We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Jewel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glebe End Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 38 Nairn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Jewel”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a wonderful B&B! My stay was in September, but I still want express the joy in finding Glebe End. I wanted a "jewel" to remember my wonderful Scottish trip and who would know the "jewel" would be the Glebe End B&B! Not only did it look like a castle on the outside, the inside was even more impressive. Angela and George were so very nice and I truly was in awe when we entered their home. So beautifully decorated! Our room had a bay window set for enjoying afternoon tea while watching the Scotland flag flying in the yard and the other window looked out over a beautiful park and just beyond, the ocean. Breakfast was delicious and the room our meal was served in was so, so pretty. Angela and George were very hospital and have gone to great strides to make a beautiful and welcoming place to stay. This was my first trip to Scotland and Nairn and I thank them for this wonderful memory!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
81
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This B&B is the nicest Bed & Breakfast we have ever stayed in! Attention to every detail - I really do mean EVERY detail - in the comfort, decor, breakfast & hospitality was unsurpassed on our 15 day Scottish holiday. We highly recommend Glebe End. Nairn is a great little village and if you plan to visit Culloden or Clava Cairns, you'll find them close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent two weeks travelling throughout Scotland at the beginning of September and stayed at this gorgeous B&B for three nights. Without a doubt, out of all the places we stayed in Scotland, this was by far our favourite for many reasons. First of all, Angela and George are wonderful hosts who helped us with our endless questions about what we should do, where we could eat etc.. The house itself is beautiful, the rooms are spotless, the beds are very comfortable, and the breakfasts delicious! We loved having breakfast with the other guests and found it a great way to meet people. We even bumped into other guests who we had met at Glebe End when we went to the Isle of Skye and met for a pint one night which added to the great memories of our first trip to Scotland. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirsten459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We finished off a most enjoyable Scottish trip in this gorgeous guesthouse. Everything was spot on... bedrooms were comfortable and tastefully decorated, breakfast was perfect with fresh fruit and an array of food cooked to order and served with a great sense of humour. The nightcap at the kitchen table, where our hosts tried to explain the intricacies of Scottish politics to us, was a memory that remains with us
.... Thank you Angela and George

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This rates as one of the best B&B premises I have visited.
The food was excellent and well served,the rooms were fist class and very comfortable and the atmosphere very pleasant.
One thing I found quite uncomfortable with was the communal table with all the guests eating together at the same table but at separate times. The other guests had earlier breakfast than us and we felt like we were intruding on them when we came down. Quite strange!
Would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After being completely disappointed by our one night stay at an area hotel the night prior, we were so very happily surprised by the wonderfulness of Glebe End for our second night stay in Nairn. Using the word meticulous to describe this bed and breakfast is perfect from top to bottom; our room was more sumptious, comfortable, and clean than the costlier hotel room and the wonderful touches of the china service and other room decorations were above and beyond expectations. Hosts Angela and George were incredibly nice and we enjoyed their company and the company of our fellow travelers during the full Scottish breakfast in the gorgeous dining room. Glebe End was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millicent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Vt
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were very sorry that we only had one night to share in this meticulously maintained B&B. Every detail for tired travelers was addressed from wonderful pillows and mattresses to china tea cups and water ready for tea. Angela and Gordon are delightful hosts who foster discussion between guests and are a wealth of information. Wish we had more time to enjoy the sumptuous breakfasts and lovely surroundings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenmountaingal32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.2 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
865 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cawdor House
Cawdor House
#1 of 38 in Nairn
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe End Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe End Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glebe End Bed and Breakfast
Address: Glebe End 1 Glebe Road, Nairn IV12 4ED, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Victorian Villa overlooking the Moray Firth, Glebe End is the home of Angela and George Mackay who moved back to Nairn in 2001 after an absence of 30 years. Like our visitors, we booked into Glebe End for Bed and Breakfast, but in our case we ended up buying it! Renovations provide comfortable B&B accommodation and enables us to offer guests a choice of 3 bedrooms: 1 double/twin with an en suite bathroom; 1 double/twin with private bathroom and 1 family/double/twin en suite with a sea view. Each bedroom has a colour TV, a hospitality tray and a hairdryer. Breakfast is served in our elegant dining room or in the conservatory and every effort is made to meet your dietary needs. Free Wi Fi internet connectivity is also available as is off road parking. We try to make your stay with us memorable and hope that you will want to return in the future. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glebe End Bed And Breakfast Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing