We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Invernairne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Invernairne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Location is excellent. We had the sea view room and it is awesome. Nothing like opening the window and falling asleep to the sounds of the sea. Kids beds were not as comfortable as the adult bed. Breakfast is excellent. Overall, very comfortable and recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view room is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thanirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    53
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
66
119
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Superb location and excellent sized, clean bedroom accommodation with one of the best views in town.
Highly knowledgeable and friendly owner; no need for a Tourist Information Centre!
Breakfasts mainly pre-prepared, which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have excellent views across the Moray Firth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingFifers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We stayed for two nights recently and were looked after brilliantly. The family rooms were clean and neat, with cotton linen, and a wonderful view and access to the beach. There is ample parking and free wi-fi. Kay and her husband coped very well with our last minute changes - not easy with a toddler and dog with us - and even posted clothing back to us which we didn't realise we had left behind. Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarejtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Doug & Kay are naturally wonderful, and their guest house has real grandeur and elegance with a beautiful garden and sea view, and spacious rooms, very clean and friendly. An ample breakfast awaits you to complete a delightful experience at great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattDillonJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

We simply showed up one Wednesday night just before Easter and were given (at a friendly rate!) a fine room en suite off the lobby overlooking the garden and the North sea, perhaps the largest room we've had in Europe/UK, with modern spacious bathroom, great lighting and a very cozy king bed in a fourposter, along with a couch, coffee table and easy chair (also a clothes press, valet stand, wardrobe, and of course coffee & tea set-up.

The Scottish breakfast was superb, fresh and ample. The friendly and un-intrusive owners apologized that the bar was closed until Easter, but gave us a tour of the large wood-paneled room overlooking the beach, it was a finely carved bar with comfortable seating all around, and well-stocked, too!

A private path led to the beach, which led us East to the marina, park and town, and West to another nearby hotel with a bar and good restaurant,.

We'd also been shown a room en suite upstairs for a bit less, a very nice room en suite, but we opted for teh larger ground-floor room, and we're glad we did! We'd stay there again with pleasure!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drfertig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

My wife and I recently took a 3-week trip around the UK and stayed in 6 bed and breakfast places and one hotel in London. Our selections were made, where possible, based on information and ratings on Tripadvisor. The Invernairne is a large guest house/B&B overlooking, but not right on the Moray Firth: it is an easy 3 minute walk to the beach and then into town. We stayed in an enormous room on the first floor (easily big enough to hold us and the car, if had been allowed) with a modern bathroom. The room decor was Victorian, but a bit aged. However, the room was one of my wife's favorites. The breakfast was disappointing: it was a buffet with the eggs and hot food in heated servers, cereal in small boxes and packs, and, overall, a bit too commercial. This breakfast was probably the worst on our trip, but everything else was very good. Overall, this was a very nice guest house and one that we might consider if in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chert42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed here with another couple for one night.
Our room ( at £55 each b/b ) was large, and with a great view over the Moray Firth.
Our Swiss friends had a room which was considerably smaller ( although only £44 each b/b )
The location is first class , as other TA members have pointed out. Excellent large car park , and the property is large and in good condition.
Breakfast is the only meal offered - it is quite good , but not exceptional. Most hot items are in heated trays , with eggs available on request.
The couple who own Invernairne , Doug and Kay , are most helpful. We ate at the Classroom in Nairn for dinner - it was excellent.
In summary a good location , at a reasonable cost ,in this pleasant seaside town.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
11.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invernairne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invernairne Hotel

Property: Invernairne Hotel
Address: Invernairne Lodge Thurlow Road, Nairn IV12 4EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Invernairne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Invernairne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invernairne Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing