We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B owned by really friendly and hospitable couple”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glebe End Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 38 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent B&B owned by really friendly and hospitable couple”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I was really lucky to have chosen this B & B in Nairn. I have stayed in many B & B's every time I visit this part of Scotland and this was by far the best I have ever stayed in. The house is lovely, clean and comfortable and I was very happy there. The breakfasts are served up very quickly as they already know what you have chosen because you fill in a form the day before. I felt as if Angela and George were old friends - they are hospitable and friendly. The house is situated in an excellent part of Nairn, short trip to the beach and the town. I will certainly go back to Glebe End.

Lesley T.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker4, Owner at Glebe End Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Hello Lesley, Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us and your kind comments. Your card and cheque arrived safely but really there was no need as the mistake was mine. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
81
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We recently had the good fortune to find and stay at this lovely B & B in Nairn which is a charming seaside village near Inverness. Our hosts Angela and George were friendly, hospitable and helpful and our breakfast was excellent.
This B & B is perfectly located near the sea and a short walk to a pub and other places of interest like the old fisher men's cottages on the shore. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. We would highly recommend this B&B
to anyone lucky enough to be in that part of the world.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fitz354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker4, Owner at Glebe End Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Your stay with us in May seems a very long time ago. Thank you so much for taking the time to review Glebe End and we are pleased that you have good memories of your stay in Nairn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were given an early check in as our flight arrived at lunchtime but right from the beginning we were made to feel that everything was a bit too much trouble!
The rooms were nice, the bathroom clean and spacious (shower wasn't very strong but there was a large traditional bath) however this was over shadowed by the fact that everything had to fit in mostly with the hosts timescales and social calendar and they were not very flexible like most B & B's we are used to staying in ....
Breakfast had to be eaten on a pre-booked time-slot and although there was a good choice and well served, the hostess continually hovered and interrupted & made us feel as if we had to finish before we were ready so they could clear away and get on!
Same thing on check out - we had to be out by 10am SHARP and vacate the premises by 11am as they had 'plans'! This was so rigorously kept to that we were even woken by Angela knocking on our door before we got up to confirm we knew what time we had to leave which we just felt was rude and inhospitable on our last morning as we had not been late for anything during our stay.
We also needed to use an iron on the day of the wedding we were attending but weren't able to because the hosts was 'too busy' that day for them to get it out (you might be forgiven for thinking we were asking them to iron it for us, which we weren't!) - so it all had to be done the evening before when we were tired and just wanted an early night!
On the plus side, location was good - walking distance to the beach and shops/high street, breakfast was good and the beds nice and clean/comfortable. (the tea tray didn't get re-stocked for biscuits unfortunately so take your own if staying more than one night!)
Overall, we wouldn't stay here again and just felt that it was too over bearing and military style for our relaxed break.
There are plenty of choices of B&B for Nairn especially in this price range so maybe weigh up how easy going you need your stay to be as we left feeling quite stressed and that we were a bit of an inconvenience rather than feeling like a respected guest and the customer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JessicaR409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker4, Manager at Glebe End Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
This review comes as no surprise as there was nothing we could do to please this lady. Readers of this review will immediately see that there was a personality clash between my wife and the reviewer. This was a wedding party consisting of 7 people: it covered 3 generations – grandmother, mother of the bride, her sister and her 4 teenage children.

On arrival at 11.30am their rooms were not quite ready for them so they were shown into the guest’s lounge. One of the teenagers produced a very sticky chocolate cake and was asked not to take it into the bedroom, they were also advised that we do not allow hot, take away food, upstairs but that they were very welcome to eat in the conservatory.

After check in they stayed in their rooms for most of the day and only went out briefly as the weather was not very good and they did not have a car. The mother of the bride came down in the evening to iron her wedding clothes and was asked if anyone else wanted to use the iron could they do so in the evening as, with no laundry room, the kitchen is very busy in the mornings.

We serve breakfast between 08.00 and 09.00 and when busy we need to know what time guests are coming down. We did serve a later breakfast at 09.30 on two mornings as we assumed it would be appreciated after a late wedding party. That morning the reviewer and her four children returned to their rooms and remained there for most of the day. We asked if we could service their rooms and were told this was not necessary – hence no replenishment of the hospitality trays.

On the day of departure we ask guests to vacate their rooms by 10.00 to enable us to prepare them for the next guests. When at 09.10 there was no sign of movement we knocked on their door to ensure that they had not over slept. Angela and I were involved in a Rotary fund raising event (The Nairnshire Challenge) so were committed to leaving the house by 11.00. The party were not due to fly south until 18.00. and they had not planned how to pass the time prior to their flight which was a great inconvenience to them. It was not our responsibility to make our home available to them for the rest of the day.

It seems that a hotel would have provided a more acceptable place to stay for this party, as they did not appreciate the personal attention that we provide. We pride ourselves with making people feel at home in our house as other reviews reflect. Sadly this was not so in this case. You cannot please all of the people all of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindesberg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Absolutely the best accomodation on our stay in Scotland. Resonable price, fantastic rooms and propably the nicest hosts in the world. Strongly rekommended if you are in the neighbourhood. Lovely seated by the sea and Scotlands nicest beach just a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker4, Owner at Glebe End Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Glebe End. We really appreciate the lovely things you said and hope that the remainder of your holiday went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

A truly lovely old Victorian home, meticulously maintained and comfortably furnished. Couldn't be in a better location, across the street from a park and the beach. Easy walking distance to very good (one excellent) restaurants. Hosts are helpful, friendly and eager to assist. They made excellent recommendations for activities and restaurants and made our reservations! The gardens surrounding the home are lovely and well maintained so a late afternoon enjoying tea in the side yard is a real treat. A lovely green house room adjoins the common room for rainy days. Our made to order breakfasts were always excellent and our bed and en suite bathroom was scrupulously clean. Every comfort has been thought of... Including cozy robes. In the highlands, you can't do better! Thank you Angela & George for your hospitality!

Room Tip: Some rooms with en suite bathrooms, others with personal bathroom just down the hall. Some with sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker4, Owner at Glebe End Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Your review was very much appreciated and we hope your golf in Scotland exceeded your expectations. We wish Wes all the best in his future career and hope that you will return again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Glebe End Bed and Breakfast was undoubtedly the best bed and breakfasts that we have stayed in Scotland. It's actually like staying with friends in their beautiful home. Both Angela and George are warm, friendly and hospitable.it is located on the edge of a park next to the beach. The bedrooms and the bathroom are extremely tastefully decorated and so is the house. It's very easy to see why they fell in love with the house.

We had one twin room and one double room with a shared bathroom. The bathroom actually had the old-time bath tub which you see in either movies or really opulent hotels. The beauty of the house is only exceeded by the warmth that you experience from the hosts.both of them are well travelled, knowledgeable and happy to have conversations with you. Angela even offered to make reservations for us for dinner.

Though naiern is a very quiet town, we really enjoyed our visit thanks to Angela and George. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: don't worry if you don't get a Seaview room. All rooms have nice views and the beach is anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedarvashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker4, Owner at Glebe End Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We very much enjoyed sharing our home with this family from India and hope, one day, to visit the Golden Triangle and see more of their country. Your review is very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 lovely days in and around Nairn. Thanks to hosts Angela and George, this time was made even better!! The accommodation is absolutely beautiful, rooms tastefully decorated and very, very comfortable. Breakfast was incredible with a wide variety of fruits, cereals and home-cooked porridge which my husband enjoyed each morning. Following that a hot breakfast including any type of eggs, bacon, tomato and lots more was cooked to order...delicious!! Angela and George are extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants, places to visit and things to do. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Nairn and would love to return one day.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hobo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker4, Owner at Glebe End Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Glebe End and for giving us such praise - it is always nice to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope you enjoyed Ullapool and that you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cawdor House
Cawdor House
#2 of 38 in Nairn
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe End Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe End Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glebe End Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glebe End 1 Glebe Road, Nairn IV12 4ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Victorian Villa overlooking the Moray Firth, Glebe End is the home of Angela and George Mackay who moved back to Nairn in 2001 after an absence of 30 years. Like our visitors, we booked into Glebe End for Bed and Breakfast, but in our case we ended up buying it! Renovations provide comfortable B&B accommodation and enables us to offer guests a choice of 3 bedrooms: 1 double/twin with an en suite bathroom; 1 double/twin with private bathroom and 1 family/double/twin en suite with a sea view. Each bedroom has a colour TV, a hospitality tray and a hairdryer. Breakfast is served in our elegant dining room or in the conservatory and every effort is made to meet your dietary needs. Free Wi Fi internet connectivity is also available as is off road parking. We try to make your stay with us memorable and hope that you will want to return in the future. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glebe End Bed And Breakfast Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing