We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our very first hotel in Scotland 7 years ago ...”
Review of Sunny Brae

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Brae
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2012

and we returned 4 times, always for 3 or 4 nights, we cannot get enough of it. Sunny Brae is a cosy hotel. From Newcastle to Nairn is a long drive, but we forget the fatigue after a warm welcome and tea on arrival; rooms are tastefully decorated, meals and wines are of high quality. Ian, his son and wife and the entire staff are charming and discreet people, they are professionals and run the hotel in an excellent way. From Nairn one can explore so many interesting and stunning locations in the neighbourhood and further on, we can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

Spent two nights as part of a golf tour in the area. Friendly welcome, knowledgeable hosts and spotless accommodation. Food remains of a high standard (we had dined here previously) and the wine list is first class and well priced. I recommend trying some of the different gins too!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank AndrewT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Staying at this hotel is a pleasure: a well decorated and equipped room, spotlessly clean (as was the whole hotel) and in our case, with an open view across the Moray Firth to the mountains of Sutherland- as had the comfortable lounge/conservatory. Food was fresh and local, beautifully cooked and presented. There was an excellent selection of wines fully explained to us by the knowledgeable owner. We would come again and stay longer.

Room Tip: We had a room (attractively adapted for wheelchair user) on the ground floor at the front and very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have just spent 4 days at this establishment and cannot rate it highly enough. The staff are very attentive without being intrusive, and they have a wealth of knowledge that guests can tap into to enhance their trip. They also have wifi which is a big plus. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to all ages. The view of Nairn beach from the hotel is stunning

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We found the hotel really easily after a short pleasant walk from the train station. Warm welcome from Ian the owner on our arrival carrying one of our bags to the room and explaining where everything was to us.
A very pleasant afternoon tea in the comfortable conservatory followed looking out on the excellent views over the Moray Firth. Ian was helpful and knowledgeable on the local area.
Dinner was a very pleasant experience with exceptional service. Highly recommend eating there at least once during your stay. Rooms were well appointed and comfortable with small luxuries to add to the experience.
Only thing to note is the door is extremely stiff once locked at night but even then Ian helpfully came to let us in. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charmedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed here after participating in the Coast to Coast race. The hotel is centrally located and close to the beach. The room was very nice, staff friendly and helpful, dinner and breakfast we ate was very good. We highly recommend this fine little hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamiltonSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Stayed here for one night on route home from our holiday. We were given a free upgrade to the superior room which was very comfortable with a chaise longue and small separate seating area all overlooking the Moray Firth. There was an excellent array of toiletries,dressing gowns,fruit and bottled water provided. Dinner was very good with an excellent menu and large variety of wines and whiskies. Breakfast was also very good with lots of choice along with the same attentive service as at dinner. Overall, it was a very enjoyable visit to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roselimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.4 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Brae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Brae

Address: Marine Road, Nairn IV12 4EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: £88 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Brae 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Brae is a family run bed and breakfast. We have eight bedrooms and are centrally located with wonderful views of the Moray Firth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Atrapalo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunny Brae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Brae
Sunny Brae Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing