We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and close to Sea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunny Brae Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and close to Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Enjoyed our stay, particularly the breakfasts. Staff were very pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David191266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
83
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our room was clean and comfortable with sea view, bathroom only had shower but it was clean and bath robes were available. Dinner was good if a little pricy (2 courses £24-3courses£30), breakfast was good as was the service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghislaine334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We went to this hotels wonderful restaurant for my birthday. Service was impeccable. Amazing whiskey list tempts one in the lounge before they call you to table with the first course. Chef offers variety of creative specialties. I had pheasant, my wife selected venison. Each was presented to please the eye as well as the palate. Wine list offered selections from moderate to high end. This was a meal to be savored. The owner/manager even offered a second whisky for the birthday evening.
The prefixed menu offered three courses for 30£ and worth the lovely evening.
All the staff were very attentive. I recommend the restaurant for your quality dining evening

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HEC140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We decided to have a golf break in Scotland & the Sunny Brae was recommended by friends.

Although not the sort of hotel we normally go for (we tend to use hotels with leisure facilities etc) the welcome was very friendly. The hotel is family run,front of house are father son team Ian & John, who are very professional and helpful. John was especially good re wines for dinner.

The chef is the mother, Sylvia and what a chef she is, the food was absolutely fantastic and would put many 5* hotels to shame.

The breakfast was also as good as you could get anywhere.

All the staff were very nice, especially the two young waitresses Kirsty & Nicole.

Rooms were a little dated but very clean and reasonably comfortable. The view from our room was lovely, looking out on to the Moray Firth.....................

The location is excellent if you want to visit places like Aviemore, Loch Ness etc, as well as the many things to do along the east coat of Scotland................................

Nairn has 2 top class golf courses, Nairn itself & Nairn Dunbar. If you are going to play Nairn then you had better bring your A game, it is a beast of a course running alongside Moray Firth.

I would certainly recommend this hotel, and if you cannot get in but are staying elsewhere locally then make sure you book in for dinner, you will not be disappointed. They also have an excellent & extensive, if slightly expensive wine list.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timjoe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda2010
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I highly recommend this lovely small hotel in pretty Nairn.
The hotel is directly across from the beach and has beautiful views. The decor was lovely and the room had thoughtful touches like quality toiletries, fruit, ironing board, hot water kettle.
The dining room was elegant and romantic , but not stuffy at all. The food was truly 1st class, frankly we were shocked to find such nicely presented and prepared top drawer food in Nairn (we are picky NYers)! The other diners were also very pleased with their meals.
Enjoy this gem of a hotel and restaurant, we would love to come back!

Room Tip: Ask if a seaview is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NY-traveler63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamphire, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We didn't stay at Sunny Brae but it was recommended by a local to go eat there - so we did. It's a very sweet hotel with great views over the Moray Firth and with lovely, friendly staff. The dining room is at the back of the hotel, so has no views of the Firth. It's all a little formal, although in no way unfriendly or intimidating. We both started with the smoked salmon, which was the best we tasted during our tour of the HIghlands, and then moved onto a lamb braise. Most of the mains were braises or similar, so a bit more choice would have been nice, but it was tasty although not a gastronomic experience. We would recommend Sunny Brae's restaurant, but perhaps not as our first choice of dining in Nairn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 592 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Anyone who is influenced by the content of Sunny Brae's website and subsequently makes a booking will find that what it says is what they get.

It promises a great location, peace and quiet and a high standard of accommodation, and lives up to its promise.

We had the Master Seaview Bedroom (well worth the extra) which was exactly as described, and more. Spacious and airy, and with a nice little sitting area with two chairs at window number 2.

And the large bathroom, while not boasting a power shower but one that was adequate, had huge good quality bath sheets and hand towels.

Since its website gives a comprehensive description there is little need to say more, other than that the first visit may well not be the last!

Room Tip: When booking try first for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.9 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Brae Hotel

Property: Sunny Brae Hotel
Address: Marine Road, Nairn IV12 4EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairn
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Brae Hotel is a small family run hotel with beautiful views over the Moray Firth. The restaurant offers delightful modern European style food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Brae
Sunny Brae Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing