We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homely place to stay”
Review of Newton Muthu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newton Muthu Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday in early November. I got an excellent rate for B&B and was truly impressed by the ambiance and quality of the whole hotel. The room was truly impressive. It was spotlessly clean with a large bathroom. The main bedroom was huge with a king sized bed as I had been upgraded. There pillows were fresh and bedding very new and clean. The staff throughout the hotel were exceptionally pleasant.

The breakfast is well presented with ample to eat. The only thing I wish they had was already cut fresh fruit salad. I took a walk through the grounds, crossed the nearby gold course and found myself on Nairn beach. Well worth a walk along here to fill your lungs with good clean fresh air.

I had to end my stay one night early due to my father becoming ill and reception very kindly sorted that out. I then asked the lady in the bar area if food was available as I had to drive to Glasgow. The dining room was not open. She was exceptionally kind (didn't get her name but in her early 40's with spectacles). She spoke to the kitchen and arranged for me to have food which was beautiful. I was served in the dining room by a young man who was friendly and excellent at his job. He told me that he worked in the hotel for 5 years and he clearly enjoys doing his job. Both these staff are a true asset to the hotel. The whole experience of staying at the Newton was relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable.

I would highly recommend this hotel. I hope to come back soon.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank 709,913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 945 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was the exact hotel that I expected to find when we booked our trip. I loved the style , the grounds and most of all the charm. The staff was friendly, the rooms were average but the atmosphere of the hotel outweighed the rooms.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank kcanfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Okay. Let's get the grumble out of the road cos otherwise this was a pleasant weekend break. Arrived after a long Friday drive to be serenaded by overly loud electronic Radio 1 noise in the bar and adjacent areas. Polite comment fell on barren ears. Not appropriate for a 4 star hotel. My request at reception for the manager's response went unanswered. Not a good start.
Moving on. The room and bathroom were clean, well furnished / decorated and spacious. Breakfasts and dinners were generous, tasty and waiting staff were all delightful. Hotel is located in parkland grounds close to a stunning beach with long views. Nairn was not much to write about with empty shops etc, but a drive to Forres was 'worth the petrol'.
Pity about the piped music. A quiet lounge or drawing room for reading would be good.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AmblerBonnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel last week as part of a group tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. The main part of the hotel is a 17th Century state house that has been well restored. The service was personal and attentive and very friendly. The rooms were extremely comfortable. Lovely bathrooms and great showers! The meal was quite good- as good as you seem to get on inclusive group tours. The disappointment was only staying one night. Peaceful and relaxing!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Emma7340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Took a short break mid-week to Nairn, enjoying a two night break in the Newton Hotel. The original building is magnificent and although extended this is not immediately apparent from the front. Staff were very welcoming and our room was situated on the second floor. The door to the room was quite heavy and stiff to open which demonstrated the unique charm of this quite impressive building. We learned that the hotel and the second floor in particularly was regularly occupied by the late great Charlie Chaplin. The main restaurant is named after the great man himself. The food was outstanding and the service equal to match. The room was in essence an attic room but more than adequate for our stay. Whilst parts of the hotel are in need of some upgrading the charm and sense of atmosphere and history you get more than makes up for a lick of paint. Proved to be an ideal base from which to explore the local area. And to see in excess of 30 seals lying on a beach sunning themselves in what was outstanding weather for the time of the year made the trip all the more worthwhile. Give this place look.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanthesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Great location set in secluded grounds surrounded by woods but also has sea views.

Rooms were large and clean, the suites are brilliant and have an older character but modern feel to them which is in perfect fitting for this hotel.

Only draw back was the meal, out of the 8 people at my table two of us ordered steaks, a sirloin and a rump. When it arrived my sirloin was as fit to eat as a sandal! My friend made a triangular cut into her steak which she found was undercooked to her liking. Both were sent back. My friend got a new steak cooked to perfection however i recieved a steak with a triangular cut it in (her previous rump steak and not the sirloin i was paying £25 for!) which was again overcooked. I sent it back and ordered an alternative which by time it arrived my friends had all finished their desserts. Not even an apology from a chef that cant cook a steak and had the cheek to send me someone elses reject!

The waitress (lyndsey) was fantastic throughout this and i found the rest of staff to be equally as polite and helpfull.

I would highly recommend this hotel but just dont order a steak!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northerndirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had a two night stay 21 st oct great place to chill out staff at reception very helpful rooms spotless and kept clean wee bit dated but was not a problem the food what can I say 10 out of 10 excellent breakfast spot on special thanks to Jamie and sean the staff who are a credit to their hotel nothing was a problem .thanks Kenny and Elaine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
14.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
693 reviews
16.8 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Muthu Hotel

Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland (Formerly Newton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: £36 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Newton Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Muthu Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing