We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Scottish Gem”
Review of Sunny Brae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Brae Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The transfer of management of this hotel from one generation to the next has been undertaken seamlessly and it was a joy to return to find this family hotel to continue to be so well run. We had a most relaxing 4 days stay here, every convenience in the bedroom and catering to a high standard .

Room Tip: We chose room 6 which had a good sitting area to watch the view of the sea and luckily once to see d...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bin21A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Bin21A, it was lovely to meet you both. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Sunny Brae. We hope to welcome you back next year. Best wishes from all of us at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Sunny Brae Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked this hotel through Booking.com and received a confirmed and guaranteed booking status confirmation. We then booked flights to Scotland on the same day and later that evening received a call from the hotel saying they had taken another booking in preference to ours and that we should book in at a local B&B. The only other equivalent hotel in Nairn was fully booked and virtually the entire weekend has now been wiped out in trying to find suitable alternative accommodation. Two days later we then received an e-mail from Booking.com saying that the hotel was going to charge us for the room that they cannot provide! Do not trust these people!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear PaulB, As per our telephone conversation we apologise for the situation that arose. We had taken a booking over the phone and whilst we were in the process of updating our online entry on Booking.com we received your booking confirmation. We have only been in this situation twice, in 18 years of running our business. We did not favour the other reservation it was simply taken before we received your confirmation. As soon as we realised what had happened we contacted you immediately to acknowledge the overbooking, apologise and try to resolve the situation. Both Booking.com and ourselves offered several alternatives, all of which you refused to accept.

We did not take or demand any payment for a booking we could not honour. We are a small family run business and we put a lot of care and attention into looking after our guests. This is reflected in the large amount of repeat and referral business we receive. We are deeply disappointed by what has happened and the fact that you very much enjoyed your stay with us last month makes it even more regrettable that we could not find a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel in May 2014. Our superior room 6 was spotlessly clean and comfortable with large picture windows framing the view of the park and sea.
Dinner and breakfast were delicious and the service was impeccable.
We enjoyed every moment of our stay.
This hotel is amazing value, and we highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Nairn

Room Tip: Superior room 6 with sea view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Nina B, thank you very much for your very kind review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a great holiday in Scotland. Best wishes from all of us at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Firstly this is solely my experience and 100% genuine.
I have been here for a few nights and have found the hotel to be really lovely ,spotless clean and simply home from home.
The hosts and staff were lovely and it has a lovely ambiance throughout.
I had one meal that was really nice and recommend the meals.
If you are contemplating a hotel in this area I recommend this one.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrT98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear MrT, Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a good journey home. Best wishes from all of us at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stay here regularly and it almost feels like our second home now. Rachel and John and their gorgeous daughters are always so welcoming and friendly. The bedrooms are comfortable and spotless. John is a fantastic chef and the meals are excellent. The breakfast is superb with everything you could wish for. Have tried hard to think of a criticism - but can't think of one! Would highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Grinda, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy staying at Sunny Brae and consider it your home from home. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year. Best wishes from all of us at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

What a great place. From the friendly welcome through the great view over the Moray Firth via stylish, tasty and well-presented food and a good night's sleep to the excellent breakfast, it was a delight from start to finish. Rachel, John (and the in-laws) fully deserve the plaudits which they have received from other reviewers. For those who enjoy interesting, unusual and well-chosen wines at a reasonable price, the wine list is a real pleasure to read (and taste). Large range of whiskies and digéstifs and, for sad people who get excited about such things, blisteringly fast wi-fi throughout the hotel. In short, a very good reason to visit Nairn.

Room Tip: Although Room 6 costs a little more, it is big and has wonderful views onto the sea and over the Mor...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyFranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear ScottyFranc, Thank you very much for the fabulous review. We are very happy to hear you had a lovely stay at our hotel. Should you ever be in the area again, we hope you come and stay with us again. Best wishes from all of us at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We arrived early - and as we had emailed to say we would be early the owner had made sure our room was ready for us! Great - no hanging around which allowed us to start our holiday straightaway. The rooms and dining room were immaculate and the service was lovely.The breakfast was top notch which all helped to enhance our first visit to the area. The hotel sits on the edge of the Moray Firth with a fabulous beach and endless walks with Nairn just round the corner the Sunny Brae is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Owner at Sunny Brae Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Jane K, thank you very much for your great review. It was lovely to meet you. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again at some point in the future. Best wishes from all of us at Sunny Brae.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
416 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#7 of 9 in Nairn
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Brae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Brae Hotel

Address: Marine Road, Nairn IV12 4EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#1 Family Hotel in Nairn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: £133 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Brae Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Brae Hotel is a small family run hotel with beautiful views over the Moray Firth. The restaurant offers delightful modern European style food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Sunny Brae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunny Brae
Sunny Brae Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing