We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again tomorrow if I could!”
Review of Newton Muthu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newton Muthu Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Newton Hotel for 2 nights last weekend through a deal on Itison. What a charming hotel! We stayed in Room 104 which overlooked the front of the hotel, down to Nairn beach. The room was spotless and massive. Yes there are older tvs in the room and our bathroom was relatively basic, but I don't think you really book into a hotel like this for flatscreen tvs (my personal thoughts anyway!). We found all the staff to be very helpful, friendly and attentative. I would definitely stay again, tomorrow if I could. Nairn is a lovely area and you can walk to Nairn beach in 5/10 minutes, which is lovely.

The only thing I would say is the cd which was on repeat play in the hotel was enough to put me off, power and love ballads - someone needs to change the record! Also we were severely lacking in electricity points, so maybe bring an extension lead or multiplug.

We ate a three course dinner on the Saturday night and had breakfast both days, the portion sizes were generous and the food was nice, service was excellent. What more can I say?? I highly recommend for a quiet countryside stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the conference centre if you want a nice quiet sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in April and had dinner in the restaurant on the first evening. The food was excellent and our waiter Martin was very friendly and helpful.
The rooms are charming if old-fashioned and the grounds of the hotel is lovely.There is a great bar with board games and a fire and the breakfast was delicious.
We had a problem with the lock on our door and the staff offered to change our room once it was noted. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TMoriarty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We searched for a hotel for one night on our trip around Scotland end of April 2014. It was rated well ad we can cope with this. The hotel is nice and the staff is perfect. All in all we are more than just satisfied with what we experienced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hartmut L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After a disappointing start to our honeymoon having been double booked at another hotel in Nairn, The Newton rescued our Honeymoon and went out of their way to provide us with the Honeymoon suite at no extra cost and reassured us after a shaky start. The staff were very friendly, we enjoyed the room and views and the stroll to the sea front. We had lovely meals their and felt so relaxed around the hotel. We especially looked forward to feeding the Highland cattle each morning, 'Haggis and Neaps'. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the conference area are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights over Easter, we are a family of three, myself hubby and 9 year old daughter (plus our chihuahua) and had booked this hotel as it was dog friendly.

It is a beautiful looking hotel in a great location, a lovely 5 minute walk to the most fantastic beach.

I had read all the TA reviews before booking and once booked had emailed the hotel asking for a nice room with a lovely view, dreading the rooms I had read about with the Irn Bru carpet stains, uncomfortable beds with the mattresses that don't fit the frame and noise from weddings ..... Unfortunately we got the room with the Irn Bru carpet stains, that bed with the mattress that doesn't fit the base (soft and uncomfortable with pillows that were hard and lumpy!) and a view of a roof and a couple of trees!!!!

The worst thing was we had booked a room with a double bed and an additional bed for our daughter, and this additional bed was a fold up camp bed in the corner, which is totally unsuitable for a nine year old, I would say for five years and under possibly, but not a nine year old. We ended up just taking the mattress (if you could call it that) on to the floor as at least the mattress would have some support then....

Also, we were above the function room, and of course, on the Saturday night there was a wedding, the thumping music lasted until 1230am...

We had dinner on the first night in Chaplin's restaurant, we had the soup and mackerel starters, we both had the chicken main, our daughter the children's pasta, we shared the cheesecake pudding, two soft drinks and a bottle of £17 wine - bill £75! Our daughter loved her pasta but unfortunately our starters and cheesecake were mediocre and the chicken totally tasteless.

Breakfast was ok, however there seemed to be some inconsistency with what was on your plate when ordering the full breakfast, beans and black pudding one day and not the next...

However, on saying all that, and I do hope you have continued reading up until now.... What made our stay was the fantastic, attentive, friendly staff at this hotel. From the waiters and manager in the restaurant and also at breakfast to the maid who cleaned our room to the night porter, they were absolutely brilliant, couldn't be more attentive and helpful and a credit to this hotel.

Staff 10/10
Sleep quality 2/10
Food 4/10
Location 9/10

Would we go back, maybe, however, we would insist on a room where our daughter would have a single bed, if it was a Saturday night a room as far away from the function room as possible and wouldn't have our evening meal in the restaurant!

Room Tip: If a wedding is on ask to be as far away from the function room as possible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Juliet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Good Friday for one evening. The website prior to booking had painted a picture of the hotel as a beautiful castle country retreat. The hotel is spectacular from the outside, however once you delve under the surface, the whole experience is disappointing. First, the good points, the reception, bar and seating areas are nice.
The disappointing bits were the poor service at breakfast, no wifi signal in the room as promised, outdated televisions, poor shower pressure and scalding bath tap dripping once the shower was activated. I would like to think it was a once off, but my partner received her breakfast on a plate encrusted in tin foil, a black substance and dried food with her lovely cooked breakfast on top. We had waited 15 mins for this breakfast and were not very happy. Needless to say the mistake was rectified and apologies given, however the breakfast experience was spoilt for us after this. Could do better!, we feel with better staff training and a care for detail things could improve dramatically.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Mhavebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at The Newton Hotel. You did give me the heads up on this by showing me your posting before you left the hotel. I can only reitterate what I said to you then, that the plate with foil stuck to the underside of it was totally unacceptable. When you left the hotel I did check out the shower pressure and dripping tap that you had complained about in your room and found that the dripping tap was actually water that was running down the shower hose from the shower head, this was rectifiied immediately. Having recently arrived at the hotel, I am concentrating my efforts on making sure that the standards of service are up to those that our guests expect when coming to stay in such a fine establishment, I can assure you that this will be achieved very quickly. I hope that you will return to the Newton to see what can be done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We are travelling the UK and stayed mostly at 2 star hotels which had surprisingly amazing food, bar stock and rooms, which is why we expected real value for money from the Newton Hotel, only to be disappointed. There is no variety in beers and ciders in bottles or on tap, the salmon was dry, the beef shin lacked flavour and the lasagne's beef was chewy and sometimes hard to chew. A little bummed especially because the hotel has been awarded for a few years in a row for their excellence. Maybe our expectations were too high but should one not expect something other than excellence?

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank Tamsin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Tamsin, thank you for your comments about your stay at the Newton Hotel. Irrespective of good or bad, guest comments are important to us, and the comments you have made regarding your food, have been acted upon. You are correct in your remark that you should expect better quality, in a hotel of this standing and I can only apologise, for the disappointing meals that you received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
607 reviews
14.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Muthu Hotel

Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland (Formerly Newton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: £56 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Newton Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Muthu Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing