We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT !...”
Review of Sunny Brae

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Brae
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

If looking for somewhere to stay in Nairn or surrounding areas look no further than The Sunny Brea Hotel as I am convinced you will find nothing to better it!..
Following the nightmare start to my short trip to The Highlands I was lucky to come across this well run establishment.
The owners and family who run the hotel are as warm and welcoming as the whiskey that is distilled around this area giving you a warm glow inside with their welcome.
The room that I was in had fantastic views and was spotless. From the massive bath sheets that are soft and fluffy to the duck down duvets and pillows on quality beds it is all designed to offer their clients a stay to remember in five star accommodation!..
Breakfast was nothing but superb and catered for everyone nothing was too much trouble.
My only regret was I had not stay here the two previous nights ( read my reviews ) and not for longer !..
Many thanks again.
JRE
Eastbourne
East Sussex
England

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear JRE, thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and did not have too many 'adventures' in our hotel. If you are in the area we would like to welcome you back. Best wishes from all of us at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Sunny Brae in August 2011. We stayed for 2 nights I believe. Its a very quiet hotel, b&b feel. Very welcoming and friendly owners. Rooms were great, nicely furnished, with a cute country feel (which I adored). There was a little tv and a kettle and lots of books on a shelf (one of them really caught my eye and I ended up reading it when I got back to Canada, the suspicious of mr witcher). The breakfast was amazing, there was no menu per say, we were just asked what we wanted based on what they had available for ingredients. I was so surprised by this! There was also lots of local homemade honeys and jams available for our toasts. We also used their laundry service which was great, our clothes were well taken care of and brought back in time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We try to use local produce as much as we can. The jams and marmalade are made by a lady in Aberdeenshire and, when available, we use honey from Cawdor. Should you ever be in the area again we would like to welcome you back to Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great place with spectacular view across the Moray Firth. Really helpful staff, family run, with an excellent breakfast. The room was fine, but was a little small and felt more like a guest house than a hotel. We didn't have dinner here, but the menu looked excellent so worth making advanced reservations if you come here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmi, Owner at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are happy to hear you had a nice time at Sunny Brae, even though you felt the room was a little small. The room sizes vary from 18 to 25 metre square. Thank you for the lovely compliment about your breakfast. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Visited this excellent family run hotel for 3 days from 19th October 2013.Friendliness,food,comfort,service,all superb.Loved the fact that the host promotes local Scottish produce.Nothing negative to say about this lovely hotel.Have never felt the need to write a review before but have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other travellers.Keep up the good work.Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: A couple of rooms have great sea views but they are obviously booked up first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmi, Owner at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an excellent review about our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae and hope to welcome you back at some point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This establishment is a winner and we will be back. We booked the evening before and secured the only available room, which turned out to be the room for the disabled. Ground floor, spacious with views over the cricket field and the Firth beyond. Clean as a pin, attentive owners, and do yourself a favor - dine in. Excellent.

Room Tip: Seek a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnhappyCustomer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmi, Owner at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you very much for the amazing review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae. We hope to welcome you again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed Friday 13 September as we were competing in the Coast to Coast Event (Nairn to Fort William). The hotel was spotless and fantastic. The owners/staff were extremely helpful and relaxed about leaving our cars til the Sunday. They even got up to provide breakfast at 0500h for the seven of us competing. By the by, they are perfectly located 30 yards from the start of the race and about 100 yards from the race HQ - but I accept that is only a plus for a minority of their visitors!

Dinner was very very good - really high quality. Can't say enough.

Thank you very much indeed. Tempted to come back to do the race next year if only to stay at Sunny Brae.

Room Tip: They are all good but I guess a sea view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We hope you had a great time at the Coast to Coast. We would like to see you again at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay here while visiting Nairn.

This little guest house is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The owners obviously take great pride in sharing their home with guests.
We were welcomed and shown to our room on the first floor. We had paid extra for a sea view and this was well worth it. The room had all we needed and we appreciated all the thoughtful, extra touches, especially the dressing gowns and the bottled water. The bathroom was small but had a good shower.

There were 2 armchairs in front of the window and this made a relaxing place to sit after our journey. Sunny Brae has a lounge downstairs but we preferred the privacy of our room.

We ate in the restaurant one evening - this is situated in a conservatory at the back of the house - and the food was ok, but lacked seasoning.

There was plenty of choice at breakfast and the service was pleasant and friendly.

The best things about Sunny Brae are the location - facing the Moray Firth across the cricket ground and the bandstand - the cleanliness and the friendly hosts.
It's a little old-fashioned and would probably suit elderly guests more than younger visitors.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view (and then keep your fingers crossed for the weather!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller09Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmi, Reception at Sunny Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely detailed review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae.

We are sorry to hear that you feel the food 'lacked seasoning'. Given the opportunity we could have done something about that.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.4 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Brae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Brae

Address: Marine Road, Nairn IV12 4EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: £88 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Brae 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Brae is a family run bed and breakfast. We have eight bedrooms and are centrally located with wonderful views of the Moray Firth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Atrapalo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunny Brae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Brae
Sunny Brae Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing