We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view and the four poster”
Review of Invernairne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Invernairne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Well, - I am writing a review so that people can have a bit of an insight into what they might get in the accommodation that we have stayed in, and it`s not much use if I don`t give an honest appraisal, so without being picky for pickie`s sake, here goes :-

We saw the Invernairne in the Scottish Touist Boards accommodation guide, and after telephoning the one listed next to it which turned out to be full, at 7.30p.m. on Saturday night, we rang this one. The only room left was a four poster with a sea view, at £90.00 which we were told we could have at £80.00. The room sounded good and so did the lady and then gentleman who we dealt with on the phone.

I still wanted to go round to the other hotel to see if we could chivvy a room out of them but time was getting on, and we found the hotel quite easily.

It didn`t look quite as magnificent as it had suggested, but the gardens were well kept and the view from the back IS beautiful. We checked in and went to our room, and frankly, this just has to be said, it was quite disappointing. The four poster certainly did have four posts, but it wasn`t a bit like I had imagined, nor experienced before, and the wardrobe door that just would not stay shut and which bashed you on the elbow every time you came out of the bathroom, was certainly a bit irritating - in other words, and to tell the truth, the room that we stayed in was certainly tired and in need of decorating.
On reading the brochure it said "newly decorated in 2007" but this could not have been ours, and I`ll say no more.

The lady did say if there was anything that we would like to highlight that needed to be done, it would already be on her list, so I didn`t comment as this one MUST have been on her list !

The breakfast was served in chafing dishes and then you ordered whichever sort of egg that you wanted to go with it, which was a different way of going on, but never mind, they are trying to be really accommodating, and nobody can criticise people who try.

There is indeed a bar, but it closes at 8.15p.m. so don`t imagine drinking sessions with the guys...........it is quiet.

For one night I/we could put up with it, but we certainly wouldn`t have wanted to pay as much as we did for a week and had we been staying any longer, then we certainly would have asked for a different room or at least to see what the alternatives were.

Nairn itself was a mini Blackpool at the turn of the century, and no doubt there are features which still appeal to individuals for some reason, but, apart from the golf course and the sea, I could not see anything that would make me want to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderingstarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2009

I had previously stayed here with my wife and we had thoroughly enjoyed the experience and most importantly the service and helpfulness of our hosts. This time I returned with my father for a golf outing. My father had stayed at the Invernairne under its previous owners who had double booked and upset him and his party. He was thus a reluctant traveller, however that has all changed and he is busily sounding off to all that will listen what a pleasure his stay had been.

The simple things have been done well and this is backed up with a warm and attentive welcome and a courteous and helpful service ethic.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurnReiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at Invernairne Guest House for two nights over Easter. The guest house is located on the sea front about 5 minutes nearer Nairn Harbour than the Golf View Hotel.
The place is spotlessly clean and has lovely gardens with excellent sea views. Our room was clean and spacious. We had a nice sitting area in the room and tea and coffee making facilities.
Breakfast is served between 8.00 and 9.30 in the morning room which again has beautiful sea views. The first morning we were there the guest house seemed to be almost full and the hot food was served from a selection of hot plates. The food could have been warmer and there seemed to be a shortage of some food items plus juice glasses and bowls. The second morning there was only us and one other couple so breakfast was made to order and was far more pleasant. The food items served at breakfast are not the finest nor are they the worst. Given the rich supply of local ingredients a bit more effort could be made to source items like sausages from local butchers and perhaps also haggis and black pudding could be added to the offerings to make it more of a full Scottish breakfast.
The owners are warm and friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. This is a very pleasant guest house for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woo4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

This was one of the most beautiful rooms we have ever stayed in! We stayed in the ocean front room downstairs, recently refurbished this past year. I have never seen such a large room, with large windows opening to the ocean. The poster bed just added to the beauty of this room. Although this room was beautiful, the owners Kay and Doug were so nice to us. My husband sprained his ankle while playing golf, stepping in a hole on the rough so came in limping. Doug immediately gave him a wooden cane which he used for the next two days until he could buy one of his own. Kay brought us ice, a bandage and deep heat for my husband to use. This really helped us out, as we got to their bed and breakfast after the stores were closed. The food was great and our breakfast room had windows opening up to the ocean and the beautiful garden. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marilee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

Just returned from a one night stay and was not sure what to expect when I booked. The standard and service throughout was very good and the hosts did everything to make your stay a pleasant one. The location was ideal and views from the garden where awesome overlooking the moray firth. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning in future.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stanhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

The Invernairne Hotel is one of the most beautiful locations we have stayed at in numerous travels around the world. You see the care and love that Kay & Doug have put into the hotel and they are the perfect hosts. The hotel is located within walking distance of town and numerous eatting locations. It is located on the ocean with a view that is out of this world. Full breakfast offered in a dining room with ocean view. A beautiful bar in the hotel for afternoon drinks. The location is close to golf if that is your interest. The bedrooms are comfortable, large and beautifully decorated. Ask for the Firthside room, you will not be disapointed. We hope to return for a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mixmaster300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Invernaire Hotel. It's a huge guest house with lovely modern rooms and beautiful surroundings. It really has the best location in town -- there's a quick private path down to the beach, and you can walk anywhere you'd like. Kay was a great help, printing us out a map and providing us a list of restaurants in town. (We had a delicious meal at The Classroom.)

Nairn itself was a bit of a disappointment. The town itself isn't that charming (although the beach is beautiful). But, we were there on a rainy Friday evening, and the main part of town was all but deserted.

If you are going to Nairn though, stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank priestpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
11.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
346 reviews
14.3 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invernairne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invernairne Hotel

Address: Invernairne Lodge Thurlow Road, Nairn IV12 4EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: £89 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Invernairne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Invernairne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invernairne Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing