We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfey place to stay”
Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braeval Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
1 review
“comfey place to stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Very homely and comfortable, reasonably priced and lovely service. Central with everything in the town within walking distance. The beach also in walking distance. lots going on in the hotel, a busy bar and various things advertised including a pending beer festival.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for visiting the Braeval and for taking the time to post your comprehensive review. It's much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    144
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
52
147
49
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Very good small hotel,which would give some of the bigger hotel chains a very good run for their money! Very clean room,great breakfast,good food available in the bar and restaurant.The bar in my opinion is first class with a great selection of beers and malt whiskies.Good value for your money.All the staff very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank william759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you so much and we're glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Braeval. The hotel has a very good pub with a small menu, but with great food. The staff is very helpful, especially the friendly hotel owner who is also a very good source of information on the local whisky routes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kveliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to post your comments. We offer over 100 single malt whiskies and we are always happy to provide information about whisky tours and the whiskies we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Arrived late about 11pm but Staff were helpful, room was small but had everything I needed, left early the next morning, breakfast didn't start till 8am which was a bit late but they were happy to accomodate me 20 minutes earlier, the location is just by the sea and the view is stunning, unfortunately I didn't have time to look around much, but seemed a great location!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidO_Liver2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Braeval Hotel. Perhaps you will be able to return again when you have more time to enjoy Nairn. We are always happy to do early breakfast on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

i found this hotel very friendly the staff are always on hand to help you with whaterever you need the rooms are very clean and tidy with ameneties for tea and coffee the showers arespotlessly claen and the bar has a very good selection of wines beers and spirits also the food is exelent and the price is very reasonable i recomend this hotel to everyone who visits nairn

Room Tip: all rooms have nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I'm so pleased you enjoy staying at the Braeval and I hope you return regularly when visiting Nairn area. Thank you for recommending us to others. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Looking at this hotel on Tripadvisor and the good reviews,we were disappointed when we were shown our room (bedroom 7),It has a great view but it is small,the room could do with with a refurbish,the shower was broken and had been for a while it looked as though it had been tried to be stuck together with glue,we shower wedid report the shower to the owner and it was fixed but why did house keeping not pick it up? There was also old dirty mastic around the shower base.
The pub grub is ok and price ok.
The bar is ok and prices fine
Restaurant prices a wee bit steep for a pub/hotel.
If you are looking for a cheap break then the Braeval is for you.
The hotel has no on site parking so you have to park in the street.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a great sea view,but the door from bar to restaurant bangs all the time. the door from ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyLanarkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
I'm really disappointed that you didn't like your room. It was refurbished three weeks prior to your stay. We installed new double glazing, new curtains, new décor throughout, new mattress, new bedding, extended and wet walled the en suite and installed all new fittings. When you reported your shower head holder broken at breakfast, we replaced it within 30 minutes and offered you the use of the adjacent room's en suite meanwhile. The room itself is 4.8 mtrs x 3.7 mtrs with a large sea view bay window and en suite (2.1 x 1200). Most guests remark on what a lovely room it is - and we think it's lovely too. There are photographs of this room along with size description on all our booking websites, so others can judge for themselves. We state on all our information that we have no private parking, but there is ample free on street parking all around the hotel and a large free car park within 200 mtrs. We are a busy pub-hotel and perhaps this style of hotel isn't to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Again Excellent !!!, This was my 3rd time staying there, Great Food, Great Real Ales & Great Company in bar area.... Staff and other guests very freindly, Ideal place as well if your doing business in the Inverness / Elgin areas as this Hotle is right in the middle !!!!, Will be back again and again...

Room Tip: Stayed there 3 Times , had a diffrent room each time and been superb !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review and for returning to the Braeval repeatedly. It's much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#5 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Property: Braeval Hotel
Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairn
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing