We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its can't be all about the wine list, but that really helps.”
Review of Sunny Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunny Brae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Its can't be all about the wine list, but that really helps.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Sunny Brae hotel has a wonderful view overlooking the beach with off-road parking and is a convenient base for both walks and exploring the local area. The rooms are best described as cosy, are well appointed and spotlessly clean.

However, the food and especially the wine list are top class. The service (nearly all family members) is faultless and I simply cannot recommend hotel highly enough.

I could carry on about their cocktails, selection of whisky and brandies...........but won't spoil the surprise if you're lucky enough to get a room as they rarely have vacancies you can have that experience to look forward to.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
84
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed two days in August 2013. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. They provde an excellent laundry service for reasonable cost. The meals, breakfast and dinner, were wonderful and varied to suit differing tastes. You can walk across the street and down tothebeach,
the harbor and see dolphins. Ian and John were very helpful with information and questions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraS9152013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel in august. Our room was delightful with large picture windows framing the view of the park and sea. Spotlessly clean, with superbly comfortable bed.
Dinner and breakfast were wonderful. The dinner menu offered some classic dishes together with lighter offerings. Ian offers an excellent wine list as is very knowledgeable, and is happy to discuss the offerings. It was great to see the large array of superb jams and marmalade that were produced locally .. Service was impeccable. Ian,s wife does all the cooking and is an extremely talented cook. This hotel is amazing value, and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great base in this part of Scotland who enjoys wonderful meals and hospitality.

Room Tip: Pay the small extra amount for the larger seaview rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Telephoned to check last minute availability, very helpful and accommodated our party of 4 men, fathers and sons on motorbikes!, we were given a warm welcome even though we had arrived quite late in the day. Really disappointed we didnt get chance to have dinner, the menu looked great, maybe next time!
Had a brilliant nights sleep in extremely comfy beds, and fab breakfast to set us on our journey.
Thank you
Richard, David, Jack and Porky from Troon and the Scottish Borders

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Had a delightful stay here recently which was all too brief.

As many have commented before the warmth of welcome is exceptional and the hotel is superbly appointed for the price.

Breakfast is also a delight with high quality ingredients and cooking. I loved the Smoked Haddock and Poached Egg. Perfectly cooked and large!

We were very fortunate that the weather also allowed us to sit out in the well maintained garden.

Simply a gem!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This small hotel, overlooking the beach in Nairn is superb! From the minute we arrived we received a warm and friendly welcome. Our room was fantastic - wonderful view, spotlessly clean, roomy and with all the amenities you would expect. The food was perfect and nothing was too much trouble for Ian and John - the two family members who made our stay so great.

Room Tip: The master sea view rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Warmly greeted by hotel staff who helped us carry heavy luggage to our room. Room spacious, beds comfortable and bathroom spotlessly clean. Great view over the bay. Breakfast was top quality. Huge choice of cooked options and great selection of fresh and dried fruits/nuts/seeds and cereals. Extra delicious croissants with an impressive selection of jams. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Nairn.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairynuff64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
395 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Brae Hotel

Property: Sunny Brae Hotel
Address: Marine Road, Nairn IV12 4EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairn
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Brae Hotel is a small family run hotel with beautiful views over the Moray Firth. The restaurant offers delightful modern European style food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sunny Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Brae
Sunny Brae Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing