We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEWTON HOTEL, NAIRN”
Review of Newton Muthu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newton Muthu Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Hotel in secluded grounds within walking distance of town and coast/beach. Had great meal in Chaplins restaurant and excellent choice for breakfast. Old world elegance with good efficient staff and modern facilities. Will be back next time in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart_edgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed just for one night and had the most pleasant experience staying at the hotel. We arrived after dark and the hotel looked very impressive from both outside and inside. The receptionist was very welcoming and nothing was a problem. We booked a twin room instead of a double by mistake and the receptionist managed to conjure up their last double room for us with no extra charge. The room was lovely and clean, had an old-fashioned charm. The meal in the hotel restaurant was top-quality, with unusual combination of flavours and very good value for money. Service was fine, although I was surprised to see a waitress with dark nail polish on her nails. Breakfast was a bit disappointing due to a group of 6 still drunk/heavily hangover residents who disrupted the peaceful atmosphere of the place. Their order had to be taken twice because they refused to have a black pudding on their plates (!!) and their full breakfast had to be cooked again. The waitress dealt with them with patience, but unfortunately other guests had to wait and we ended up having our breakfast 40min after we came to the restaurant although we came before the drunken bunch. Overall recommended, hopefully such disruptive customers don't often visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elllada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Another great stay at the Newton this weekend. As ever, the friendliness of the staff (from managers to serving staff) stands out. Stayed in the original part of the hotel, lovely spacious room with wonderful views over the main lawn. Ate in Chaplins restaurant both nights and the food and service were top notch. Hot breakfasts are cooked to order and there's a great choice of items including waffles (yummy with bacon and maple syrup!). The only thing the hotel lacks is a leisure centre but there are lovely woods in the hotel grounds for a walk or you can head down to the waterfront at Nairn. I stay at alot of hotels for various reasons but few have staff as consistently (and genuinely) friendly as the Newton. I will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night prior to travelling down to Inverness. The hotel is a bit of the main track but easy enough to find with a sat nav. Arrived at around 6.30pm and was really impressed with the exterior as the building is beautiful and breathtaking.

Had only booked the room the night before and was impressed with the lovely lady on reception (I believe her name was Moira). She was really helpful and we checked in in no time.

Found our room and was slightly disappointed as was quite a tired looking room but still very clean. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was fine.

Went down to dinner in the restaurant. The food was really good and the waitress was pleasant. Went to get a drink after dinner which we took back to our room as felt a bit uncomfortable sitting in the bar as the other guests were a lot older than us and so were very quiet.

Breakfast was really nice and hot food was cooked to order. Good selection of both hot and cold food. Check out was also swift (with the same lovely lady).

Overall we had pleasant stay but wouldn't really recommend it for people in our age group (27 & 32).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJ24Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel while traveling with a tour group. It is in a lovely pastoral setting. The rooms are very clean and the beds have wonderful huge down pillows. The food was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. You can walk down a path outside the hotel and see Highland Cattle grazing, then walk across the golf course (access is permitted) to the North Sea. Charlie Chaplin and his family stayed at this hotel when visiting Scotland. You will definitely remember this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

would def stay here again, lovely location, comfortable and clean rooms, friendly service, and outstanding food (quality & price)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy123traveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

As part of a long bus tour of the perimeter of Scotland, we stayed at a variety of hotels. The lovely country manor of the Newton Hotel, set in the outskirts of the seaside village of Nairn, was our favorite by far. What more perfect arrival conditions than a traditional Scottish wedding to set the mood! Stepping into our room was like entering an oasis, behind glassed doors that separated the dressing area and spacious modern bathroom from the large bedroom/ sitting room that looked out over a fountained garden. The king sized bed with feather pillows lulled me to sleep two of the best nights on our trip.
From my recollections, the buffet breakfasts were the better meals with cereal and fruit choices to accompany the individually made entrees. The breakfast staff were especially attentive and friendly. We enjoyed the large comfortable living room-like lounges in the evening where the bartender was especially pleasant and helpful.
Another plus was the short scenic walk through a pleasant gardened neighborhood to the beach. We enjoyed the view of the open ocean from the sidewalked path that followed it despite brisk winds. Our stay at the Newton was one I was sad to have end.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
620 reviews
14.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
386 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
691 reviews
17.1 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Muthu Hotel

Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland (Formerly Newton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: £33 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Newton Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Muthu Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing