We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The charming Braeval Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Braeval Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“The charming Braeval Hotel”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Braeval in Nairn, Scotland, may seem like a few rooms above a pub, but it is indeed a little hotel, with charm and a family friendly atmosphere. The rooms are small but clean and well appointed. The Bandstand Bar is welcoming and boasts an impressive collection of single malt whiskeys. The restaurant has a limited but very good menu. And the breakfast is excellent. But what sets The Breaval apart is the couple who own and run it and their staff who are welcoming, helpful and seem always to be there when you want them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I was very touched by your lovely comments about the Braeval and the welcome you received here. This is exactly what we strive to achieve and it means a lot to know we've pleased someone. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    143
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
52
146
49
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed in a twin room with a seaview. Didn't get a proper chance to explore the region as it was a flying visit but looked lovely. All staff were really friendly and as my train was so early in the morning which meant missing breakfast, the staff made me up a packed lunch which was much appreciated!

Room Tip: go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigspender1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Hopefully, if you can return again you will have the chance to enjoy Nairn - and a lovely cooked breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed one night, room quite small for a double but sea view more than made up for lack of space. Had everything you need for a comfortable stay. Staff very friendly & helpful. Meals very good, breakfast piping hot, served by friendly staff. Would certainly go back to this nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishalice54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and I hope you find the opportunity to return for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

After spending two days exploring the Inverness area using this hotel as a base the location was ideal with connections by both train and buses to the surrounding area.
The Bar and Restaurant of the hotel where busy on both the Friday and Saturday nights so a definite recommendation would be to book a table for the popular Steak night on Fridays.
The room itself was adequate with everything you would expect for a comfortable stay and to make a drink in the morning, The only gripe I would have would be the quality of the mattress which managed to look and feel like a crinkle cut crisp and had I been staying any longer would have caused me to try and find alternative accommodation.

So in overall summary, nice place seemingly very popular in the area so likely to have a busy Bar and Restaurant with theme nights and live music. If a quiet stay is important then check the events on the website for the dates. Although there are direct connections to both Inverness and the Airport, early flights on a Sunday will be problematic using public transport as the first bus out is 10am and first train 12pm.

Room Tip: Room 8 ( Single ) is quiet, sea front facing but whatever you do don't step to you left on enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review - which I'm sure will be very helpful to others considering visiting Nairn and/or the Braeval. We have replaced the mattress in Room 8 following your comments - so, thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here for one night last night on business. Parking on side street which isnt ideal but no drama, its a quiet wee lane and i new that when i booked.
When i arrived the reception was unmanned, but the moment the barman saw me he came over straight away, very friendly, actually new my name as i was expected (which is always nice!) and took the time to actually take me up to my room.
First impressions of the room were it was a bit cramped - a double bed straight across the front of the doorway. But it was clean, and very comfortable.
Ate in the restaurant that night - waitress in the restaurant deserves a special mention, very friendly without being overbearing - the food was first rate (though not cheap). Had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. Had to check out early but was glad that an early breakfast was available and thoroughly enjoyed it. Overall excellent value for money and would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elscodobermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
I'm delighted you enjoyed your first visit to the Braeval and hope to see you back again. Thanks for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Braeval while travelling to the north of Scotland. It was like staying with friends - and then meeting their friends. Room was not large but very cosy and comfortable. The bar was a gem. Small, friendly atmosphere with a large range of ales and huge range of Whiskys. Bandstand Restaurant served excellent food at reasonable prices. The owners and staff were all friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the beach. It's right across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments - and for the lovely presents you left behind for us! It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope you enjoy the rest of your visit in Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This was NOT a quiet hotel. Band thumping away until gone 12.30pm 2 consecutive nights. Ruined my otherwise beautiful stay for a wedding.I had to get up at 4.45 am for early flight out.. So very little sleep here. No staff bothered to tell me this was booked to happen. Was promised a light for bathroom and a packed lunch. Neither arrived. Called night porter/ reception and no one picked up. + side is nice decor and setting near the sea. Food good value.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I am very sorry that we forgot to deliver your free packed lunch to your room. We are a budget priced 3 star hotel so don't have a night porter to answer calls through the night.

However, your main complaint is about noise. And while I don't wish to appear unsympathetic, I cannot understand why you would choose to book a pub-hotel on the weekend before Christmas (when most hotels are holding Christmas parties) if you have to get up at 4.45 am in the morning!

We describe ourselves as a "pub-hotel with live music" on every website and state that "rooms can be affected by noise, particularly at weekends". On booking, customers receive an email which states "if noise is a concern, please contact the hotel to request a quieter room if available". There is an events page on our website which details when live music is scheduled.

You did not tell us in advance - or on arrival - that noise was a concern for you. In fact, you said you were going out to a wedding - so my staff would have no reason to comment about the Christmas party music.

We do everything possible to make sure people are well informed about the Braeval in advance of booking. What else can we possibly be expected to do to ensure that people make the right choice about whether to stay with us or not?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Property: Braeval Hotel
Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing