We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In desperate need of updating!”
Review of Newton Muthu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newton Muthu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Room was old and worn. Loud air conditioning unit directly outside window. Meant we couldn't sleep with windows open. No view out of window.
Very overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bx720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for Newton Muthu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2011

I eat here 3.6.11 with family & friends – worst meal we have had in a long time – food looked “pre-prepared” and mass produced - @ £20 per head, this is the poorest value for money I have in a long time

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Scott1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

I was very concerned to read the comments regarding the food in our Chaplins restaurant. We have had many positive comments regarding our food offerings in both of our restaurants, and indeed do have an AA Rosette for our food. All of our food is freshly prepared to order and certainly not “mass produced”. Our Table d’hote menu is priced at £20.00 for three courses with coffee and we feel certainly represents very good value for money. However we do apologise for the experience you had and thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Excellent food, friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms (in the older section), which were also warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenktagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Room was excellent, could have stayed under the shower all day! Staff looked after us very well, serving us whisky until 6am one morning! A good base to play many great golf courses such as Nairn Links and Castle Stuart Links.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craignim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We have been suggested to reserve a family room at the Newton Hotel in Nairn by our Austrian travel agent, due to a lack of free rooms in the pre-Easter week. No regrets at all! The house seems to be very old in some parts and the first impression is that of a romantic castle, also with the many corners and steps inside.
The Newton is perfectly located for trips to Loch Ness, the Moray Firth area, the Speside valey and one day we event managed to head out for the Museum of Scottish Lighthouses in Fraserburgh.
We had the pleasure to get the Macmillan Suite, being three of us, and having dinner once at the restaurant. The 2 or 3-course meals are nicely chosen and of good quality and taste, prices with 20 and 25 Pounds are moderate. Staff is welcoming and helpful, the breakfast team is really nice and serves you a great breakfast every morning.
All in all a perfect stay for three days!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlisGlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Had a great night's sleep in new looking clean room. Ate at hotel and was a bit disappointed at small portions of fairly mediocre fare for both breakfast and dinner. Advice would be to stay here, but eat out in Nairn.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trilli0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

I stay in lots of provincial hotels in Scotland - lots in the cities too. I was at the Newton for 2 days on a business trip. The hotel gives a great first impression, good efficient check in and my room was lovely, large, two comfy chairs and a superb bathroom. Business facilities were great, our conference went well and lunch on Day 1 was really good, a hot buffet with a great selection of savouries. That was however where the quality food ended. Dinner was a real disappointment, I (along with 3 others at my table) had ordered grilled haddock. I could smell it before it arrived. It was under-cooked - some way short of being "at the point" and was not at all fresh. The others' had a similar experience. We all returned the dishes asking for pasta or chicken, whatever was available but to our dismay the haddock was delivered back to us presumably after a couple of mins in the microwave, enough to cook it but not make it fresh. In some sense the hotel was unlucky in that we were three guys from the North with a lot of fish experience and therefore weren't likely to be fobbed off. Next morning for breakfast, although the quality was good the portions were tiny - 1 rasher of bacon, 1 sausage. It was a real shame because apart from the food, the hotel was very good, excellent for a hotel in rural Scotland in fact. So, 4/5 for the hotel generally, 1/5 for the food and therefore 2/5 overall

Room Tip: Nice place to stay, eat somewhere else in the town
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2011

“ Thank you for noting your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel for attendance at a conference. I was most concerned to read your comments regarding food quality during your stay and would offer my apologies for our shortcomings on this. Clearly you have not experienced the high standard of food that I would expect of our hotel and I have already addressed this with those concerned. Please rest assured that this is not the standard that we would normally provide for our guests, the vast majority of whom usually express their pleasure with our food. I was, however, delighted to read your very positive comments about many other aspects of the hotel and do hope that we will have the opportunity to be of service to you in the future. “

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
340 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
597 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
676 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#7 of 9 in Nairn
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Muthu Hotel

Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland (Formerly Newton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: £64 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newton Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Muthu Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing