We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, restaurant staff were excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Newton Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location, restaurant staff were excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April and had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening. The food was excellent and our waiter Martin was very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are charming if old-fashioned and the grounds of the hotel is lovely.There is a great bar with board games and a fire and the breakfast was delicious.
We had a problem with the lock on our door and the staff offered to change our room once it was noted. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMoriarty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    283
    107
    56
    29
See reviews for
134
448
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muri, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We searched for a hotel for one night on our trip around Scotland end of April 2014. It was rated well ad we can cope with this. The hotel is nice and the staff is perfect. All in all we are more than just satisfied with what we experienced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartmut L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

After a disappointing start to our honeymoon having been double booked at another hotel in Nairn, The Newton rescued our Honeymoon and went out of their way to provide us with the Honeymoon suite at no extra cost and reassured us after a shaky start. The staff were very friendly, we enjoyed the room and views and the stroll to the sea front. We had lovely meals their and felt so relaxed around the hotel. We especially looked forward to feeding the Highland cattle each morning, 'Haggis and Neaps'. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the conference area are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights over Easter, we are a family of three, myself hubby and 9 year old daughter (plus our chihuahua) and had booked this hotel as it was dog friendly.

It is a beautiful looking hotel in a great location, a lovely 5 minute walk to the most fantastic beach.

I had read all the TA reviews before booking and once booked had emailed the hotel asking for a nice room with a lovely view, dreading the rooms I had read about with the Irn Bru carpet stains, uncomfortable beds with the mattresses that don't fit the frame and noise from weddings ..... Unfortunately we got the room with the Irn Bru carpet stains, that bed with the mattress that doesn't fit the base (soft and uncomfortable with pillows that were hard and lumpy!) and a view of a roof and a couple of trees!!!!

The worst thing was we had booked a room with a double bed and an additional bed for our daughter, and this additional bed was a fold up camp bed in the corner, which is totally unsuitable for a nine year old, I would say for five years and under possibly, but not a nine year old. We ended up just taking the mattress (if you could call it that) on to the floor as at least the mattress would have some support then....

Also, we were above the function room, and of course, on the Saturday night there was a wedding, the thumping music lasted until 1230am...

We had dinner on the first night in Chaplin's restaurant, we had the soup and mackerel starters, we both had the chicken main, our daughter the children's pasta, we shared the cheesecake pudding, two soft drinks and a bottle of £17 wine - bill £75! Our daughter loved her pasta but unfortunately our starters and cheesecake were mediocre and the chicken totally tasteless.

Breakfast was ok, however there seemed to be some inconsistency with what was on your plate when ordering the full breakfast, beans and black pudding one day and not the next...

However, on saying all that, and I do hope you have continued reading up until now.... What made our stay was the fantastic, attentive, friendly staff at this hotel. From the waiters and manager in the restaurant and also at breakfast to the maid who cleaned our room to the night porter, they were absolutely brilliant, couldn't be more attentive and helpful and a credit to this hotel.

Staff 10/10
Sleep quality 2/10
Food 4/10
Location 9/10

Would we go back, maybe, however, we would insist on a room where our daughter would have a single bed, if it was a Saturday night a room as far away from the function room as possible and wouldn't have our evening meal in the restaurant!

Room Tip: If a wedding is on ask to be as far away from the function room as possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Juliet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Good Friday for one evening. The website prior to booking had painted a picture of the hotel as a beautiful castle country retreat. The hotel is spectacular from the outside, however once you delve under the surface, the whole experience is disappointing. First, the good points, the reception, bar and seating areas are nice.
The disappointing bits were the poor service at breakfast, no wifi signal in the room as promised, outdated televisions, poor shower pressure and scalding bath tap dripping once the shower was activated. I would like to think it was a once off, but my partner received her breakfast on a plate encrusted in tin foil, a black substance and dried food with her lovely cooked breakfast on top. We had waited 15 mins for this breakfast and were not very happy. Needless to say the mistake was rectified and apologies given, however the breakfast experience was spoilt for us after this. Could do better!, we feel with better staff training and a care for detail things could improve dramatically.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mhavebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at The Newton Hotel. You did give me the heads up on this by showing me your posting before you left the hotel. I can only reitterate what I said to you then, that the plate with foil stuck to the underside of it was totally unacceptable. When you left the hotel I did check out the shower pressure and dripping tap that you had complained about in your room and found that the dripping tap was actually water that was running down the shower hose from the shower head, this was rectifiied immediately. Having recently arrived at the hotel, I am concentrating my efforts on making sure that the standards of service are up to those that our guests expect when coming to stay in such a fine establishment, I can assure you that this will be achieved very quickly. I hope that you will return to the Newton to see what can be done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We are travelling the UK and stayed mostly at 2 star hotels which had surprisingly amazing food, bar stock and rooms, which is why we expected real value for money from the Newton Hotel, only to be disappointed. There is no variety in beers and ciders in bottles or on tap, the salmon was dry, the beef shin lacked flavour and the lasagne's beef was chewy and sometimes hard to chew. A little bummed especially because the hotel has been awarded for a few years in a row for their excellence. Maybe our expectations were too high but should one not expect something other than excellence?

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Tamsin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Tamsin, thank you for your comments about your stay at the Newton Hotel. Irrespective of good or bad, guest comments are important to us, and the comments you have made regarding your food, have been acted upon. You are correct in your remark that you should expect better quality, in a hotel of this standing and I can only apologise, for the disappointing meals that you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel last August, 2013 on a CIE tour group. The hotel rooms are very large with comfortable beds. It is somewhat out of the city but you can still walk to the beach and to the city. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. The food is also fantastic and awesome service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Commenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you so much for the comments you have made regarding your stay at the Newton Hotel. We have a longstanding partnership with the CIE tour group and we regularly acheive an approval rating of over 90% from their clients. The staff very much appreciate being recognised for the good service that they provide for our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
11.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.8 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel

Property: Newton Hotel
Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Newton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing