We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just returned today from a week in a touring caravan. Lovely site, good facilities, helpful and friendly staff, but most importantly, and the main reason we go, the kids loved it. Good playpark and safe. Huge hats of to the ultimate heroes for us, Kevin, Karla, Liz and Lisa (not forgetting Sid and Lizzie too). Yes, there are bits that could be better, but it's the start of the season and they were minor, just give yourself plenty of time if dining in the restaurant. That said, next holiday booked already, roll on.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    82
    31
    16
    18
See reviews for
148
48
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend with our 2 daughters aged 5 and 7. A great time was had by all. The girls loved the entertainment/disco/games and the startroopers were very engaging. Well done Kevin, Carla and Liz, and ofcourse Sid and Lizzy too. We ate in the restaurant the 1st night and it was lovely, staff really good with the kids, reasonably priced as well, which was a suprise, the Nisa store wasnt too bad priced for an onsite shop but felt it could have been open a bit later. On prices I felt it was a bit expensive to charge £5 for a smallish tub of sweets! Caravan clean and very warm and cosy. Swimming pool was very busy and we only managed 20 mins in it.
We had visited this park around 5 years ago and to be honest didnt think much of the park then, very run down, and only booked here to use as a base. Was very impressed with the refurb! Such a lovely park now, really modern looking and will definitely come back. Not very many amusements in the arcade section but to be honest that was a bit of a godsend, a small fortune can be spent in those places. Thought the book lending for the kids was a nice touch. Nairn itself is a lovely wee town and not touristy at all. As I said we hope to make a return visit at some point, well done Nairn Lochloy!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenandfamontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for the weekend. Great location, easy to find. Nice looking caravans. Check in was easy.

Our caravan seemed clean but we started to see dog hairs all over it after a while. I've nothing against dogs but don't think people WITHOUT dogs should EVER be put in caravans that have previously had dogs. BIG no no no for me! My daughter needed an inhaler for the first time in around 12 months and I'd put it down to this! Disgusting in my opinion!

The kitchen equipment all needed washed before use but the bedding and toilet were clean and a member of staff did ask if we were happy.
Kettle switched itself on which is pretty dangerous! This was reported.

Our caravan was right next to the main building/park. Unsuitable for young kids as the music went on all night keeping them awake!
The play park was really good but too small for a site with this amount of caravans. Was always busy from 7am-10pm! Too noisy for us being right next to it.
£1 for crazy golf?! Rip off. Surely can be included in package prices!

The swimming pool was TINY. Fits 36 (apparently) not great when there are that amount of people wanting to use it. Was seriously unimpressed with the 'hour time slot, que to use' policy. The pool was open something like 9am-6pm. These hours are pretty pathetic in my opinion and that policy is not getting the best use out of the pool facility. This was a selling point for us & we didn't even get to use it once! Not happy with that at all.
In the rain with nothing open on site until 9/10am this is not a great park to be on at all with bored kids! A lot of adult only sessions on the pool timetable also, not well thought out in my opinion. This needs improved!

Used the resturaunt once, the prices were very reasonable and menu choices pretty good..... until you tried to order and it was all sold out. After waiting over an hour and watching other people order, eat, pay & leave I asked for a manager. Service appaulingly slow. Food average. Would not recommend. It wasn't even busy! Would hate to see it busy! To be fair the manager was appologetic and listened to my comments.

Didn't use any entertainment so can't comment on that.

Could be so much better than it is right now.
Would maybe recommend as a 'base' in the area (which it really was for us) but not as a 'holiday'

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank okiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife had always wanted to go to Scotland with our two boys aged 10 & 12 for her birthday, so we booked using the Sun £9.50 holiday promotion. We were late in booking so didn't know when we would he reception was easy to find, and the staff were very friendly and took tine to explain everything we needed to know. We were told where to find our caravan where the keys would be inside it waiting for us.

There were many positives about our stay. I was pleasantly surprised with the caravan. I hadn't been in a caravan since a child 30 years ago! It was bigger than I was expecting, and much nicer too. Well equipped with just about everything we would need for our four night stay, and very clean and tidy. It had wonderful central heating as well as a fireplace (this was needed as it snowed whilst we were there!) and it wasn't on a meter which was a lovely bonus. A lovely shower too, so no trips to a shower block here :)

The caravan site is situated a stones throw (literally!) from the beach. This would have been lovely had we be staying when it was warmer weather, but we still made use if it for early morning walks around the bay. Because you are in Scotland, you will need a car to go anywhere or do anything except walk into Nairn, a lovely small town.

The indoor swimming pool is small (holds about 20 people but looks much bigger in the photos on their web site) so this could be an issue during busy periods, but the site was almost disserted during March so we were able to make full use of it almost whenever we wanted. Watch out for when it is reserved for special activities and closed to everyone else. My boys were disappointed on our last attempt, even though there was no-one in there!

The on site shop is exactly what you'd expect on a holiday site. It was a fair size with a good selection, but predictably overpriced on everything. I would recommend planning ahead and getting what you need whilst your out and about. There are several supermarkets in nearby towns.

Due to the time of year, there wasn't many people staying at the site, and this had a big impact on the entertainment provided. We tried on three occasions to go to the evening entertainment but, on walking into the main hall, turned around and went back to our caravan as there was almost nobody there! I felt sorry for one of the staff who was singing her heart out in front of half a dozen people, but it was too embarrassing to stay, especially for the DJ who was to follow! This was all quite disappointing as we had paid the extra £16 for the Entertainment Plus Passes for our stay that never got used. A complete waste of money :( but at least we had a TV in the caravan to watch instead.

What the passes don't cover is the outdoor activities, such as crazy golf. This was a bit of a shock to us when we went to play, but paid the extra anyway. However, don't expect anything special here. The 'course' is just a square with some very basic removable obstacles to get around. A bit a of stretch to call it crazy golf, and not worth the extra money that was asked for.

We didn't use the bar or restaurant at all, so can't comment on them.

Overall a lovely stay. We would love to go back again in a few years, but not just yet as we did everything in the area we could find (stay away from the Loch Ness tourist places. Not worth the expensive entrance fee) so need to give it a break for a bit. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday away from it all then I would recommend Parkdean in Nairn.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDSgroover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Been up to this Parkdean site in Nairn at least a dozen times as a friend lets me use their caravan when I go up to visit relatives up in Moray.
This site is just off the A96 which is the Aberdeen to Inverness road.
The clubhouse has a bar which serves the usual bar food
Amusements, and the main lounge which houses the entertainment
There is a small swimming pool too.

I'm not going to revue all these individually ....they are all bog standard .
Nothing on his site is great IMHO
The whole site has hardly had a lick of paint in the last 5 years let alone the refurbishment it desperately needs

The moray firth beach on the sites doorstep tho just about makes up for all these shortfalls.
It is fantastic!,
Miles of glorious white sand...with hardly a soul as far as the eye can see.Bliss!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank garyfromscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

The owners of The Darwin are a lovely couple who have anticipated your every need. My husband and I particularly enjoyed the "meet and greet" service, first class accommodations, welcome tray and the immaculate cleanliness. We appreciated the extra effort put into making us feel comfortable and warmly welcomed. Nairn is a wonderful area of Scotland for relaxing and taking a break from a hectic world. Thanks to Bill and Isabel for providing a perfect haven for finding peace and enjoying some leisure time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Myself, husband, 2 kids,mother in law and sister in law stayed at nairn lochloy on a four night break in October 2013. We booked the Orkney 3 bed roomed caravan and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the van, the bedrooms were a sufficient enough size and clean through out. I did give the bathroom a once over as it looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the last campers! We arrived early for the 4pm check in but Fiona on reception did all she could to speed up the process and we got to check in at 2 so we were very pleased! The kids groups were really good for the children, there was something different everyday/night and the entertainers were exceptional with them. The drifters bar could be done with a bit of refurb and the tables felt like they hadn't been cleaned in a while, but generally we were impressed with the site. At the end of the day you get what you pay for and we never had high expectations.
We will definitely return to nairn next year, maybe when the summer returns as the beach is beautiful and the kids would easily spend all day there.
Overall a great holiday, if kids are happy then we are happy!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellbell2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
1.1 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park
Address: East Beach, Nairn IV12 5DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Nairn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's Beach O'Clock...Any time is beach time for our holiday guests at Nairn Lochloy, where you can step straight off the park, bare-footed, and onto golden sands. You'll find us nestled between the dunes, a pretty marina and a championship golf course (one of two!). So you might want to bring your clubs, along with your beach balls, buckets and spades. And don't forget your hiking boots - the glorious Highlands are waiting to be explored!* Step straight onto the Nairn East Beach * See the resident Moray Firth Dolphins * Invigorating walks along the Dava Way * Just 15 miles from the City of Inverness * Entertainment and Swimming Pool on park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing