We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay with good quality food”
Review of The Albert Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Albert Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good place to stay with good quality food”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Right in the centre of Nairn, staff were very friendly and helpful, the Inn had a relaxed friendly atmosphere, room was nice with very comfortable beds. Very surprised at how quiet the room was even though we were right over the bar.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CooSpotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    36
    20
    18
    21
See reviews for
16
52
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Best part of stay was comfortable twin beds and good breakfast, though breakfast room had a pool table set up in the middle of it. Not much else good - staircase up to room was shabby and smelt stale. Shower room tiny, smallest shower cubicle ever, with wonky doors which were difficult to slide open/close. Toilet seat was broken and slid away to one side when in use. Tiny whb - had to fill the kettle using the mugs provided (which incidentally had been placed upside down on the tea tray, but were stuck with sticky residue to the tray itself). There was nowhere to put toiletries in the shower room and walls had holes/patches filled with plaster (but not painted) and board under shower tray was loose. Lock to bedroom was broken and difficult to close. Our one night stay was reasonably priced, but felt place was very run-down and glad we weren't there for any longer. Wouldn't return nor recommend to friends or family.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cody001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairn hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I had my doubts on arrival at the Albert Inn as I read some of the reviews for this hotel after booking. On arrival found the staff very friendly. Going into the bar to collect key was not a problem, bars in Scotland are friendly places. Lovely double room with en suite ( I paid for a single en suite) most comfortable bed I have slept in whilst travelling for many a year. Good shower with plenty of hot water. Very good breakfast, recommend the black pudding. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel, very good value for money and will book again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eileenmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dee7372
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

this inn is ideally located on the main street heading for inverness, there is adequate parking. you do have to book in, in the main bar. our room was nicely decorated and the lovely elephant shaped towels on the beds was a nice touch!
the en suite bathroom was fine, apart from the shower....very poor pressure and warm water meant a poor shower!
the walls are very thin, and even with the window shut, we could still here traffic quite loud (and we had a room to the rear of the property!)
we didnt eat our main meal at the pub, but there seemed a good selection of food!
we did have breakfast in the morning, there didnt seem much choice....you were offered a cooked breakfast......(which was quite greasy)........and as commented by others the toast was white, and thick cut)
we never met the owners wife, but we did chat to the land lord and he seemed very nice!
just minor comments made, but it is these small details that customers notice!
i would stay again tho.......as long as the shower issues were rectified!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee7372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire,Scotland.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Unfortunately we choose to stay here for one night, a BIG MISTAKE..After booking at the Bar, we made our way up the filthy stairway,looked like the stairs had never seen a Hoover in months, and the carpet was torn and well worn, We then went to the room which was'nt too bad at first until a fould smell appeared to come from the toilet area, which was also a bit grubby looking, the smell got so bad we decided to eat out in a restaraunt in the town, we came back too the same FOUL SMELL..it was so bad my wife kept wakening up during the night and did get much sleep, We went downstairs and had Breakfast which was ok,and served by friendly staff..we complained about the smell, but the person did'nt seem to interested.After Breakfast we went the dingy stairway to our room, packed and got out of that hole, certainly the worst of all the Hotels we stayed in during our tour of the North.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phoenix5750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford Manchester England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

i recently stayed at this hotel its fabby guy and cherie who run the hotel are a laugh a miniute.the food in the hotel is excellent well done to the chef guy.there friendlyness is no end the bar erea is clean tidy and full of scotch people who have a ball of a time.the rooms are clean and tidy with showers tea and coffee.thanks for a great stay i hope to stay again soon all the best to u all from sunny salford

from Steve Jan Mark and Eileen

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plug42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severn Bridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

If you are on a tight budget, this place will do. Registering for a room at the pub is a little tacky and unnerving for a woman. Room was clean but no water pressure. A little like a university dorm room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burnside2561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.4 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albert Inn

Property: The Albert Inn
Address: Albert Street, Nairn IV12 4HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Albert Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Albert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albert Hotel Nairn
The Albert Inn Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing