a Scottish New Year.
The offfered deal included a five course meal with live entertainment, dancing and a toast to the New Year.
The menu was changed for a take it or leave it affair,as we arrived that evening. This was a poor substitution of the booked meal, but a 10% discount was offered if we returned during the month of January.
The entertainment included a live performer who was very good, however the disco did not include any Scottish dancing at all. This was another disappointment, we had been particularly looking forward to the dancing having attended a Scottish wedding only the previous year.
Overall a poor reflection of what could have been. We will not be returning to this establishment and would not recommend it for any function.
We did not make use of the hotels other facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bazzanyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Unfortunately, as a patron, who worked for this establishment under its former owners, many years ago, i can only express my utter disappointment in the service i recieved when dining out with a friend, especially since knowing that if i had dared leave the bar unattended i would have been reprimanded

We waited the best part of 10 minutes at the bar to be issued menu's. while the DM in a green jacket kept her back to us, as did the waiting/bar staff. there was no, "sorry, i will be with you in a minute" or any other sort of apology for the ignorance. The bar was not busy , and we selected a table at the end of the bar closest to what was formerly the sun lounge. i got up to get drinks, and again had to stand at the bar...waiting and waiting , while there was no one there. I then had to go out to reception, where DM in Green Jacket, was sitting...and had to request service. this is not on. She came through, while i stood waiting to collect the drinks she was pouring, (right in front of me), when she loaded the drinks onto a tray and picked up the tray, walked out the bar, and PAST ME, to my table, without so much as a word...no, "have a seat, i'll bring them over", what the hell was i standing there for!!
Then we eventually managed to order, I had a steak which was lovely. and my friend had chicken which was also demolished.

Congratulations to the Chefs, as they are clearly the only reason that anyone bothers going to the Clubhouse, good food, good portions, great presentation and timeous delivery.

It took nearly half an hour of having empty plates before they were cleared, we werent offered any thing else, we had to ask for the desert menu, had to ask for teas and coffees.

We yet again had to go find the DM in the Green Jacket so we could pay our bill as the Blue T Shirt waiting/bar staff were nowhere to be found, and yet again Green Jacket was plonked at reception, where no one was, rather than in the unattended bar, where i was waiting beside another customer who was waiting on service also. appalling. no tip left for service. just appalling.

I feel bad for writing such a scathing review, but if it kicks management into touch with regards to implementing new service standards then my bad experience will not be in vain.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KERI1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cental Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I had a great time when I stayed here with my wife. I had some work to do in the area so had a look for a hotel and found this lovely hotel. I was originally booked in for 2 nights and the only pity was I only stayed 1 after my work commitments changed! Such a friendly welcome awaits, all the staff here were lovely. Got chatting a wee bit to the owners at the bar who were very nice and gave us a bit of background to the hotel. Rooms were lovely, spacious, bright, nice big tv which I love and also very clean. We had dinner in the hotels lounge bar, in one word awesome! We both had homemade soup to start then had the chicken dish for mains, I've had meals in some high end eateries and this food was up there, for 'bar food' I'd say quality was exceptional. I really recommend a visit here, I know I'll be back! Thank you owners.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Lovely hotel,stayed here for 3 nights at end of Oct.and couldnt have been happier.
Spacious clean rooms,excellent friendly service,and great value.
Would reccomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finnmcool9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
394 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clubhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clubhouse Hotel

Property: The Clubhouse Hotel
Address: 45 Seabank Road, Nairn IV12 4EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clubhouse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clubhouse Nairn is a newly refurbished Boutique Hotel catering to golfers, tourists and business people. Located in the west end of Nairn and only a 7 iron from the Nairn Golf club and another 30 links courses within an hours drive from the hotel. This year sees the Scottish Open come to Nairn at the prestigious Castle Stuart Course just outside of Nairn in July. We offer an excellent bar and dining experience prepared by our Head Chef Carl Bontoft along with a variety of Cocktails and Wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Clubhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Nairn
The Clubhouse Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing