We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks as if it has changed hands”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duchally Guest House
Ranked #29 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The rave reviews for this place all seem to be in 2007 or before. It was nothing special. When we arrived there was no one around to welcome us other than a very friendly cat. As someone else has mentioned, it all felt slightly bizarre. The television in the room did not work and the free wi-fi mentioned on the website was not in evidence. Significantly, most of the tourist brochures in the sitting room were also for 2007 which showed little attention to detail by the present owners. It was quite difficult to sleep as we could not close the blind on the large velux window overhead. The toast at breakfast was cheap supermarket white. There was no choice of white or brown. Bacon and egg were fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MairiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2011

Fantastic house and attentive service. Room was very comfortable and we both enjoyed Philip's stories at breakfast :-)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DWilson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We needed somewhere to stay and Mrs Wallace was generous enough to open just for us as most of the places all told us they were closed for the festive season.

The welcome could not have been more friendly and now over three years late my sons are still talking about the stay we had.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essarjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Duchally guest house is in a very grand old house near the centre of Nairn. Car parking is plenteous and the guest house is easily located from the main road (the A96).

I was staying in a large room; I suspect that this was the family room. The ensuite facilities were good and the shower was excellent.

On the downside, the decor wasn't particularly up to date and the room was a little on the cold front. Perhaps the heating could have been cranked up a bit before I arrived. Cleanliness was adequate but could have been improved.

Breakfast was good and served quickly and efficiently. The dining room wasn't exactly warm though.

There were some aspects of the house that were slightly bizarre though, notably the lack of security and the walls being adorned with ancient weaponry!

All in all a more than reasonable if unconventional guest house.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23rdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

I am very unimpressed with this b&b.
I had booked a room months in advance for a week long stay. When I arrived the lady who answered the door was very short with me and then proceeded to tell me I would have to take the room across the hall from the very noisy laundry room and kitchen.
The room and house were nothing special.

I dropped my bag off left for about 20 minutes and cancelled my room with this place instead slept at a friends house. They didn't seem to care or even question why I wouldn't want to be there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hairycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

I stayed over for two nights with my wife and two kids (12 & 13). we stayed in a family room (big bed, tv, bunk bed, en suite), It was clean and tidy and had all we needed. Plus we could use the guest lounge. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. And the breakfast massive, didn't need lunch! All for £60 per night for all 4 of us (winter rate).
I'm about to book an overnight in Nairn again. I'll book the Duchally, that's the acid test I guess.
TP

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank timpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

We loved this place. The owners were so lovely to my husband and I. We arrived very late from the USA, and they treated us like family.

The rooms are large, the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are just lovely. The food is awesome! Scottish breakfasts? I wish we had those back home in USA.

In short, after traveling all the way from D.C to Scotland....we couldn't have found a better place to stay.

My husband and I loved it so much, that we are returning to Scotland next year, and will be staying at the place we hope to be calling "our secret place in Europe"!

10/10.....and the price was good too!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AndreaLee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.5 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#7 of 9 in Nairn
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duchally Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duchally Guest House

Address: 3 Wellington Road, Nairn IV12 4RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Duchally Guest House Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing