We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass ripoff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just back from week at Lochloy - we booked 2 caravans independently. Had teething problems but the staff on site were very helpful and soon got things sorted out. We couldn't use the microwave in our caravan as it had a hole burnt out on the top inside!!!! Still there when we left-very dangerous!!!! The £10 pass was a RIPOFF as 2 of our party of 6 didn't use the swimming pool but we were told they would still need the passes to get in to the entertainment. Not once were our passes checked - the entertainment was very POOR. The girls tried hard but CAN SOMEBODY PLEASE TELL THEM that shouting into a mike just doesn't work!!! The boy band OCD was the best of the week. If you wanted to have a quiet drink - not possible!! We were asked to leave at 9.30pm as they were closing the lounge bar and we had to take our drinks to the Drifter's Bar and listen to the NOISE. Changing rooms at pool need to be dried out more often. Very surprised that there were no recycling facilities. Took a boat trip to see the dolphins and were lucky enough to see them. One caught a salmon in its mouth and was along side the boat - Phoenix tours. Some of our party went to Fort George and thoroughly enjoyed it. There are fishing ponds up the Grantown on Spey road about 7/8 miles. We went for a look and while there a man caught a rainbow trout and a blue trout. Excellent ponds. It is definitely the entertainment that lets this site down. Not worth the £10 pass.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

we have just returned from a weeks holiday at Nairn lochloy we hired a caravan at a cost of £650 for the week , it was a disgrace inside , we bought cleaning materials ourselves and gave it a once over straight away even though it was supposed to have been cleaned for us , we had to wash cutlery , pots plates etc. the kettle was filthy , the windows looked like polythene and full of marks , surfaces were not cleaned correctly and the shower cubicle wanted condemning , we used the vacuum cleaner in the cupboard and all had to go outside and breath fresh air as it smelt rancid we just thanked heaven the bedding was clean . We have been to Lochloy many times in the last 30 years yet this time could be our last . Good bit is the beaches and surrounding areas are really lovely. Lochloy its time you replaced some of your caravans and get some proper cleaners who can do there job ..£650 was a rip off .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank davidnodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week at Lochloy, booked independently as I like to chose my exact caravan and deal with the owner directly much more personal and I was not disappointed, caravan was beautiful, had everything in it, a real home from home!

The site is well kept, the swingpark is ok but nothing special the site has a good layout for kids to go round on bikes etc although on roads drivers are very aware and drive carefully, there was a good atmosphere and everyone was friendly, there were kids playing in the park and round about after dark, but they were enjoying themselves are on holiday and their parents obviously felt they were safe enough

There were 5 of us, myself , partner and our 3 children aged 5,2 and 1. I paid for entertainment passes at £10 a head (not needed for 2yrs and under) the passes are only asked
for swimming, if you win the bingo and crazy golf (an extra £1 per head) The amusement room is small, roasting and wasn't up to
much. We only attended the night entertainment once..its ok but could do with updating but when our hyperactive son was brought back to us for the 3rd time for running around too much (despite one of us always watching him) we took our cue to leave, when we popped our head in to listen to the band rehersals the next day the entertainment mgr Said "oh he's back" (i think she was joking...) It was too loud to explain his behavioural issues. The restaurant looked disorganised and was pricey we considered eating there and waited around to be shown to a table but were ignored so we gave up! The pizza place is a joke 9.99 for a 10" margherita it had 1 girl serving who looked stressed, no menus (apparently they were on order) the place looked dirty (probably as the girl had no time to clean) we walked in and back out, as did others, the local takeaways deliver though. The shop was well stocked but expensive for some things and had souvenirs but rock didn't say nairn, 2 designs of postcards and 1 design of fridge magnet with "nairn" on (the children love bringing back gifts) there is a scotmid nearby though. The swimming pool is good, fun with plenty of floats, big mats, balls etc. The swimming band's are given out on the hour so they suggest you arrive 10mins early to queue as there are limited spaces and you get a 50min session, the changing rooms are dire, stale puddles of water everywhere, some doors don't lock, unclean around the edges! There's only 3 showers and nowhere to hang towels. There is a laundrette its £5 for a 20min warm wash and £2 for a 20min tumble dry (that still leaves your clothes damp) Some staff are friendly and helpful some, not as much.

The Beach on the site doorstep is gorgeous, and if you walk along a bit to the central beach there is a playpark, outside paddling pool and the shows were there at night (which my kids loved) Nairn town centre is about a 15min walk away from the site, the museum is worth a visit, the shops are nothing special. Inverness is an excellent city full of shops, pubs and places to eat and more things to
visit around there, but it is about a 25min drive away. Nairn harbour is nice,and we did go a nice walk along the river.

We did find that we had to drive at least 30mins to visit better attractions ie huge park, childrens
farm, boat trips, loch
Ness and indoor activities like 10pin bowling even to a decent supermarket and when it takes you several hours to get there and
back you can do with not driving so far around all
during the holiday but
there is not much to do in the site and nairn and direct surrounding areas, so to me I've been there and done it would not go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les_and_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

So if you had kids you would love the place. There is a cafè,restaurant,bar,arcade,pool,park,and a massive beach and sand dunes,
It's better if you rent a caravan beacuse there is only 3 tent pitches and they are to close together,..do not book it if you are looking for a relaxing and quiet place beacuse there is a lot of stuff to do and a lot of kids...ideal place for a family trip

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights camping in our own tent, check in was 2 o'clock however we arrived at 1 and were allowed to set up right away. There are only 3 tent pitches and they are on a bit of unused ground and a bit of an awkward shape. The tourer caravans are located just behind and the bathroom facilities just to the side. There was a bath with shower with toilet and another toilet. The beach is really close by and there is a lovely little harbour. A few minutes walk from the site is a large play park and big paddling pool. The site play park is located right beside the tent/touring pitches which was great of allowing our 9 year old son to play where we could keep an eye on him however some parents allowed their children to play until late into the night and of course the noise carried right into the tent. Reception staff were friendly, swimming is on the hour and you have to line up to get a band as they only allow a certain amount in, we had no problems going on the two occasions we went swimming. The changing area was covered in stale water and could do with some more frequent cleaning. We ate at the restaurant once, to be honest it was a little disorganised we walked in and no one came over, we actually thought it was closed my partner went up to ask and they said they were open and just to take a seat as they were restocking and organising after the rush, once seated we were seen to quickly and food was nice. My partner tried to get a coffee around half 8/9 in the morning but found the place closed. We got a takeaway from the pizza place the pizza was ok and we got a huge serving of wedges, the young girl in there was struggling under the pressure of doing it all herself and our order took about 15 mins longer than she said, she was however very apologetic. We didn't really use the entertainment we nipped in for one night but my son found it rather babyish for him and we didn't stay long. On our second night we went down to the beach and saw dolphins out in the water it was amazing to watch. The walk into Nairn town only takes about 5 mins but there isn't really anything there. There is a sainsbury's just 5 mins drive from the site. We had a lovely time and would go back however don't think could stay more than a couple of nights at least not camping anyway.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank angelkim100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Right next to a beautiful beach the campsite it's self is a bit dirty and tatty. We had booked the cheapest caravan as we had a dog with us but I would probably recommend paying a bit more for a better model as it was very old and tired and grubby.

The site is also ideally suited for exploring the area and its nice to be in walking distance of Nairn.

The low point was the restaurant. The older waitress was very rude and after having spent over £50 on drinks and food I was told to get my own condiments when I asked if I could have tomato ketchup - needless to say we wont be spending any more money in there when there are loads of good eateries within a stones throw of the park. However there was a young male waiter who couldn't do enough for his customers and was very clearly carrying the load of the old waitress who couldn't give a hoot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iluvtovisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My 8 year old son and I booked a tent pitch for 3 nights over the weekend. We have been several times before in a caravan and also tenting.
Lochloy offers the perfect place for families but here is a list of things to be aware of for those who have never been,
The cost of caravans are outrageous unless you have more than one adult paying
The site is incredibly noisy at midnight with drunks
The site is incredibly noisy at 7am with inconsiderate people
The kids play area is like the wild west at 10pm with no adults in sight (in bar)
The stage entertainment staff can only see the kids on the dance floor that are within 10 feet
The Pizza Place staff are truly awful and you will be ignored for up to 10 mins

All of the above does not really bother us and that is why we come back, now the good things
Nearly all the staff are very hard working and extremely polite
Great lounge for internet access
Kids love the evening entertainment
The best beach in Scotland is a stone throw away
Nairn is 5 mins walk away

Overall a great place if 2 families go and share a caravan at the far end of the site away from the noise and they can tolerate extremely bad parenting from a large number of parents.

Room Tip: Book a van away from the main reception so there are less people passing you at midnight in a drunke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KevinLaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
1.0 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
920 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#19 of 37 in Nairn
50 reviews
2.0 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#6 of 9 in Nairn
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park

Address: East Beach, Nairn IV12 5DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Nairn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's Beach O'Clock...Any time is beach time for our holiday guests at Nairn Lochloy, where you can step straight off the park, bare-footed, and onto golden sands. You'll find us nestled between the dunes, a pretty marina and a championship golf course (one of two!). So you might want to bring your clubs, along with your beach balls, buckets and spades. And don't forget your hiking boots - the glorious Highlands are waiting to be explored!* Step straight onto the Nairn East Beach * See the resident Moray Firth Dolphins * Invigorating walks along the Dava Way * Just 15 miles from the City of Inverness * Entertainment and Swimming Pool on park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing