We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How good can you get...?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“How good can you get...?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for one night, D,B&B. Excellent room (225), very well equipped bathroom, fantastic powerful shower in it’s own cubical separate from the bath, very comfortable large beds and views through the winter trees to the countryside and the Moray Firth beyond. Free WiFi.

Very nice, friendly and helpful staff throughout. Dinner was excellent, very quick service, helpful waiter assisted our choice from the menu and knowledgeable about the name of the dining room, the Chaplin Room; the actor had stayed in the hotel occasionally. Wide choice of breakfast items.

Beautiful hotel, very comfortable, immaculately kept and in splendid grounds, ample parking. Highly recommended, and we shall stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    283
    107
    56
    29
See reviews for
134
448
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My sister and I attended a family funeral last week and needed some accommodation quickly. What a great choice. From booking to leaving it was outstanding. The dinner was perfection and the breakfast was delicious. The staff were friendly , helpful and dedicated to helping you enjoy your stay. The hotel is traditional, beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. We had a peaceful comfortable nights sleep and a super shower in the morning, What more could you need. Have used this hotel before and it has not lost any of its charm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank latw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I was visiting Inverness for work and searched for a hotel on the outskirts of the city and remembered that I had passed a place called Nairn in the past many times, what a surprise to fing the beautiful hotel with fantastic staff who made my stay a pleasure, the food cooked by the chefs and his staff was excellent to say the least, my room was lovely and all the staff experienced and the young staff are a credit to the hotel.

I will of course return every time I am in the Inverness area.

Room Tip: a room overlooking the ground and gardens would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdav777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

It is probably some thirty five years since my wife and I were at the Newton. It has changed; an extension, the Reception counter moved and normal things you find from the passage of time. However what has not reduced is that little corner of Narinshire, in its own ground with the most pleasant staff. From the moment you arrive at the REception you are greeted with a friendly smile and a dsiaply of quiet efficiency. We had a double room which fac ed on to the back garden with an original window that could be opened in the old fashioned way and not like a prisoners cell. The bar is old style displaying many good whiskies and the most comfortable of surroundings. The breakfasts are huge; not large, huge and on both days we were there, the manager was in attendance at breakfast, speaking to the guests and obvious, throughout the day. I could not help but notice that one young waiter was taking time, when setting a breakfast table, to "space" the cutlery in the correct position and spacing - either attention to detail or first class training. The rooms tended to made up whilst we were at breakfast, but this might be due to weekends. I can only say that I thoroughly enjoyed this overdue experience. The staff are first class and the ambience magnificent. If someone wants a true taste of Scotland give it go...they will not be disappointed. Sadly we did not take the evening meal which we regret....next time!

Room Tip: We were in Room 108 which faced the neat back garden. This was a nice view but I have no doubt the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We loved our two-night stay at the Newton Hotel. We thought the food and ambience exceptional. The hotel is set in wooded grounds, which provide a peaceful hideaway as well as a beautiful backdrop. The chef at the Chaplin Restaurant is exceptional and we had superb food for both our nights there. The staff at reception, and the serving staff at breakfast and the evening meal, were always courteous, friendly and professional, and were part of what made this, our first stay, so pleasant. The hotel is situated to the west of the town of Nairn and the approach road is down a very narrow, wooded lane. The hotel offered a special winter weekend rate for this weekend, which made our dinner, bed and breakfast rate exceptionally good value. The design of the lounge and dining areas on the ground floor is very tasteful, blending the antique with the modern to great effect. Our bedroom was toasty warm, despite the chill February winds, and it had just had a fresh coat of paint. Our bedroom, and I suspect others too, could do with a design upgrade to match the beautiful decor on the ground floor. This was a wonderful retreat, providing superb food, service and comfort.

Room Tip: Access to some of the rooms involve stairs and several fire doors, which could be tricky for someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Our second stay at the Newton and a very pleasant experience. The hotel is comfortable and clean, bedroom large with a good size bathroom with separate bath and shower. The staff are very nice and willing to help. Breakfast was very good but restaurant a wee bit disappointing - just not exciting food. However I'd certainly go back for a January deal which was excellent value for money. I must agree with some other reviewers and say that the music should be reconsidered by the hotel manager. Other guests were also commenting on the choice at breakfast (It's raining men!), and I asked that the bagpipe music be switched off in the lounge after dinner (not the right ambiance after a meal and a glass of wine), and thankfully it was. Still, you've got to laugh!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Went here for the three days over New Year, 30, 31 & 1st. The hotel is very well hidden amongst the houses but it has it's own large grounds which leads to the sea & harbour after a 10-15min steady walk, walking passed the two lovely highland cows.
The three day package is as it says on the leaflet but a couple of observations I would like to mention. Upon arrival when we were supposed to have a hot welcome drink then perhaps the staff ought to know that is what the guests are allowed and that they are made aware of what the package deal consists of. It was a quite annoying that when we ordered the hot drink (tea) and explained that we were on the New Year package that they did not know what we meant. Even when I went to the reception and confirmed that was what we were allowed to have & told to go back to the lounge bar there was no staff around to re-order and it took a good 10mins before someone did come. The other thing that perhaps the hotel will take on board is the lack of sofas/settees in the lounge especially at that time of year and the hotel was fully booked. It goes without saying that with the amount of rooms x two there would not be enough seats.
Apart from that the three days were good, food was plentiful and the staff friendly & helpful. The Scottish dancing on the first night was good, it took me back to my childhood.
Another suggestion for the hotel would be to have a live link showing the count down to midnight to a TV projection screen instead of just listening to the radio. The piper was good and the stovies tasted great.
I did like the fact that they allowed breakfast on the 1st January to be a late one so you didn't have to get up early and that checking out on the 2nd was up to 1pm. Well done for that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avpe121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
11.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Property: Newton Hotel
Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing