We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and User Friendly.”
Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braeval Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and User Friendly.”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a lovely little hotel situated centrally and overlooking a very picturesque Nairn Beach on the Moray Firth. Very friendly and accommodating staff, the girl I met on arrival was really helpful, letting me deposit a very heavy holdall in my room even though I had arrived well before the specified check-in time. The Bandstand bar has an excellent selection of ales, ciders and the all important single malts-many of which are displayed amongst other curios in the splendid Sea View restaurant, which is very appropriately named. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and along with a superb breakfast represents extremely good value for money. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view. Specify upon booking. Should also book a table for dinner as the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougiemac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for your delightful comments. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit. It's a good tip to others to book the restaurant in advance as we are often busy and especially at weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    150
    42
    16
    5
See reviews for
52
152
50
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were a party of four golfers visiting the area for a couple of days. Found the Braeval online and booked for dinner at 9pm and a nights stay.
fantastic pub in the htel -great staff warm and friendly
rooms small but very adequate and suited the price point well
Dinner fantastic and a large choice
Would recommend highly.
And what a lovely place Nairn is too!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croftScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to see you back next year. We are so lucky to live in Nairn - a fantastic display of dolphins seen from the restaurant last night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Nicely situated in central Nairn and close enough to Inverness, Culloden, Ft George and other places worth visiting, all within 10 miles. Hotel is old, but rooms are clean and comfortable and the shower is hot and powerful. The restaurant doesn't serve breakfast until 0800. Not much use to me as I was on business and needed to leave at 0730, but a continental breakfast was left at the door and it was fine. The only problem was that there is an air conditioning unit outside the window and this came on around 0400. It spoilt an otherwise good night's sleep. I couldn't feed back to anyone as the place was in darkness when I went downstairs to leave. They must have been having a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view of the sea, but if you can't sleep through the constant buzz of an air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PutneyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
I'm sorry breakfast time did not suit, but you must have been aware of this prior to booking as the information is widely published along with information about rooms and prices. Cooked breakfast is served from 7.30am (on request). Continental or packed lunch is offered to guests who need to leave earlier - this is usually satisfactory to our guests.

I'm sorry you had a disturbed night's sleep. This is the first report about noise in this room and I will look into it. The air conditioning unit could be moved if it is found to be causing a problem.

Note of interest: The Braeval is old! It is a Victorian villa, built in 1857, but completely renovated recently and is decorated every year and carefully maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Loved our one night stay at the Braeval Hotel. Seriously considered inquiring about a second nights stay, even though we had reservations in Fort William. Gordon the proprietor was an unbelievable host - warm, engaging, gave us a "seminar" on beer and whiskey, brought out a map to show us a more picturesque way to Isle of Skye. Wonderfully friendly without being pushy. STAY HERE - can't beat the price, the accommodations, the food, the service, the wait staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kent g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Your comments are much appreciated. It's lovely to hear. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Front rooms have great views - spent ages just watching people and dogs coming and going. Very comfortable room, although bathroom on the small side. Great range of beer. Good choice for a stay in Nairn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Not sure what to expect after booking online but couldn't fault the hotel. From the minute we arrived we received a very warm welcome. The hotel staff were all very friendly and although we only stayed 3 nights, we were treated like old friends. We had a double and single room (numbers 4 and 5) which were both fine. The breakfast was really good. (Gluten free porridge, muesli and toast made available) We booked to eat in the restaurant on 2 of the 3 evenings, and whilst not the cheapest place to eat, the standard of the food was excellent. My husband and mother in law both enthused over the haggis starter and I can thoroughly recommend the seafood chowder. The steaks were equally delicious and cooked to perfection. Would definitely recommend to friends and would book this hotel again if ever in the area. Thankyou for a very pleasant stay. Note: I have rated this as a "family booking" as none of the options really applied. Our party in fact comprised couple aged 58-60 and mother in law aged 86.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit. We do try to make all our guests feel welcome. We always have a choice of vegetarian and gluten free products. If guests have other special dietary requirements, we will always try to accommodate them and if they let us know in advance of their stay, this is helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This review is about the restaurant and pub that are part of this hotel. We did not stay at the property, but if it's anything near the experience we had there tonight I'd not hesitate. My fiance and I were looking for some good food with a view of the sea and we landed there. She had the monkfish and I had the sea bass. They were both phenomenal...the monkfish especially. It's a must. Once we finished up, we moseyed over to the bar to try a different beer (they've got a very good selection) and were approached by a few gentlemen that ended up being amazing company. The owner, Gordon, was one of them. Very knowledgable and passionate about food, beer and whisky and just truly good people. The combination of the company and the food/beer make the evening a memorable one. I would recommend the experience of this restaurant/pub/hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlprater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We're so pleased to have been part of such a happy and special time for you. We hope you can return for another visit sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
120 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boath House
Boath House
#6 of 9 in Nairn
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Property: Braeval Hotel
Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing