We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Bella! Great Meal”
Review of The Aurora Hotel

The Aurora Hotel
Ranked #15 of 49 Restaurants in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bella Bella! Great Meal”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Saw this restaurant whilst passing by on the A9 and checked it out on TripA.
Thought it was worth a go and was not disappointed.
The restaurant had a great family atmosphere.
Really happy with the head waitress whom adapted the menu to suit my taste. - recommend the penne pasta with arribattia sauce chicken & chilli (OMG!!!!)
2 adults with starter, main course & drinks £36 thoroughly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nauld22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    32
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our new favourite restaurant in Nairn”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stopped by for dinner when travelling through Nairn between Ullapool and Aberdeen and we were so pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is in the lovely conservatory, the service was impeccable. We were never left waiting but given our own space to enjoy our meal and the evening. The food was outstanding! I don't often eat three courses anymore but here I did. We did not leave hungry either. The portions were generous as well as delicious. The food is authentic Italian and there is a wonderfully extensive menu to choose from. We travel through Nairn several times a year, so we'll definitely be back!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank mathanrudhach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Are you there?”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Tried to reserve a table ..... Phone number declared "unobtainable". So we took a taxi to the restaurant ...... It was closed. Do you still trade? Are you closed on Tuesdays? If so do you make your phone number unavailable on the day? Can you not inform potential customers as to your situation? Frustration +++

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Autentic Italian Fare”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Italian owner was in the Car Park when we arrived and loved my Italian V6 Alfa Spider! A joy to find real Italian fare - the whole meal was brilliant and good value. An extensive menu and good wine list complemented the good service, Being one quarter Italian, I loved it! We'll be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

While visiting Nairn with my husband and two Italian friends, we decided to go off Scottish radar and eat Italian. My friends are very knowledgeable and discriminating about Italian food, and were skeptical about how good it could possibly be in Nairn. Well, it was the best meal we ate in 9 days! Great atmosphere too - delightful server, lovely room - lots of fun mingling with locals.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevers1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Aurora Hotel also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Aurora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing