We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose "The Darwin"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park
Halkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Choose "The Darwin"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The owners of The Darwin are a lovely couple who have anticipated your every need. My husband and I particularly enjoyed the "meet and greet" service, first class accommodations, welcome tray and the immaculate cleanliness. We appreciated the extra effort put into making us feel comfortable and warmly welcomed. Nairn is a wonderful area of Scotland for relaxing and taking a break from a hectic world. Thanks to Bill and Isabel for providing a perfect haven for finding peace and enjoying some leisure time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    80
    29
    16
    18
See reviews for
142
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Myself, husband, 2 kids,mother in law and sister in law stayed at nairn lochloy on a four night break in October 2013. We booked the Orkney 3 bed roomed caravan and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the van, the bedrooms were a sufficient enough size and clean through out. I did give the bathroom a once over as it looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the last campers! We arrived early for the 4pm check in but Fiona on reception did all she could to speed up the process and we got to check in at 2 so we were very pleased! The kids groups were really good for the children, there was something different everyday/night and the entertainers were exceptional with them. The drifters bar could be done with a bit of refurb and the tables felt like they hadn't been cleaned in a while, but generally we were impressed with the site. At the end of the day you get what you pay for and we never had high expectations.
We will definitely return to nairn next year, maybe when the summer returns as the beach is beautiful and the kids would easily spend all day there.
Overall a great holiday, if kids are happy then we are happy!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellbell2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberlour, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Spent long weekend at LochLoy last weekend and no real complaints, there was just the two of us and our caravan was clean and bed made up ready for us. Caravan had everything in it we needed, check in was good as we arrived early and caravan was ready, facilities were good, the shop was abit expensive but just a short walk up into Nairn, to sum it up a enjoyable short break made all that better with the great weather we had.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Staying here for a week. It's a great location but caravans are filthy and the club house isn't much better. We asked for the caravan to be re cleaned. In fact asked to be moved but the park was booked out that week so we have had to put up with it. Not great customer service. No money off just told to lump it basically.
The club house is also filthy. The ladies toilets are a disgrace. Absolutely stink and disgusting. Our son does enjoy the parkdean entertainment so big thumbs up for that.
Nairn is a lovely area to visit so we are really enjoying that aspect.
Previously stayed with parkdean at Tummel valley. Which was amazing. Clean, lovely caravans etc etc so if you want a great caravan holiday I while recommend there first.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnywanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here on a Monday to Friday break. Park is easy to find and within walking distance of the town centre. Caravan was fine for the two of us, although kitchen area was a bit on the small side (I like to cook). Only real criticism I could make of the caravan was that they could do with a large bin outside for rubbish. Caravan was double glazed and central heated throughout.

Entertainment complex wasn't that great. We do a lot of caravan breaks and I would say that this was our least favourite entertainment complex (probably why we rarely used it). Chairs were very uncomfortable and the place just lacked any real atmosphere.

Instead we opted to spend our evenings in the Bandstand bar at the Braeval hotel. As a real ale fan I loved this place and the food was very good.

We would definitely stay here again as this is a lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank killiealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillicoultry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

this was my family fourth visit to parkdean nairn and we were not disappointed. the caravan was fantastic clean bed linen perfect. the site is always very clean and tidy. staff cant do enough for you. the beach is fantastic and right at ghe caravan park. no roads to cross onlt a two min walk from caravans. i would tell anyone to come here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Myself, my partner and my 2.5 year old came to Nairn for a week and stayed in a caravan at Lochloy.

The location of the park could not be better, seconds from a lovely beach and out of town but not too far that it's not easy to walk in.

The caravan it's self we couldn't fault either. Living area and kitchen spacious and fully equipped. Bedrooms and bathroom small but perfectly function able and the whole caravan was spotless. Heating system was also good as we stayed over some frosty nights!

We didn't use the evening entertainment as after a full days walking/swimming/playing we were always ready for a chilled night in! But I did take my daughter to the "Tots Club" (up to age 4) a few times. We were evidently here on a quiet week as a couple if times we were the only ones who attended! Full credit to the park "troupers" though who made us feel very welcome and put full effort into trying to entertain my rather uncooperative small person.


The swimming pool itself was very nice, warm and clean with lots of floats. It was very quiet when we were there but I can imagine it might be pandemonium in the busy season. As other reviews have stated, the changing rooms are in serious need of some work, they were dingy and freezing! They really let the pool down.

We used the restaurant a lot as it was very convenient for us. We found the food to be lovely and fairly reasonable. There are also some lovely cafés and lots of takeaways in Nairn. The on site pizza shop was a huge let down, use the local takeaways if you are looking for a good pizza!

The play park is nothing special but was adequate for the needs of my toddler, maybe not as exciting for older children.

Overall the site and facilities are really good, especially if you have children. A few small adjustments needed but a good holiday had by all three of us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ModernGirl2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
1.4 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
18.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park
Address: East Beach, Nairn IV12 5DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Nairn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's Beach O'Clock...Any time is beach time for our holiday guests at Nairn Lochloy, where you can step straight off the park, bare-footed, and onto golden sands. You'll find us nestled between the dunes, a pretty marina and a championship golf course (one of two!). So you might want to bring your clubs, along with your beach balls, buckets and spades. And don't forget your hiking boots - the glorious Highlands are waiting to be explored!* Step straight onto the Nairn East Beach * See the resident Moray Firth Dolphins * Invigorating walks along the Dava Way * Just 15 miles from the City of Inverness * Entertainment and Swimming Pool on park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing