We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touring pitches”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Touring pitches”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Facilities for tourers, motorhomes and tents are inadequate. The 10 touring pitches are adjacent to a busy road, with the children's playground on one side of the pitches and the toilets and rubbish bins on the other side. The pitches are far too small, not adequately surfaced and with insufficient distance between pitches to either use outside space or enjoy any privacy at all. There is only one over bath shower provided in both the ladies and gents, plus one other toilet. During our stay they were not cleaned at all between Saturday and Tuesday, though they were cleaned after that. The standard of them is dreadful. The lighting is very poor in both ladies and gents, and the only hand dryer in the ladies was not working throughout our weeks stay. Completely spoiled our holiday, and this provision should be scrapped.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Nairn Lochloy.

We are sorry to read of your disappointment and appreciate you taking the time to share your views.

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    87
    34
    17
    18
See reviews for
163
52
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom caravan and arrived on Friday for a 3 night break. On arrival into the caravan, the smell inside was pretty bad! We started looking around and straight away noticed there was dried in food, jam and crumbs on the kitchen worktops. We checked the bathroom and much to our horror we were greeted with a urine stained toilet seat and pubic hairs underneath the seat. We then checked the bedrooms and found the bedding was covered in what looked like dog hairs (this was supposed to be a pet free caravan) We went straight to reception to complain and the girl we spoke to couldn't have been nicer and got a cleaner to go and sort out the complaints we had. We were told after an hour they had sorted it so we went back and they had cleaned the areas of concern. By this time we were just grateful to be finally starting our holiday but on closer inspection the floors were absolutely filthy and the walls were covered in stains which appeared to be years old. The carpets and sofas were covered in dog hairs and some of the window screens were torn. We were so disgusted we went to the local Sainsburys and bought cleaning materials and even our own bowls, plates, cups and cutlery as we just didn't want to look at was was supplied in the caravan and felt it would have been dirty anyway. We went to the on site restaurant where the service was very slow and the waitress made you feel quite unwelcome. For the next 2 days we left the caravan first thing in the morning and didn't return until evening as we felt so uncomfortable there, this was tiring due to not getting much sleep thanks to the loud mouth drunks wondering about the park at all hours and the fact that you could feel every spring in the matress. In an attempt to keep the caravan tidy we decided to use the vacum cleaner provided in the cupboard to vacum up some crumbs, we had it on for 1 minute and had to switch it off due to the rancid smell coming from it. it's safe to say we won't be back and has put us off caravan holidays for life. What a disgrace and rip off!

Room Tip: Don't book here unless you like dirt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Raye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your comments, If you could please send your details to tripadvisorservice@parkdean.com with a suitable time for us to contact you.

Kind regards,

Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This site is mainly statics, 100`s of them, the facilities for tourers, motorhomes and tents can only be described as poor.

They don't tell you is the tent pitches (only three of them) are on a public road, NEXT TO THE BINS and what looked on to the water/sewage.....where people recycle every five mins. The pitch itself was filthy with cigarette ends and gravel and stones to lie on!!

There is only one toilet for each sex and they are sadly lacking, one over bath shower in each, the 2 days we were there they were freezing, bath was scummy, not nice. No loo roll!!

Very expensive for campers to pitch up. I wouldn't go back to camp.

On site facilities were reasonable pool for the kids, but they could only stop in for an hour before they had to get out.

The outdoor Park was Fab.

Food in Bar and Restaurant was good.
Overall if it hadn't been for the friendly staff and entertainment for the children then it would have been a shambles!! NOT FOR CAMPERS!

The local area is outstanding, we enjoyed the beach which has miles of golden sand.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your honest review.

We are sorry we didn't get all aspects of your stay right but appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed the facilities.

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we used this park as a base to see the highlands and experience this part of scotland. the location is stunning with the adjacent beach and very convenient for inverness and main roads. the caravan was clean, well specced and comfortable. the kids loved the evening entertainment and the pool was good. the reception area and bar etc looks a little dated and the restaurant wasn't great-but that's not why we were there. it was a superb summer holiday location and i'd go again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danandesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for your review.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we must admit, the location is brilliant :)

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Me and my SO stayed here for 3 nights in June, using the site as a base for some drives and walks into the highlands / Cairngorms. We decided on the site because I had fond memories of it from the early 2000's as a child. I was pleased to see that the site had maintained its charm, despite being ran by a different organisation.

The on-site restaurant is very nice, beach access is excellent as is access to the nearby Culbin Forest. On site entertainment was fun but by no means full to capacity however I guess it would be in peak season. The caravans are what you expect from caravans, basic but fit for purpose. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your comments.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and are pleased you chose to visit us again.

We hope you enjoyed exploring in the nearby areas and hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed on site for 3 days in late June, we had to come to Nairn for a funeral and so our booking was a bit last minute, I had previously stayed on the site back in 2000 on a family holiday as a child, so decided to take the plunge and book a caravan holiday!

We had originally booked the Shetland caravan, however when we checked in it was the Harris caravan we were in! To be fair I think the new caravan was a bit bigger than our original booking. The caravan was spotless! So 5* to the cleaning team, we booked a dog friendly caravan so did expect a bit of dog hair or a bit of sand walked in from the beach but it was spotless, my only issue with the caravan was the toilet was RIDICULOUS! It honestly was the smallest toilet I have seen in my life (bathroom and toilet were separate), now I consider myself a normal size woman and I could hardly move in their, I have no idea how you would cope if you had to help a toddler use the toilet or if you had mobility issues and needed a bit of extra room!

This really is an ideal spot for young families, it's so close to the beach and entertainment on site is all family friendly. The town of Nairn is sadly not as busy as I remember with a few shops boarded up, there's not many places to eat but the Indian on the high street (Royal Bengal) was lovely and the staff were friendly. Inverness is great for shopping and The Filling Station restaurant near the train station was brilliant, very good food and again lovely staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from Friday to Monday on a National News Paper cheap brake. The caravan park was busy but the reception people couldn't be more helpful. The Caravan it's self was stunning, Immaculate in every way ,every appliance you need. The club on site served meals that were a little disappointing in proportion to what you were paying but Nairn has plenty places to eat. Unless you have unruly children that run allover the place I wouldn't by a pass for the club as some parents would happily let their's run about till closing time even when it's adults entertainment on. Barking dogs is another feature in this park from early morning till late on. But the worst was small children running up and down the caravan thumping at all hours being ignored by their parents. As a base for exploring the Highlands it's great but remember the caravans are not sound proof.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thanks for sharing your honest review of Nairn Lochloy.

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
1.1 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
863 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#20 of 38 in Nairn
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park
Address: East Beach, Nairn IV12 5DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Nairn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's Beach O'Clock...Any time is beach time for our holiday guests at Nairn Lochloy, where you can step straight off the park, bare-footed, and onto golden sands. You'll find us nestled between the dunes, a pretty marina and a championship golf course (one of two!). So you might want to bring your clubs, along with your beach balls, buckets and spades. And don't forget your hiking boots - the glorious Highlands are waiting to be explored!* Step straight onto the Nairn East Beach * See the resident Moray Firth Dolphins * Invigorating walks along the Dava Way * Just 15 miles from the City of Inverness * Entertainment and Swimming Pool on park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing