We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a takeaway?”

Al Raj Indian Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 48 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Livingston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good for a takeaway?”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The place was empty except for one other couple who were just about leaving when we arrived. The waiter seemed pleasant enough but a smile wouldn't have gone amiss! The food was good though so maybe on our next visit we will order a carryout instead.......although to be fair the place was empty!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looks can be deceiving”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Simply outstanding. Been coming here all my life and never disappoints. The best curry you'll ever have. Great friendly service.

Helpful?
1 Thank Squarebob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Family reunited”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The restaurant is situated in the heart of Nairn. Family and friends met as we were attending a family funeral the next day. We all had different starters and main courses and clean plates all round. The service was excellent and staff could not have been more attentive. I thoroughly recommend this restaurant to everyone who visits Nairn.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ullapool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here the food was beautiful and freshly made, staff were extremely kind and helpful...don't miss this Indian restaurant if you are visiting Nairn.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank broombankUllapool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Indian Meal in a long time”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

First trip to Nairn and fancied an Indian meal

Looked like a takeaway at first until we walked in and saw the restaurant.
Nice cheeky manner by the staff.
Curries looked as though produced with natural ingredients rather than some of the radioactive colours that you may see in other establishments.
Good portions - recommend the coriander, spring onion & garlic nan "OMG!!!!!"
2 adult meals with drinks £41

Message to the owner - please open a restaurant in Falkirk!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nauld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Raj Indian Restaurant also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Al Raj Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing