We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Braeval Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unfortunately very average”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Trying to find some positives about our stay at this hotel, so let's deal with the negatives 1st. Worst bed we slept in during our 19 day road trip. Tiniest ensuite we had the mispleasure of attempting to use, not acceptable when a barely 6ft tall person can't sit on the loo without banging knees on the wall and head for that matter. Room was tired and in need of an overhaul.
Okay now some positives, room was a good size, shower whilst small had a decent supply of hot water, staff were fantastic during checking in, bar, restaurant ( see Bandstand review) and breakfast/ check out plus wifi was appreciated and very reliable.
For those considering staying, Braeval isn't 5 star, you aren't paying 5 star prices, probably would have rated higher if the bed had been decent. No regrets but won't stay again but would certainly eat at the Restaurant and have a drink in the Bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingScorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad your experience of the restaurant, breakfast and staff was good. The en suite in this room is small (although adequate for a 3 star pub-hotel). However, our aim is always to improve our product, so we had already scheduled alterations to make this large sea view bedroom slightly smaller and the en suite larger. This will be completed in December as we work through our end of season re-decoration of all our rooms. I have had no other negative feedback about the comfort of this bed, but will check it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    143
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
52
146
49
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we felt welcome, the whole team were friendly and nothing was too much for them. Having my elderly father with us meant there were a few requests for variations of food, this was totally fine with them, the food was delicious. The rooms were clean and warm.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfair, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The floors were creaky and uneven. It was a small room with a great view of the ocean and beach. Staff was friendly. Good water pressure, desk and chair. Quiet when we were here. Had a room on the second floor.
Good location to the center of town.

Good walk on one of the only beaches we saw that you could actually walk on. Can do laundry down in the RV park/caravan park.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Two night stay in the top two rooms of this small hotel. The staff was excellent, very helpful and accommodating. One room had a beautiful ocean view. Breakfast was good, plenty of continental options or a hot breakfast was offered. The restaurant did reasonably well for dinner, nothing stunning but the menu had a few creative options and dessert selections were interesting. They were very willing to provide food to be taken up to the rooms. Each of our rooms had a sink with a shared toilet/standing shower. This worked fine for a family but may be less ideal if traveling alone. Other guests complained of noise, but we were insulated from that in our rooms. Parking is limited, although we never had a problem finding a spot. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Having both top rooms for our family worked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
I'm so pleased you had a good visit. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Very good small hotel stayed in single room for 2 nights good bed and clean room
Food is very nice and at a good price ,staff friendly and good at the job. And good location looking over the water would stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcgheeallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post these lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

The young staff are friendly and very helpful. The views from the restaurant are magnificent and the food served there is of good quality, though pricey. To be fair, the area is expensive for good food. The rooms are very reasonably priced. Our room was number 4 which was small but comfortable. The downside is the noise from the decking below which can go on until midnight.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paintings23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are a pub-hotel and we had an autumn beer festival on during your visit. The weather was so lovely that visitors were chatting and enjoying their real ale outside. At other times, it can be very quiet here, but we are happy to allocate quiet rooms on request, where available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Very pleasant stay at the Braeval Hotel. Room very comfortable, with a sea view, and staff lovely and friendly. Great selection of beers and nice food in the bar, though evening meals a wee bit expensive (£12+ for fish and chips for example, which is more than we would pay in a similar bar/restaurant in Edinburgh). Nairn is a really nice town to visit for a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambomeanshello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I hope to see you back at the Braeval in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Property: Braeval Hotel
Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing