We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning old house in need of an upgrade”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Invernairne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Invernairne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
lancs
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Stunning old house in need of an upgrade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Beautiful setting.Large carpark.Stunning views and path down to the beach through the gardens.Grand old house.Met with a very friendly lady who showed us to our rooms and offered a print out of local eateries.It was about a 15 minute walk into Nairn itself.(The Class Room was worth booking.) The family room allocated was clean but ready for an upgrade I felt.Faded pictures and a mish mash of furniture.The bathroom has a shower over the bath and was in dire need of regrouting.The couple we were travelling with had a lovely room downstairs with lovely modern wallpaper and a fresh clean shower room.The place was peaceful for sleeping.Breakfast was served in the dining room which was lovely overlooking the sea.There was a large selection and no complaints about that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    54
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
67
119
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have stayed in Nairn four times and this was by far my favorite experience! We had a beautiful room with a spectacular view of the Moray Firth. Enjoyed the beautiful decorated building, the large bar room with comfortable leather furniture and stunning views. The dining room was gorgeous (also with THAT view) and the breakfasts plentiful and delicious. The owners are very nice, helpful and accommodating in every way. I would plan another trip to Nairn just to stay at the Invernairne! Great gateway to the Highlands which are an easy day trip, and then back at night to relax at this super hotel. Bev - August 31 & Sept. 1, 2013

Room Tip: Ask for any room in the back of the hotel to get the view of Moray Firth
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevers1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Having researched this venue using trip advisor, I can honestly state that we were very pleased with the standard of accommodation and service. Our room with four poster bed, had an exceptional view of the Moray Firth, sadly the dolphins were on vacation!
The breakfast was of a high standard and the hosts were friendly and helpful.
The walk down the garden path featured in previous reviews and we found out why...gateway to a great walk.
Give this venue a try, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose the suite with the four poster bed overlooking the Moray Firth
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I wont go on too much but here we go. After thinking about going to Nairn for quite some time I looked on the internet and narrowed my choice down to four, having arrived in Nairn after a four hour drive we stopped at the first hotel, it looked nice and importantly it accepted small pets, we then drove for five minutes and arrived at the Invernairne Guest House, we both looked at each other and said WOW, I went in and asked about availabilty,I was very warmly met at the reception and after explaining I was looking for somewhere which accepted pets, I was shown to a huge comfortable room with an equally impressive en- Suite, I said this will be fine and went back to the reception, within five minutes , check in was complete. We unpacked the car and settled into our comfortable accomodation, we went straight out into the wonderfull gardens and down the private path which leads directly to the stunning beach, on our return we went to the very impressive bar, only open until 8pm, if you want to venture out late then just ask the owners for their help, they went to lots of trouble to find us a doggy friendly pub where we could eat a bar meal. Having returned to retire for the night everywhere was so peacefull, we had a great nights sleep and awoke really fresh and headed to the fantastic dining room for the best breakfast which was self service but we were met by the owners who served beautiful fresh coffee and toast, with this we had a full English or Scottish breakfast of sausage, bacon, scambled eggs, tomatoes and beans, I even had the cheek to ask for a sausage for my wee dog who I have to say was made more then welcome by the owners, to the point where I was even given tin foil to carry the said sausage back to the room. Well I said that I wasnt going to go on too much, so the parting comment is, If going to Nairn then you must stay at the Invernairne Guest House, it is delightlful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriss1963Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eskilstuna
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Premises: Did choose a suprior room with sea view. Old house with OK facilities. I do not like English old fashion bathrooms (general statement). Separate taps for warm/cold and shower in the bath-tub (slippery).
Cleaning: Average. Not perfect every day
TV: Poor - Problems with Channels
Breakfast: English standard. Little boring for 14 days.
Service: Excellent - Very nice owners
Parking: Very good
Location: 5-10 min walk to town center
Garden: Nice but little old garden furniture. Nice view over the bay.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

In addition to the title must be said that the beautiful house really needs refurbishing and a few pots of paint. However, the English owners were very friendly and helpful, borrowed us their nice cutlery for an evening-picknick on the beach, accessible through their beautiful garden. breakfast in the saloon with seaview. Fifth star we would easlily give if paint and furnishments would look less worn out.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swedish_couple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I was there for two nights on 7th and 8th of July. Initially I booked myself and my wife into the standard room. It was ok. The owners gave me an option to have a look at their superior category room which had the name 'Flirthside'. The moment I saw the room and the view therefrom no questions came to my mind but to take it. It was a wonderful room with great decor very tastefully done. I have visited many places stayed in various luxurious suites but for me I shall reckon my stay in this lovely guesthouse to be on the top.
To top up to the wonders of the beautiful room, the owners were such wonderful and pleasant people that it makes the memory of your stay more worth than what you pay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devashis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
11.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invernairne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invernairne Hotel

Property: Invernairne Hotel
Address: Invernairne Lodge Thurlow Road, Nairn IV12 4EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Invernairne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Invernairne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invernairne Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing