We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...”
Review of Braeval Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Braeval Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A great, little hotell which was perfect for us. We had seaview and to wake up every morning with that view was amazing. Great food and bar. Nice rooms. We will tell all of our friends about it and we would really like to come back one day....Thank you for a great week...

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope you can return again. Thank you for your kind comments and for telling others about the Braeval Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

In a very nice location, very close to the coast. Staff were extremely helpful ad welcoming. The room and bar/restaurant were very comfortable with a great selection of meals. Well worth a visit either as a break or business stay.

Room Tip: Excellent value for money with a friendly welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. We really appreciate the time taken to write a review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Using an iPhone so let's keep it short. Great location - Great rates - great staff - amazing selection of Malts and Beers. Rooms vary but all are clean and showers are good.
OUTSTANDING FOOD. At the Bandstand Restaurant. Honestly I can't think of anywhere better in Nairn to dine. Hope you enjoy as much as I did. Well worth a try - On second thoughts no - if you go there I might not get a room! Bahh shooting myself in the foot here! Only joking! Hope you enjoy your stay .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for this. If we'd written the review ourselves, we couldn't be more pleased as this is just what we are aiming to achieve in our little hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good hotel well situated, our room was small but with high ceiling you don't feel claustrophobic, some little things to improve shower-head needs to be changed , 2 teaspoons for a double room would be great - a blackout blind for the 2nd window as well.
The bar is fabulous and Jock the barman has a great knowledge of Single malt whiskies and he is very friendly.
The restaurant few things as well to improve - green beans too al dente not to say not cooked..., our steaks were not done at our requirements which were rectified thanks. The service door to the kitchen needs cleaning and a kick panel installed, good service and beautiful brown bread.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isabelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed comments. We have carried out the improvements you suggested and blinds for the windows have been ordered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great little pub with some very fine local beers, great views, really good food, vegetarians well catered for, room was small but clean and comfortable again with great views over the links and the beach. Wouldn't think twice about going back. The owners and staff were friendly and effecient . What more could anyone ask for, a really comfortable home from home.

Room Tip: Try to get aroom at the front- the views are a knock out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Reikibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Very comfortable, good location and clean. We had a view of the ocean. Staff was friendly and helpful. We were able to park on street in front of hotel. Make sure you have dinner in the restaurant downstairs. It was one of the best meals we had on our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank OverseasGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

As a business person I have traveled all over Scotland and I can say that this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Very comfortable, friendly staff, good location, excellent food. Only 1 disappointment was that the curtains in the room were thin and allowed the light to come in very early in the morning. I will be using this hotel again the next time I am that far north including Inverness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks and for your suggestions. We have already measured the windows and will soon be installing blinds to cut our the bright summer light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
944 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nairn
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunny Brae
Sunny Brae
#5 of 9 in Nairn
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Albert Inn
The Albert Inn
#8 of 9 in Nairn
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeval Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeval Hotel

Address: Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Price Range: £60 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braeval Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Braeval Hotel is a friendly pub-hotel overlooking Nairn beach. It has spectacular sea views and is close to Nairn town centre and between Nairn's two championship golf courses. It has 8 en-suite bedrooms, some with sea views. The hotel's Bandstand Bar won CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014. It has won this award five times in the last six years. It has 9 Real Ale pumps is Cask Marque accredited and in The Good Beer Guide. The hotel's sea view Restaurant offers excellent Sea Food, Steaks and traditional Scottish dishes from locally sourced produce. The entire length of the restaurant is glass, offering stunning sea views. The decor reflects the character of the Fishertown area of Nairn with period photographs of Nairn when it was a fishing port. Bottlenose dolphins are regularly seen from the Restaurant. The hotel is rated 4 stars by Visit Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Braeval Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeval Hotel Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing