We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit run down”
Review of Newton Muthu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newton Muthu Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A bit run down”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was at the hotel with work so what it looked like dont tend to bother me so much. However despite it having character the room I was intially allocated had a number of issues - including old windows which failed to open without sticking a block of wood at the bottle. Health and Safety alert!! The TVs and the channels available was also poor for this day and age. I did complain and was moved straight away with no grumbles from staff. The South African bar man was lovely, very attentive and friendly. The Spanish receptionist was also a lovely addition to what seemed like a very mediocre team otherwise. I would be likely to try othre hotels in the area for work in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerryyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    294
    116
    60
    29
See reviews for
142
471
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed there the last night of our backpacking holidays, kind of as a treat at the end. Although we were clearly not their usual clientele and a bit worn down from our journey, we felt very welcome. As we had found an amazing last minute deal for a suite, we did not pay much for the suite. It was a bit weird, that if we wanted to book the room with breakfast, the price would have more than doubled...

The room was clean and comfy, but a practical test of the chaise longue revealed that a normal sofa is way more comfortable... Great style of furnishing, though.

Internet connection was more on the slow side, a bit weird for a conference hotel. Might be the location of our room, though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Newton Hotel has managed to combine just the right amount of modern with the right amount of aged. It had the charm of an old building; wooden floors, real keys instead of key cards, large armoires. And yet it was modernized enough to be comfortable with big beds, modern shower, free wireless internet. The breakfast and dinner was fantastic also, as was the staff. The surrounding area is so beautiful. We even saw deer outside the window as we were eating dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candyp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel set in lovely grounds in the beautiful seaside town of Nairn is in need of updating. Our room was large but the TV was veer old and low down on the floor making it difficult to watch in bed. In order to get a decent shower you need to run around under the water!
Rooms were surface clean but could do with a really good deep cleaning.
The main issue was the food. Breakfast - superb. Full Scottish consisted of 2 eggs bacon 2 sausage beans mushrooms tomatoes potato cake black pudding and haggis. A real feast!
However .... Dinner was a totally different experience. This four star hotel offers a choice of just 4 starters, 4 mains and 4 sweets. The food is very basic and much of it obviously not freshly prepared on site. The same 2 desserts appeared for 3 nights running.
Staff are friendly and welcoming but the hotel needs to get its act together and improve standards all round.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MissMarple41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely hotel, nice large bedroom old fashioned but thats the charm of the hotel, we asked for an upgrade and got it without any problems. We had a Bar Supper which was good, nice breakfast, the staff were all friendly. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G50J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We found this hotel ideal for a short relaxing break. The location was excellent, quiet, peaceful and the large grounds the perfect setting for the Scottish Baronial Mansion hotel. The room was large clean and comfortable. The food in the ding room and breakfast room was superb and the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. we will certainly be recommending this hotel to our friends and family and will definately return at another date in future.

Room Tip: Request a delux/superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotsmanJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

First impression when arriving at the hotel you may think of a hidden jewel. The great feeling did not last long as you entered the room and see that the facilities are old as well as the tube TV and the bathroom. Taking a shower was a challenge as there was no water pressure and was difficult to balance the hot and cold water.
Food was not any better as the fish ordered by my wife was very stinky. She was offered a replacement but the damage was done and she would not accept.
Ordering a beer at the bar was also a challenge and after waiting for ten minutes to be attended by the bartender to finish a non work related conversation I decided to leave. The bartender then decided to ask if he could be of any help.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Walker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.3 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
397 reviews
21.0 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#6 of 9 in Nairn
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton Muthu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Muthu Hotel

Property: Newton Muthu Hotel
Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland (Formerly Newton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Newton Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Muthu Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing