We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clubhouse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise!”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Good reviews and a reasonable rate attracted us to the Clubhouse. We know Nairn quite well but did not recognise the hotel which has been upgraded very significantly. It is an oldish building as so many in this lovely part of Nairn are - but it has been given a very colourful but tasteful and high quality refurbishment which makes it both attractive and very comfortable. Our room and bed was terrific though the bathroom was not perhaps up to the same standard (OK but no wow factor). The food was first class and the service friendly and helpful. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a very good room number 4 but number 3 looks terrific! The road is not very busy and so it d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin9646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    69
    25
    12
    13
See reviews for
54
160
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Lovely modern hotel, in a peaceful location not far from Nairn seafront. Great food - dinner and cooked breakfast to a high standard. Rooms - clean, modern & very comfortable. Staff - friendly, welcoming, efficient and attentive. Refurbishment yo a high standard with care & attention is clearly obvious. Hotel deserves to do well. Will be back.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gordon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed for an overnight and delighted with both the accommodation and the food. The staff were attentive and went out of their way to make us comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. We had our evening meal in the bar and our breakfast in the dining room. On each occasion the food was delicious and well presented.

Room Tip: Room 3 has the wow factor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNtraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

This was a great find and great value for the style and size of the room. As the hotel was quite quiet they upgraded us to a suite style room in the garden (it had a separate lounge with sofa and tv). It was within easy walking distance to the beach and is well placed for exploring Culloden and Loch Ness. We ate at the restaurant and the food was delicious. The staff were very friendly and there was a great hotel bar. The breakfast was delicious and freshly made. All round a great 1 night stay in Nairn!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Damian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete R, General Manager at The Clubhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review of your stay at the clubhouse nairn, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are a family run business and comments like yours encourage everyone from family and staff to go that extra mile to try and please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teba, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed at the clubhouse with 7 fellow golfers for a week golfing in the highlands. The opinion of all of us was that everything about the hotel, location, rooms, food and most importantly staff exceeded our expectations and was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, even took the trophy to Inverness for engraving, the owner even gave us a lift to another local restaurant!. We are already looking forward to visiting agan

Room Tip: The new rooms at the back of the hotel are a little noisy and have windows onto the garden which can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete R, General Manager at The Clubhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
A great bunch of guys who we all enjoyed the company of at the Clubhouse. Thanks for the comments, it is nice for everyone when their efforts are rewarded with nice feedback. Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed for two nights while on a golfing holiday. Room 6 was standard size for Scotland-not large but acceptable. Breakfast was average for Scotland. Everything worked perfectly and the service was excellent. Only complaint: wifi did not reach this room, other than in the WC. Will return.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed one night in room overlooking front of hotel. Large room and bed but watch your head on oddly placed plasma tv. Noisy overnight with folk heading to rooms and listening to snoring next door! Breakfast disappointing as fried and not grilled, so food fairly greasy. Staff very pleasant and attentive but noise and food let it down. Not cheap so had hoped for better.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrs_highlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.6 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clubhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clubhouse Hotel

Property: The Clubhouse Hotel
Address: 45 Seabank Road, Nairn IV12 4EY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clubhouse Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clubhouse Nairn is a newly refurbished Boutique Hotel catering to golfers, tourists and business people. Located in the west end of Nairn and only a 7 iron from the Nairn Golf club and another 30 links courses within an hours drive from the hotel. This year sees the Scottish Open come to Nairn at the prestigious Castle Stuart Course just outside of Nairn in July. We offer an excellent bar and dining experience prepared by our Head Chef Carl Bontoft along with a variety of Cocktails and Wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Clubhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claymore Hotel Nairn
The Clubhouse Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing