We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with very friendly staff and great rooms”
Review of Newton Muthu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Newton Muthu Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with very friendly staff and great rooms”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with no booking, we just drove up to see if anything available. The staff happily showed us some rooms and although a bit expensive they were worth it. No restaurants nearby without driving but their restaurant was exceptional with great food and service. If you are looking for a very peaceful and quiet location with lovely staff this is your place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guest_06_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    292
    115
    60
    29
See reviews for
141
469
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We arrived at this hotel on August 13th, Day 3 of a CIE "Scottish Dream" Tour. What a great sight to see at the end of the day! A huge long driveway leading to what I believe to be a gorgeous former private home. More like a castle! We were lucky enough to get a huge executive double room with a walk-in shower and separate bath. (Room #227). Everything was top quality and the king size bed offered a lovely nights sleep. We had entertainment by some local musicians and dancers and the evening meal was a treat. The full Scottish breakfast next morning was also excellent. Staff were pleasant and helpful. It was unfortunate we didn't have time to walk to the beach but we did encounter a deer near the parking lot and of course the resident highland cattle! I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger, refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramblingrose34135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

As we arrived at the hotel our little girl called it a castle!
Lovely check in staff.
Our room was lovely. Queen size bed and bunk beds for the kids. Enormous bathroom with bath and shower.
Desk area as well.

TV: dated and not many clear channels but we did not stay there to watch TV.

Breakfast was in a beautiful sunny room. Buffet and waiter service as well.
many choices and all lovely.

Room Tip: We had room 115. Absolutely gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotinghamFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night in March and booked online.
When we arrived at the reception it took a few minutes before anyone noticed us. Your perception about the hotel depends on which room you are given. If booking online don't go for the cheapest rooms in the older part of the building as it's freezing and shoody. We requested the newer rooms after we seen them but the hotel wanted to charge more for the 'upgrade', which I felt was being greedy as the older rooms aren't worthy of a 4* hotel.
Breakfast is decent and is cooked to order.
The dining system is chaotic however. You need to have 'booked' a table or else they won't let you into the restaurant, even when there were plenty of empty tables! The food was decent however but pricey.
There isn't much around Nairn so if exploring I would stick with staying near Inverness.
Overall my experience was ok, but I don't think the hotel is a 4* one as it is currently.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coffeeleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent food. Very accommodating of children in the restaurant. Very relaxing bar. Rooms very large with all facilities. Great bathrooms with excellent power shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy500000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermiston, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Everyone was so hopeful and nice. Food was good and so was the service. If you are wanting to get away this issue place to go.

My only two complaints no AC and the beds were hard. I dont like sleeping on a rock.

Room Tip: Great location Freindly staff Good food
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah Oakensh... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed the night at this hotel which looks grand from the outside. The room we stayed in was nice with a lovely bathroom suite, probably better than some of the other rooms we walked past. Heard some noise above our room, hope it wasn't the ghost Charlie Chaplin! Breakfast was a little confusing didn't know what was available thought it was just continental and porridge on offer until someone came up to us after we'd sat down to eat and asked us if we wanted a full english. Upholstery a little jaded but have to say saw a lot of cleaning going on in the morning. Comfortable but don't know if it was worth £150.00 pounds a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
394 reviews
11.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
545 reviews
21.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Muthu Hotel

Property: Newton Muthu Hotel
Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland (Formerly Newton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newton Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Muthu Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing