We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all rounder”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good all rounder”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Early check in, caravan was clean and tidy and fully equipped. The site generally seemed clean and pleasant enough. Not loads of things to do on site. Evening entertainment was ok. Pool was small, there was absolutely no possibility of swimming in it as it just isn't big enough when more than about 20 people are in it, was very chlorine heavy as well.

Nairn itself is pretty good, with a couple of good places to eat. (The Classroom was lovely), and surprisingling for a small village it has quite a few places to get a drink.

The beach is lovely, long and clean, and a lovely splash pool for the kids to enjoy.

I would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena528795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks for your review, we're pleased to hear you'd visit us again and we hope to welcome you back soon :)

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    91
    35
    18
    18
See reviews for
172
52
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Thank god we only had to endure this park for one night with our tourer caravan the on site facilties were disgusting. the toilets were filthy 1 toilet and one disabled toilet and one sink in the bathroom for the ladies shocking for the tents and caravans /motor homes that had to use it .ques in the morning .waste disposal was rancid toilet waste all over clearly not been cleaned from previous day ie not checked ., as the tourer pitches was at the entrance near the play park .The cars was so dangerous they did not care their were young children around due to their speed .constantly in and out so if u r looking for safe place for your children to play this is not the place for young children .plus point fir older children yes the play park may be handy ... inside the restraunt had to wait an hour for a breakfast rollx 2 and some toast .The poor waitress was rushed off her feet trying to do the job of 3 ppl as thir clearly their wad staffing issues . their was only 2 ppl trying to run the restraunt at breakfast. shambles .I won't be staying hear again especially being charged 37 pound a night. been to allot nicer places for much less money and with much cleaner pitches and facilities will be looking for a mutch more suitable park for me and my 3 children as I dont b think we could cope with this more than one night and day like we did .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank hevs16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for your honest review of Nairn Lochloy.

We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your experience with us and value your comments. We have shared your review with our Management Team at Nairn Lochloy to be aware of.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Facilities for tourers, motorhomes and tents are inadequate. The 10 touring pitches are adjacent to a busy road, with the children's playground on one side of the pitches and the toilets and rubbish bins on the other side. The pitches are far too small, not adequately surfaced and with insufficient distance between pitches to either use outside space or enjoy any privacy at all. There is only one over bath shower provided in both the ladies and gents, plus one other toilet. During our stay they were not cleaned at all between Saturday and Tuesday, though they were cleaned after that. The standard of them is dreadful. The lighting is very poor in both ladies and gents, and the only hand dryer in the ladies was not working throughout our weeks stay. Completely spoiled our holiday, and this provision should be scrapped.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Nairn Lochloy.

We are sorry to read of your disappointment and appreciate you taking the time to share your views.

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom caravan and arrived on Friday for a 3 night break. On arrival into the caravan, the smell inside was pretty bad! We started looking around and straight away noticed there was dried in food, jam and crumbs on the kitchen worktops. We checked the bathroom and much to our horror we were greeted with a urine stained toilet seat and pubic hairs underneath the seat. We then checked the bedrooms and found the bedding was covered in what looked like dog hairs (this was supposed to be a pet free caravan) We went straight to reception to complain and the girl we spoke to couldn't have been nicer and got a cleaner to go and sort out the complaints we had. We were told after an hour they had sorted it so we went back and they had cleaned the areas of concern. By this time we were just grateful to be finally starting our holiday but on closer inspection the floors were absolutely filthy and the walls were covered in stains which appeared to be years old. The carpets and sofas were covered in dog hairs and some of the window screens were torn. We were so disgusted we went to the local Sainsburys and bought cleaning materials and even our own bowls, plates, cups and cutlery as we just didn't want to look at was was supplied in the caravan and felt it would have been dirty anyway. We went to the on site restaurant where the service was very slow and the waitress made you feel quite unwelcome. For the next 2 days we left the caravan first thing in the morning and didn't return until evening as we felt so uncomfortable there, this was tiring due to not getting much sleep thanks to the loud mouth drunks wondering about the park at all hours and the fact that you could feel every spring in the matress. In an attempt to keep the caravan tidy we decided to use the vacum cleaner provided in the cupboard to vacum up some crumbs, we had it on for 1 minute and had to switch it off due to the rancid smell coming from it. it's safe to say we won't be back and has put us off caravan holidays for life. What a disgrace and rip off!

Room Tip: Don't book here unless you like dirt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Raye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you regarding your comments, If you could please send your details to tripadvisorservice@parkdean.com with a suitable time for us to contact you.

Kind regards,

Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This site is mainly statics, 100`s of them, the facilities for tourers, motorhomes and tents can only be described as poor.

They don't tell you is the tent pitches (only three of them) are on a public road, NEXT TO THE BINS and what looked on to the water/sewage.....where people recycle every five mins. The pitch itself was filthy with cigarette ends and gravel and stones to lie on!!

There is only one toilet for each sex and they are sadly lacking, one over bath shower in each, the 2 days we were there they were freezing, bath was scummy, not nice. No loo roll!!

Very expensive for campers to pitch up. I wouldn't go back to camp.

On site facilities were reasonable pool for the kids, but they could only stop in for an hour before they had to get out.

The outdoor Park was Fab.

Food in Bar and Restaurant was good.
Overall if it hadn't been for the friendly staff and entertainment for the children then it would have been a shambles!! NOT FOR CAMPERS!

The local area is outstanding, we enjoyed the beach which has miles of golden sand.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your honest review.

We are sorry we didn't get all aspects of your stay right but appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed the facilities.

Kind regards,
Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we used this park as a base to see the highlands and experience this part of scotland. the location is stunning with the adjacent beach and very convenient for inverness and main roads. the caravan was clean, well specced and comfortable. the kids loved the evening entertainment and the pool was good. the reception area and bar etc looks a little dated and the restaurant wasn't great-but that's not why we were there. it was a superb summer holiday location and i'd go again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danandesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for your review.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we must admit, the location is brilliant :)

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Me and my SO stayed here for 3 nights in June, using the site as a base for some drives and walks into the highlands / Cairngorms. We decided on the site because I had fond memories of it from the early 2000's as a child. I was pleased to see that the site had maintained its charm, despite being ran by a different organisation.

The on-site restaurant is very nice, beach access is excellent as is access to the nearby Culbin Forest. On site entertainment was fun but by no means full to capacity however I guess it would be in peak season. The caravans are what you expect from caravans, basic but fit for purpose. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevon M, Manager at Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your comments.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and are pleased you chose to visit us again.

We hope you enjoyed exploring in the nearby areas and hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Chevon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
1.1 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
875 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#23 of 37 in Nairn
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park
Address: East Beach, Nairn IV12 5DE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Nairn
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's Beach O'Clock...Any time is beach time for our holiday guests at Nairn Lochloy, where you can step straight off the park, bare-footed, and onto golden sands. You'll find us nestled between the dunes, a pretty marina and a championship golf course (one of two!). So you might want to bring your clubs, along with your beach balls, buckets and spades. And don't forget your hiking boots - the glorious Highlands are waiting to be explored!* Step straight onto the Nairn East Beach * See the resident Moray Firth Dolphins * Invigorating walks along the Dava Way * Just 15 miles from the City of Inverness * Entertainment and Swimming Pool on park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkdean - Nairn Lochloy Holiday Park Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing