We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Third Annual Stay At This Lovely B & B!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fonthill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 37 Nairn B&B and Inns
wolves
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Third Annual Stay At This Lovely B & B!!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Playing in an annual local Golfing Tourament in Nairn we found this Lovely Bed & Breakfast three years ago, Excellent first impressions resulted in it now being our annual accomadation. Perfect hosts Janice & Dave for whom nothing is too much trouble including early rises to provide Janice's Five Star Breakfast which sets us up for the day. This year we were extremely impressed with the newly refurbished bedrooms which only added to the high quality and value for money this friendly Bed & Breakfast supplies.

Room Tip: Double En-Suite Perfection!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
38
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have just returned from a weekend in Nairn where we stayed at the Fonthill B&B. We are a couple and we stayed in a double with shared facilities. There is one double with on-suite facilities but it was taken. The room we stayed in is nice with more than enough space for our luggage. There was a kettle with a good selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate.

The breakfast was very good and Mrs. Gibson was very willing to provide us and other guests with exactly what we wanted.

The only small criticism we had was that the soundproofing of the windows meant that you could hear the early morning seagulls. This B&B is very close to the harbour which means that there are some excellent walks across the street but that the seagulls provide a dawn chorus.

What most impressed me about Fonthill was the care that Mrs. Gibson and her husband provided to guests. While we were staying there was an Italian couple and the husband had injured himself in a fall the day before. Mr. Gibson had them follow him in his car to the local A&E. Another guest was give a ride to the train station. All of this just seemed to be part of the service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

it was a very nice stay with very friendly landlady!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Very clean excellent breakfast room was perfect would defiantly recommend 5*

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidsongareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is an outstanding bed and breakfast. In fact it is more than just that! Breakfasts were outstanding and accommodated each guest's requests. I arrived late and was able to have a late sandwich provided to me. Janice proved to be helpful, kind, and resourceful. She cares what her guests think about her service.
Fonthill is so well situated for access to the town, the beaches, river walks and everything Nairn has to offer. Janice is a font of information on the local area - recommending what to see and do.
My room was very clean; and it helped to have a TV and WiFi.
I felt looked after and appreciated.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheep25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Had a great stay, Lovely rooms, great location (>5 min walk to town centre), owners were very helpful and accomodating. Breakfast was everything needed for the day ahead. would definately recommend to others.

Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stevenm305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2010

A very enjoyable stay! The rooms were great as well as being peaceful which allowed for a great night’s sleep. Breakfast where amazing a set me up for the rest of the day. Janice was a great help over the duration of the stay and had a great depth of local knowledge thank you for the stay Janice!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_lee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairn hotels
0.6 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cawdor House
Cawdor House
#1 of 37 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fonthill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fonthill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Fonthill Bed & Breakfast
Address: King Street, Nairn IV12 4DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Fonthill Bed & Breakfast Nairn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing