We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Thing that makes this hotel very good is the hard working staff ,we had a large family gathering staying 3 nights here and not for the first time the staff here were going out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable even though we were quite loud at times lol ,,clean rooms,,comfy bed,,good shower,,the only thing that lets this hotel down is the cost of bar drinks compared to other local bars ,,,we will stay here again and would recommend to others ,,,thanks again especially to young George and the other great staff..

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Colin_Moore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Good Day
Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

We got a very good overnight deal. The reception was in the 'dour' category.
The room was very clean and quiet.
The food was very expensive so it was a walk into the town, along with a lot of other guests. They need to learn from this. Nobody eating in the place means there are other places offering a competitive option.
The breakfast was, as a previous reviewer put it, just like a motorway café. Pretty awful.
My other observation may seem petty, but why are dining room staff at breakfast wearing polo shirts? It makes them look so cheap when in fact they were doing an excellent job. One gentleman was so polite. He needed to be done the good service of a proper uniform....instead of something worn by folk at motorway service station. This is, after all, an hotel - an expensive one too when you can't get a deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geogteacher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Colin_Moore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Good Day
I am sorry to see that the hotel did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. We strive to ensure that we deliver a great guest experience and that we use the feedback from guest as a learning tool as we strive to ensure customer satisfaction.
Thank you for giving us your feedback and for taking the time to do so, We will learn for your feedback and ensure that all aspects of your feedback are addressed and improved. As we strive to achieve a continued cycle of improvements that guest feedback allows us to achieve

Regards and Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We don't normally spend a long time in our hotel room but the weather was poor and we needed to make an unexpected use of the wifi.a great bonus as it was free. Breakfast was good enough and better value than our next hotel in Oban.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arizonagcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Colin_Moore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Good Day
Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had a pleasant 2 night stay here. Staff are very friendly. Hotel rooms are spacious and very clean. Buffet breakfast was included which made this great value for out stay. One slight negative point is that they still have smoking rooms in the top floor, where our room was, and we could smell smoke from the rooms next door. We could not understand why they still allow smoking indoors.

Room Tip: Be careful of the smoking rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belgian_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Colin_Moore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Good Day
Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here last year for a week the staff were friendly and very helpful, as my husband is disabled we were put opposite the lift which was very convienient for us , very close to ammenites, rooms were spotless great choice of breakfast hope to stay again this year,in october .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Colin_Moore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Good Day
Thank you for your positive feedback and the nice comments you have taken the time to post. It is always great to get this type of feedback. I will ensure that I pass your comments onto the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future

Regards and Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Checked in at 230PM - no welcome and was given the keys but found our second room wasn't clean yet. Back to the front desk and instead of apologizing she claimed she didn't have the power to change room types ( I never asked her to) She said I had made the reservation with Holiday Inn and couldn't give me another room??Still confused I said can you give me a lower grade room as I just needed one bed. Then she contacted housekeeping to clean the room beside the first one. Which is what I wanted in the first place and had indicated in the "notes" section. A complete lack of customer service. Sink also blocked in room and hair dryer didn't work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Neil T,

We value and appreciate your feedback. We are constantly striving to provide our guests with the highest level of service that they have come to expect from our hotel and I regret that we have failed to deliver. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the level of staff service encountered. Rest assure your comments are valued and aid in the improvement of our services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you'll give us another chance next time you're in town.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding in Greenock. We didn't spend that much time in the hotel as it was just a place to sleep. From that point of view, it was good value - breakfast was included and it has free parking. Plus, the check-in was smooth (I had booked multiple rooms for myself & others online) and staff courteous & friendly. The reason I've given it only 3 stars though is because the bed in my room was extremely uncomfortable so I got next to no sleep and the breakfast wasn't great. Lots of choice of cereals etc but very little cooked and I think they used powdered egg which was pretty vile. If I had to stay in Greenock again, I would think twice about this hotel just because of the bed as having no sleep completely ruined the next day for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baboid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenock, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Dear Baboid,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our rooms and parking arrangement.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the breakfast selection which was unacceptable. We will address this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenock
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
0.4 mi away
Custom House Hotel
Custom House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
119 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#5 of 5 in Greenock
36 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
143 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gleddoch Hotel, Spa & Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Greenock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Greenock

Address: Cartsburn 4 Main Street, Greenock PA15 1AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Greenock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Greenock
Price Range: £45 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Greenock 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel in the heart of Greenock. this home from home hotel offers a friendly warm welcome to all guests for all visists. Breakfast and Parking included in the rate, Breakfast now includeS hot items all included in the very competitive rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Greenock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Greenock Hotel Greenock
Holiday Inn Greenock
Greenock Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express Greenock Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing