We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Invernairne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Invernairne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed in Fort William room for four nights.spotlessly clean,ensuite very large with bath and shower,it must be a family room as we had a joining room with twin beds.tea,coffee,biskets etc on a tray in room,tv,hair dryer,very welcome when flying,also use of iron & board.Great views of the sea,nice walk along the front.Food good buffet self service,if you wanted boiled eggs,fryed or poched they would do them for you.Kate & Douglas are very friendly people do anything for you.We ate in the Havelock house very good service & value,be sure to be early to get a seat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    53
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
66
119
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

We booked this hotel for the one night as it was our wedding anniversary.
A warm welcome meets you at this hotel.
We got upgraded to a four poster room with views of the firth,well placed hotel for promanade and golf club,a great breakfast,
good room rates.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gobiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

"Firthside" room massive and lovely view of the Moray Firth. Service good, delightful breakfast room and breakfast. Convenient location but Nairn is a very quiet place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara5215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Not sure which four-poster room 'wanderingstarlet' stayed in (see review further below), but I'm pretty certain it wasn't the 'Firthside' on the ground floor! Decoration was to a high standard in my opinion and the room was spotlessly clean. All the furniture was solid and looked quite new to me (in excellent condition anyway). The en-suite was very large (by most hotel standards) with a bath and a shower. Douglas and Kay are extremely friendly and welcoming people who are clearly in the business because they care about what they do. I would love to have stayed longer, but it was a very last minute decision to get away for a night (with the kids in tow unfortunately ;-) ), but we were all glad that we chose the Invernairne.

I would certainly recommend 2-3 nights for any couple who want to get away for a short break and enjoy a bit of luxury at a reasonable price - choose the Firthside room and you won't be disappointed. The weather wasn't exactly tropical at this time of year, but the views more than made up for it...I can only imagine what it would be like when the sun is out in full force (pretty stunning I should think!).

We had a lovely meal at 'The Classroom' in the evening, which is only a 15-20 minute walk into Nairn town centre and at around £25 per head for 3 courses (including drinks) it didn't bankrupt us either! The hotel owners provided a very helpful map of several places to eat locally when we first arrived and there was plenty of guidance on what to do in the surrounding area as well. A couple of nice walks along the seafront were all we had time for, but the local golf course looked a treat worth exploring if that's your thing. There's also an indoor swimming pool less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Breakfast was good quality and served in a lovely room overlooking the Moray Firth (just next to our bedroom in fact - almost wish there was a serving hatch between the two!). Extra toast offered without being requested and self-service buffet dishes kept well stocked and hot.

All in all a great 'overnighter' which left us wanting more... see you again soon hopefully!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uk_leisure_gb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

A lovely guest house with incredible views. House and gardens are very elegant. Kay and Douglas are wonderful hosts. Our room was beautiful as are the public rooms. Our hosts helped us with a number of things and couldn't be more helpful. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2travelMidwestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

I stayed in Aberdeen for a conference and hire a car for adventure journey in Schotland. I spend too much time on whisky road and come to Nairn. A small town and I find the hotel very easy.

I park the car and find my room it is very nice and I like it here. It is long walk into Nairn town and I find something to eat. I drink many malt whisky - all very nice.

The hotel is very lovely, the decoration looks new and I love the view to the Black Island opposite the hotel garden. The breakfast is very good and I eat too much. If I come to Nairn once more I come here.

I like Schottland!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuntherKoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redhill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

We enjoyed everything about the Invernairne - the 4-poster room was fabulous - mahogony, king sized and with great seaviews! We arrived late by train and not seeing taxis phoned up and the owner came and collected us. Either Kay or Doug also took us during the week to the bus station and even to Inverness railway station (due to poor connection time from Nairn station) - they couldn't have done more to make an enjoyable stay. Even the weather was mostly good (better than down south). Great breakfast - as much as you like. We loved the gardens and even spotted dolphins from the lawn! We recommend the meals at the Classroom and at the Golf View.
Trips to Cawdor castle, Brodie castle and of course Loch Ness plus the Spey side distilleries. We recommend the area and the miles of golden, sandy beaches right down from the gardens. You won't beat this!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knysna2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.2 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
11.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invernairne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invernairne Hotel

Property: Invernairne Hotel
Address: Invernairne Lodge Thurlow Road, Nairn IV12 4EZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Invernairne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Invernairne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invernairne Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing