We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub with rooms”
Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Braeval Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The young staff are friendly and very helpful. The views from the restaurant are magnificent and the food served there is of good quality, though pricey. To be fair, the area is expensive for good food. The rooms are very reasonably priced. Our room was number 4 which was small but comfortable. The downside is the noise from the decking below which can go on until midnight.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paintings23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are a pub-hotel and we had an autumn beer festival on during your visit. The weather was so lovely that visitors were chatting and enjoying their real ale outside. At other times, it can be very quiet here, but we are happy to allocate quiet rooms on request, where available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very pleasant stay at the Braeval Hotel. Room very comfortable, with a sea view, and staff lovely and friendly. Great selection of beers and nice food in the bar, though evening meals a wee bit expensive (£12+ for fish and chips for example, which is more than we would pay in a similar bar/restaurant in Edinburgh). Nairn is a really nice town to visit for a weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambomeanshello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for your comments. I hope to see you back at the Braeval in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a lovely little hotel situated centrally and overlooking a very picturesque Nairn Beach on the Moray Firth. Very friendly and accommodating staff, the girl I met on arrival was really helpful, letting me deposit a very heavy holdall in my room even though I had arrived well before the specified check-in time. The Bandstand bar has an excellent selection of ales, ciders and the all important single malts-many of which are displayed amongst other curios in the splendid Sea View restaurant, which is very appropriately named. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and along with a superb breakfast represents extremely good value for money. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view. Specify upon booking. Should also book a table for dinner as the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougiemac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for your delightful comments. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit. It's a good tip to others to book the restaurant in advance as we are often busy and especially at weekends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were a party of four golfers visiting the area for a couple of days. Found the Braeval online and booked for dinner at 9pm and a nights stay.
fantastic pub in the htel -great staff warm and friendly
rooms small but very adequate and suited the price point well
Dinner fantastic and a large choice
Would recommend highly.
And what a lovely place Nairn is too!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croftScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to see you back next year. We are so lucky to live in Nairn - a fantastic display of dolphins seen from the restaurant last night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Nicely situated in central Nairn and close enough to Inverness, Culloden, Ft George and other places worth visiting, all within 10 miles. Hotel is old, but rooms are clean and comfortable and the shower is hot and powerful. The restaurant doesn't serve breakfast until 0800. Not much use to me as I was on business and needed to leave at 0730, but a continental breakfast was left at the door and it was fine. The only problem was that there is an air conditioning unit outside the window and this came on around 0400. It spoilt an otherwise good night's sleep. I couldn't feed back to anyone as the place was in darkness when I went downstairs to leave. They must have been having a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view of the sea, but if you can't sleep through the constant buzz of an air c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PutneyPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

I'm sorry breakfast time did not suit, but you must have been aware of this prior to booking as the information is widely published along with information about rooms and prices. Cooked breakfast is served from 7.30am (on request). Continental or packed lunch is offered to guests who need to leave earlier - this is usually satisfactory to our guests.

I'm sorry you had a disturbed night's sleep. This is the first report about noise in this room and I will look into it. The air conditioning unit could be moved if it is found to be causing a problem.

Note of interest: The Braeval is old! It is a Victorian villa, built in 1857, but completely renovated recently and is decorated every year and carefully maintained.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Loved our one night stay at the Braeval Hotel. Seriously considered inquiring about a second nights stay, even though we had reservations in Fort William. Gordon the proprietor was an unbelievable host - warm, engaging, gave us a "seminar" on beer and whiskey, brought out a map to show us a more picturesque way to Isle of Skye. Wonderfully friendly without being pushy. STAY HERE - can't beat the price, the accommodations, the food, the service, the wait staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kent g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Your comments are much appreciated. It's lovely to hear. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Front rooms have great views - spent ages just watching people and dogs coming and going. Very comfortable room, although bathroom on the small side. Great range of beer. Good choice for a stay in Nairn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
920 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunny Brae
Sunny Brae
#5 of 9 in Nairn
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range: £67 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing