We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Caledonian Bar

The Caledonian Bar
Ranked #38 of 48 Restaurants in Nairn
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Serves Alcohol
Holytown, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Pleasant Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Went in for a bar meal with friends the waiter was exceptionally pleasant young man who delivered a reasonably priced menu The food was good and the beer was good . The place is a little dark and a little tired

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have visited here often for lunch as it is one of the few places open after 2pm in nairn for a.proper meal. However everytime I am dissapointed. We arrive to a.quiet bar yet rhe staff are ALWAYS stressed and rushing or moaning the place is often empty yet all tables are full of dishes. We have often had to wait up to 45 mins to recive a greesy or undercooked meal. The young male chef we discovedered seemen very unexperianced and we would pourposly avoid going on days he.was in the kitchen however he wasnt a good bar man either. We have.given this place chance after chance yet it has not improved and thus will never be returning again and would definitely not recommend anyone else to visit either

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
10 Thank jsmilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

not gd , sunday afternoon food is relaxed not greasy and lazy, really should have kept walking,was there on a friends recommendation , salad unwashed and prep'd .Dont butter a burger bun (cardinal mistake as it adds more grease) tbh to many schoolboy errors to even consider a return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
14 Thank dave186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great meal and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great place for a quiet meal and drink, very friendly service. Hotel very clean. Will def visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Caledonian Bar also viewed

Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
Nairn, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Caledonian Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing