We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”
Review of Invernairne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Invernairne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed during last fall and must state that it was the best guest house we have experienced in the UK. Wonderful location with beautiful path down to the ocean; great room and awesome hosts. We were ideally situated to the golf courses in Nairn and just a few miles from Castle Stuart golf course. There were many golf courses in the area which we hope to visit on future trips. We were delighted to have stayed some days so we had the opportunity to visit the Speyside whisky area (wonderful), Cawdor and Brodie castles and Culloden Battlefield. It was great to see the trees changing colors at that time of year. We have traveled around the UK but this was simply the best - staying in such a wonderful location by the ocean in a house with much history. Greatly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonZukek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed over New Year while visiting relatives in Nairn. Great location, wonderful views over the wild and windy ocean, most excellent room; lovely breakfast and hosts. What more can we say?
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausscot_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Invernairne in Nairn in September 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days. We have stayed previously in other places in Nairn and Inverness (in 2008 and 2010) but the Invernairne was the best - we really recommend it. Kay and Doug were great hosts and we appreciated the help with our luggage on arrival. The double room was very comfortable and had wonderful seaviews. The gardens, breakfast room also had lovely views. The bar does close early (about 8pm) but that suited us for a pre-dinner drink (we mostly ate at the nearby GolfView or at the Classroom in Nairn which were both very good). Breakfast was excellent with very good selection including the usual hot food plus croissants, yoghurts and fruits etc. Good choice and perfectly cooked. Only complaint was the non-appearance of the dolphins - people had seen them the day before our arrival. Planning to return to the Invernairne next summer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithols124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

stayed two nights at invernairne, the place was absolutely beautiful set amidst beautiful settings with a path down on to the beach. Loved the continental part of the breakfast however the cooked breakfast which was self service was disappointing. We were down early basically from when breakfast started and found the food to be very over cooked. The host Doug and kay were lovely and very helpful.

Room Tip: Culloden rom was huge,bright and airy but looked on to the road however Fort George room although sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenmcshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Bit of a letdown after glowing reviews on Trip Advisor. Our party consisted of 2 couples with a single booking made for 2 identical rooms. One room was huge and one room really small especially with the luggage involved for Australians on a 6 week holiday. We were staying 2 nights. There was no lift so this luggage had to be carted upstairs. No air-conditioning however the windows opened.

Our room was a family room so we had plenty of room. The furniture in the room was a bit dated and the bedhead was not attached properly. In the bathroom, the bath and sink were clean however the bathroom tiles beside the bath/shower were mouldy which was off putting. This was possibly the source of the sour smell in this room or it may have been the carpet on the floor.

Hosts were nice enough although a bit reserved. Breakfast was tasty. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. Plenty of off street parking.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms sound larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenWPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed for five days and enjoyed every one. Our room was spacious and spotless with an excellent view of the garden and the Moray Firth. The location is perfect, with restaurants and excellent golf an easy and beautiful walk away. Nairn is a charming small town, a bit slower paced than larger Inverness, but lacking nothing except for the avid shopper. Kay and Doug create a friendly, helpful and discreetly attentive atmosphere. As per the previous review, the excellent bar area does have limited hours but this is probably for the best in maintaing the quiet relaxing ambiance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65claudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The guest house is very lovley, clean and the views are outstanding. Be warned though it does have a fantastic bar area but when we visited it opened from 12 - 8pm and in order to be served we had to go out to reception and ring the bell. If you are looking for a quite getaway, with a beautiful view, gardens and pleasant hosts, not to mention the amazing beaches this is the perfect place. If you are looking for anything remotley lively Nairn is not the place, however Inverness or Elgin are only a short distance away on the train.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungCouple11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
944 reviews
11.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
347 reviews
14.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invernairne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invernairne Hotel

Address: Invernairne Lodge Thurlow Road, Nairn IV12 4EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: £92 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Invernairne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Invernairne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invernairne Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing