We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Period Charm and Great Hosts”
Review of Invernairne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Invernairne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Period Charm and Great Hosts”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This lovely small hotel is right on the Moray Firth. The hosts could not be any nicer and we great about providing restaurant tips and information about the area. The rooms are spacious and lovely, with high ceilings and a comfy bed plus nice seating area. Everything is provided, and all is grace and charm. Good fresh and hot breakfasts are served by the kind hosts. We would stay here again and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. We had a corner room, which was light and large, but without a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    55
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
77
128
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great place to stay, great view, and great hosts! I highly recommend the hotel. It is in a quiet area with access to the beach and an easy walk to the town centre. If you play there are two courses nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

A guest house and not full hotel, the bedrooms are a bit dated with the really old style en-suites but the keys here are the beds, the food and the service. the beds are new, firm and give a great nights sleep, the breakfast was fresh and hot, really good, and the service is friendly and helpful from the minute you arrive. cant fault it for a £75 double. Much better value than the golf view that's for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Spent 2 nights here last month and from start to finish it was an excellent stay. On arrival we were greeting by the very friendly host, who showed us our room and also gave us a printed sheet stating local restaurants and pubs, very useful. Breakfast was excellent and the view from the dinning room was beautiful. All in all the Invernairn is a comfortable guest house, with large rooms, in an ideal position.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audrey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

What a wonderful setting! Our room was absolutely lovely and the view breathtaking. We loved being able to walk from our hotel to the sea walk. Our hosts were terrific and we had a fabulous breakfast. One of our favorite B & Bs in all of Scotland!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Invernairne. It's very quiet and peaceful – I kept my bedroom window open all night and was lulled to sleep by the sound of the sea. Breakfast is lovely, the staff are pleasant, the room was cosy, and it's perfect for a wander along the beach. I will be visiting again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cradley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Invernairne is no longer a hotel but a guest house however there are lots of places to enjoy an evening meal nearby and a list is provided when you book in.

The Invernairne has a Wow factor being a unique building in a good situation . You can walk to the beach through the garden. This year I saw the dolphins from my room window that was a great plus. It is a quiet and peaceful place to stay.

We stayed in the Firthside ground floor room which has fantatic views of the Moray Firth and is a large spacious room with a four poster bed.

Breakfast is mainly buffet style with a good fruit, cerial, and cooked selection which gives the owners Kay and Doug time to give guests any attention required and they are always happy to suggest places to visit if asked.

Another great stay at this lovely guest house. We have stayed many times and have taken family and friends all of which agreed the Invarnairne is special.

Room Tip: Many rooms have sea view just ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda140630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
394 reviews
11.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invernairne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invernairne Hotel

Property: Invernairne Hotel
Address: Invernairne Lodge Thurlow Road, Nairn IV12 4EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Invernairne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Invernairne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invernairne Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing