We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
432
359
133
65
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
359
133
65
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland cows charlie chaplin cie tour executive room beautiful hotel lovely grounds wedding party underfloor heating huge bed loved this hotel an upgrade dining room a bit tired evening meal main course lovely view waiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Newton Hotel appears quite impressive from the outset when you arrive. The hotel is generally in good order for the most part. However the twin room I had was nothing special and looking somewhat tired in certain respects - especially the bathroom which was very dated. The carpet in the bedroom was also worn and torn in one area.

My room was also positioned right above the restaurant so not surprisingly noise infiltrates into the room. Not ideal if you want an early night. Likewise you will be potentially woken early in the morning when breakfast service starts.

The breakfast was reasonable but nothing great The food quality was a bit poor as if they were trying to cut corners and the breakfast room/restaurant decor was visibly tired.

Overall not a bad hotel but not a great one either. To me the Muthu Newton Hotel needs an overhaul and some investment to fulfill its potential. It definitely was not worth the money I paid and I would not be inclined to use it again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We certainly have plans to upgrade the restaurant and some of our older rooms shortly.
I will speak with kitchen regards breakfast. Thank you for your feedback it is always helpful to receive constructive comments and we do hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night being guests at a wedding. Our double room was lovely - large and very comfortable. Such a comfy bed! It is a very old hotel so it is being kept to very good standards.Breakfast was very good, and it is so nice to have freshly prepared scrambled egg which hasn't been lying in a buffet for hours. We would love to come back and stay in the turret room!

Room Tip: The turret room looks lovely
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank comfortlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.The turret room has fantastic views and is always popular.
with guests who stay in it. Hope we can welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here a few years ago before it was a 'Muthu' Hotel! It was a fantastic stay and a great standard of comfort and luxury with an incredible restaurant. A real 'Gem' outside of Inverness. As we were running late back to get the Ferry home to Orkney we booked here for a night and was a good excuse to go back there as we loved our stay previously. Booked on line via mobile the same day and got there in the afternoon. The slightly 'downbeat' welcome (not even a smile!) started us wondering already 'oh dear'! Nice size room (Executive double) but very tired. Found the tea and coffee making bits eventually in the cupboard and the mugs were dirty, the tray they were on was wet and tea stained. The room was very tired as was the bathroom too with the usual over use of bathroom sealant stuck everywhere and a nasty unsightly 'over painted' swollen water damaged ceiling (leak from above?) The room table was stained and a gritty substance all over the dressing table/desk. Also the curtains were ripped badly at one end. Frayed bed upholstery also making furniture look tired. Hair product container under chair from last guest and cobwebs under pelmet. The hair dryer was sticky and dirty from some one else's use which was pretty disgusting and a bed side lamp that didn't work. Poor housekeeping. There is a big photo of the owner 'Muthu' in reception with his motto for his success etc which based on this experience falls below his expectations I should think! The evening meal in the restaurant and the breakfast were excellent and with good friendly and helpful waiting staff. Being honest though it was not as good as the previous experience where the restaurant was set up better and had some of the best food ever sampled!
All in all it was was nothing compared to the previous visit and for the price and market the Hotel caters for I would always be confident of a better standard of room condition and houskeeping at a Travel Lodge! I would say to the Hotel that their offering to the more luxury expecting guest is petentious so either do it well or not at all!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nevada3752000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We did receive your feedback on departure and our apologises for the room servicing, this has been discussed at length with housekeeping staff.
We will use the winter period to address some work in the rooms,when there is just more opportunity to take rooms off for a longer period whilst the room is given some additional work that we cannot do during the busier summer period.
There has been repairs to curtains, bathroom floors replaced & many other works completed in the rooms and we will continue to do this as the opportunities allow.
We are pleased you enjoyed the food in the evening and at breakfast and pleased be assured we value the feedback given and will be pushing on with improvements and ensuring all room elements are at there very best.
We do hope that you will return and stay with us again in the near future, feedback is always helpful in setting standards and thank you for taking time to advise us of the points that you felt below the standards set on your earlier visit.

Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

travelled to Nairn for work..single room £68 with breakfast..great value,a decent hotel,only down side was at breakfast..couldnt get a single seat,full of American guests,might be an idea to push bus parties all together rather than let 6 sit at an 8 seat table..im there to work..bit of breakfast and out..not to sit and wait .in the grand scheme of things an irritation,overall v good

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcreosote2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thank you for your review. We try to ensure that there are enough seats in the breakfast area for guests to use & I apologise that this was not the case when you stayed with us. I will advise the breakfast staff to try to ensure there is available tables for guests who need in and out quickly in the morning. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Price was lower than normal for this time of year due to recieving some late cancellations

Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Hotel is very pretty and a well preserved estate home.Within walking distance of the Loch. We were there during a very warm Scottish summer. No air conditioning and no fans provided. Windows did not open completely so a miserable night and no hot water in the shower. We arrived after 9 pm so by the time we tested the shower we did not call the staff. Next day they did apologize, but that was it. Hotel is geared towards weddings. Would I stay again, no. Staff was courteous and breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egyptgiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray M, General Manager at Muthu Newton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you would not visit again. There is always hot water available within the hotel so this is unusual and I am sorry we were unable to help you rectify this and help with opening the window further for you during your stay
Thank you for your feedback on the staff and breakfast.
I do hope you will reconsider staying with us again we do value the feedback and we always will try to address issues raised.

Kind Regards
Murray McPhee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews