We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newton Hotel Nairn - Expensive but worth it”
Review of Newton Muthu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newton Muthu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just spent a very nice time at the Newton Hotel in Nairn - as the heading says its expensive, but the price is comparable with the other hotels in neighbourhood, so can forgive the price.
We stayed overnight as close friends were having their wedding at the hotel, so lets start with check in - well we were very early - and the receptionist did a very good job of getting housekeeping to get the room ready. The room we were allocated was in the old part of the building, and as per some of the previous reviews was rather tired looking, but very clean and tidy and had the usual fittings you would expect - trouser press, decent wardrobe and mirrors, TV, kettle and tea/coffee making accouterments, good sized bathroom and very comfy beds, it also had the added bonus of an iron and ironing board. Sound levels in the room were surprisingly low, so a very sound uninterrupted sleep.
We visited some of our friends rooms in the new part of the building, and they were absolutely brilliant, and as our booking was a bit late, the old room we had was a reasonable option, as it was only for the one night.
The evening meal we had was one of the best i have ever had in the UK, I know that the wedding meal cannot be a real comparison to personal one in their restaurant, but if they can feed 80 or so people to that standards, they must be really good with small numbers, the waiter service was also first class, really professionally done, and you could see that they had it down to a very fine art, but yet really friendly and chatty, this seemed to be the norm for all the staff, quick to do what was needed, but with the friendly approach, from the duty manager to the housekeeping staff and also the gardeners - they all wanted the guests to feel at ease with the place.
Breakfast, usual help yourself options, then the very good menu with a few interesting additions - such as the porridge made to your preferences. The quality of my cooked brekkie was again first class and served very quickly.

Room Tip: Book a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FethiyeFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

770 - 776 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

Had a lovely two night stay in the "new section" of this grand old hotel,
The Newton is what it says it is, if you want modern, Hi tech, fast service, stay in a Premier inn,
This hotel is for the over 40's, no noisy children or barking dogs, just a laid back friendly old hotel, with quiet waiting staff and lovely freshly prepared food, therefore it takes time to get to your table,
if you want to unwind and watch the most amazing sunsets, you can from anywhere in the Newton Hotel or grounds my favourite was from the comfort of the biggest softest sofas, in the bar or the Chaplin's or the grounds or our room seriously the Nairn sun sets in the centre of the grounds breathtaking,
We really had a super break, it is not modern, and the cobwebs could do with a little TLC but if you go with the mind that it is an old building with loads of character, you’ll enjoy. The bathrooms in the new section are spotless and have lovely white fluffy towels, the beds are clean, as are the fitments, the side chairs are worn a touch but, add to the feeling of staying somewhere with history,
One thing that impressed us, was the quietness of the corridors and the thickness of the walls, once in your room, you didn’t hear anything, no banging doors, I’m sure if there was a conference or wedding on it may be different, there were several coach trips staying at the same time as us, which meant if you went for breakfast after 8:15am it was relatively quiet,
Nairn beach is the cleanest beach and the locals are so friendly, not a lot of “nice” pubs in the area, which is a shame, but several of the surrounding hotels are open to the public and seem to be branching out.
Great location for all the tourist attractions and the setting sun

Room Tip: The new section for more modern rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMrs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed here for a 3 night break sometime ago. First room we got was very poor quality, dirty and noisey due to fans from kitchen. On complaining in fairness they moved us to a better room which was good.
One of our party is coeliac so we had our own bread. The waiter burnt the whole loaf on the first morning, then the second loaf was lost so not a good experience.
Had a meal in the restaurant one evening, got food poisoning from the meat instantly, manager even followed one of us into the toilet to see if it was actually illness, if you follow.
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank geordieshoreeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Room was old and worn. Loud air conditioning unit directly outside window. Meant we couldn't sleep with windows open. No view out of window.
Very overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bx720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I eat here 3.6.11 with family & friends – worst meal we have had in a long time – food looked “pre-prepared” and mass produced - @ £20 per head, this is the poorest value for money I have in a long time

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Scott1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2011

I was very concerned to read the comments regarding the food in our Chaplins restaurant. We have had many positive comments regarding our food offerings in both of our restaurants, and indeed do have an AA Rosette for our food. All of our food is freshly prepared to order and certainly not “mass produced”. Our Table d’hote menu is priced at £20.00 for three courses with coffee and we feel certainly represents very good value for money. However we do apologise for the experience you had and thank you for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Excellent food, friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms (in the older section), which were also warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephenktagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Room was excellent, could have stayed under the shower all day! Staff looked after us very well, serving us whisky until 6am one morning! A good base to play many great golf courses such as Nairn Links and Castle Stuart Links.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craignim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
384 reviews
11.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
689 reviews
17 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#2 of 36 in Inverness
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Muthu Hotel

Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland (Formerly Newton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: £37 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Newton Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Muthu Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing